与时俱进,促进更高效的沟通
在 PNC,现代化的基础架构简化了交易
店内使用手机支付的女士

全球金融基础架构不断变化,金融业务交易的全球消息传递标准也在不断变化。金融机构的业务依赖于各种类型和格式的数据,因此务必要避免文件通信中出现失误,造成合作伙伴的信任度和忠诚度受损。

但 PNC Financial Services Group Inc. 就遭遇了这样的痛点。尽管每天花费大量资源为其下游合作伙伴格式化消息和文件,但该公司的企业实体仍然无法轻松地通过 IT 系统相互通信。

越来越多的客户期望能够使用基于 ISO 20022 的支付工具,这使得情况进一步恶化。如果不具备这种处理能力,PNC 就有可能会丢失几个固定客户。此外,该银行发现文件大小和数据量以及来自内外部客户的交易量都在不断增加,但速度却丝毫没有减慢。

面对众多需要相互通信的内部系统以及处理 ISO 支付的需求,PNC 组建了一个名为数据访问层 (DAL) 的内部小组来寻找一个可扩展解决方案,该解决方案要能实现银行现有基础架构的现代化并满足新的处理需求。ITX 是该小组在 PNC 应用服务经理 Ellen Agostino 的牵头下所采用的工具之一。

7 GB

 

可从大小为 7 GB 的文件中处理并抽取数据

33%

 

客户引导流程所花时间减少 33%

将所有这些数据以正确的格式发送到所有正确的位置和客户端以及提供给我们的客户,这个任务变得难以管理。在 IBM 的支持下,此任务对我们来说不再是挑战。 Ellen Agostino 应用服务经理 PNC Financial Services Group Inc.

Agostino 表示:“我们的目标是促进合作伙伴之间的沟通,节省时间和金钱。我们希望内部实体能以他们所需的任何格式生成消息和文件,并且我们能使这些消息和文件适合下游合作伙伴。我们小组成立的目的就是为了确保实现内部和外部合作伙伴之间的沟通交流。”

解构复杂的数据格式

PNC 的目标是自动在任何格式和标准之间实现复杂的数据转换和验证,从而整合来自内外部客户的交易。为了实现此类通信,该银行与 IBM 合作实施了 IBM® Sterling Transformation Extender (ITX) 解决方案。

开发人员在设计新 IT 基础架构时十分谨慎,避免图像中出现数据抽取问题,导致运行时间过长且效率低下。使用 ITX 系列行业包中的每个工具来实现无缝转换和流畅的消息文件传输。Agostino 新组建的团队开始在 PNC 内部团队中发挥作用。

凭借全新增强的银行管理学会 (BAI) 流程,就算内部和外部客户不具备从其系统生成数据的资源,他们也可以将问题发送给 Agostino 的 DAL 团队。该团队可以自动从不同来源获取数据,以任何格式为客户组合数据并快速发回结果。

Agostino 表示:“能够基于 ISO 开展业务后,立即就留住了几个固定客户。这对我们来说是一个拓展业务的重大机遇。我们的财富管理团队开始注意到我们正在使用的工具以及我们可以提供的转型功能,现在我们已深度依赖该小组。”

在我们证明能够在 ITX 的助力下利用 ISO 平台后,立即就获得了无限机遇。PNC 可以使用 ITX 工具快速引导 ISO 客户。 Ellen Agostino 应用服务经理 PNC Financial Services Group Inc.
无可匹敌的大文件处理能力

增强的处理能力彻底改变了 PNC 许多部门的日常运营。大文件不再成为问题,因为 Agostino 的团队可以毫不费力地处理许多 GB 级文件,并可以每天从中提取数据来发送给下游合作伙伴。客户引导流程以往要花费三个多月的时间,现在已大幅缩短到不足八周。

Agostino 表示:“我们首次采用 ISO 平台,并不具备所需的专业知识。幸运的是,ITX 包为我们提供了所有格式,我们得以快速引导客户。如果靠我们自己来创建这一切,我们不可能做到。现在也不知道是否做到。”

Agostino 表示,该系统持续展示其无可匹敌的可扩展性,且目前仍远未达到其极限。

Agostino 说道:“仅仅目前所处理的大量事务就考验了我们的能力。我们从 1 家客户增加到 60 家,从每月处理 1 个 ISO 文件增加到处理 6,000 个。毫无疑问,采用 ITX 金融支付包后,极大地改进了 SWIFT 交易流程。”

PNC 徽标
关于 PNC Financial Services Group Inc.

PNC(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于宾夕法尼亚州匹兹堡,是美国的一家金融服务公司,拥有超过 52,000 名员工。按分行数量计算,它是美国的第五大银行。该金融机构为超过 19 个州的 600 多万个消费者和小型企业客户提供存款、贷款、现金管理和投资服务。

接下来:
自动化业务决策,用于管理快速增加的工作负载 DHL International GmbH 通过云端高效、经济的贸易合作伙伴集成,加快全球业务增长。 Master Lock 公司 以客户为中心的集成式仓库管理方法 The PNC Financial Services Group Inc.
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson Supply Chain, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 9 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Evolving with the times to facilitate better communication

At PNC, a modernized infrastructure streamlines transactions
by Brittany King
6-minute read
Woman paying by mobile in store

Global finance infrastructure is everchanging, as is the global messaging standard for financial business transactions. Financial institutions live and breathe data in all types and forms, making it essential to avoid missteps in file communication that could result in damaged trust and loyalty from partners.

But PNC Financial Services Group Inc. was experiencing such pain points. Despite the many resources it spent formatting messages and files for its downstream partners daily, the firm’s corporate entities could not easily talk to each other across the IT system.

Exacerbating the situation, more and more customers were demanding the ability to use ISO 20022-based payment instruments. Without that processing ability, PNC risked losing several accounts. The bank was also seeing an escalation in the size of files and data and the volume of transactions from both internal and external clients — with no slow down.

With so many internal systems needing to talk to each other, and facing the need to handle ISO payments, PNC formed an internal group — the Data Access Layer (DAL) — to find a scalable solution that could modernize the bank’s existing infrastructure and accommodate the new processing demands. ITX is one of the tools this group uses which was facilitated by Ellen Agostino, Application Service Manager at PNC.

Processes and extracts data from files as large as

7 GB

Reduces the client onboarding process by

33%

Getting all of that data to all the right places, to our clients and customers in the right format, was becoming unmanageable. Thanks to IBM, this is no longer a challenge for us.
Ellen Agostino
Application Service Manager, PNC Financial Services Group Inc.

“The goal was to facilitate communication between our partners and save time and money. We wanted our internal entities to produce their messages and files in whatever format they wanted, and we would make it fit for the downstream partners,” Agostino says. “Our group was formed to make sure that we could enable communication between our internal and external partners.”

Businesswoman working on tablet
Coworkers having a meeting in office
Once we were able to prove our capability with ISO using ITX, everything opened up for us. PNC can onboard ISO clients quickly with the ITX tools.
Ellen Agostino
Application Service Manager, PNC Financial Services Group Inc.
Deconstructing complex data formats
Once we were able to prove our capability with ISO using ITX, everything opened up for us. PNC can onboard ISO clients quickly with the ITX tools.
Ellen Agostino
Application Service Manager, PNC Financial Services Group Inc.

PNC’s goal was to automate the complex transformation and validation of data between any format and standard, allowing for the integration of transactions from both its internal and external clients. For this communication to happen, the bank worked alongside IBM to implement the IBM Sterling® Transformation Extender (ITX) solution.

Developers used caution when designing the new IT infrastructure, avoiding data extraction issues within maps that could cause long run times and create inefficiency. Using every tool within the ITX family of industry packs to make its transformations and message file transfers seamless. The capabilities of Agostino’s newly formed group began to catch fire within PNC’s internal teams.

With a newly enhanced Bank Administration Institute (BAI) process, both internal and external customers who don’t have the resources to produce data from their systems can send it over to Agostino’s DAL team. The group can automatically take the data from different sources, combine it in any format for the customer and quickly send it right back out.

“Having the ability to do ISO saved several accounts right away. This became a huge opportunity for us to increase business,” says Agostino. “Our wealth management team began to notice what we were using and the transformation capabilities we can provide, and now we are heavily integrated into that group.”

Unmatched large-file processing

The enhanced processing capabilities have completely changed PNC’s day-to-day operations for numerous departments. Large files no longer pose an issue, as Agostino’s team can effortlessly process many multi-GB files and extract data from them daily to send downstream to partners. Onboarding clients, a process that once took over three months, has been drastically reduced to under eight weeks.

“Being new to ISO, we didn’t have the expertise we needed,” says Agostino. “Luckily, we had the ITX packs to give us all the formats and we were able to onboard clients quickly. If we had to create that type of tree on our own, we could not have done it. I don’t know if we could do it now.”

According to Agostino, the system continues to demonstrate its unmatched scalability while still being nowhere near stretched to its limits.

“Just the sheer volume of things coming through now has tested our capabilities,” says Agostino. “We went from one client to 60 and from one ISO file to 6,000 per month. There’s no question that we have improved the SWIFT transaction process immensely using the ITX Pack for Financial Payments.”

PNC logo
About PNC Financial Services Group Inc.

Headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, PNCExternal Link is a financial services firm in the US with more than 52,000 employees. It’s the fifth largest bank by number of branches. The financial establishment provides deposit, lending, cash management and investment services to over six million consumer and small-business customers across more than 19 states.

Solution component
PNC logo
About PNC Financial Services Group Inc.

Headquartered in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, PNCExternal Link is a financial services firm in the US with more than 52,000 employees. It’s the fifth largest bank by number of branches. The financial establishment provides deposit, lending, cash management and investment services to over six million consumer and small-business customers across more than 19 states.

Solution component