Parker Hannifin Corporation
通过无缝销售和履约提供卓越的客户体验
工人在生产线上使用手持阅读器扫描包装

制造业巨头 Parker Hannifin 公司正在将供应网络的复杂性转化为竞争优势。它是如何实现的呢?该公司推出一个新的电子商务平台,为客户提供一种统一的方式来浏览和购买来自 101 个部门的产品,并由一个全球订单协调框架提供支持,以推动智能订单分配和履约。

业务挑战

之前,产品通过 101 个部门销售,每个部门的销售和履约方式各不相同,Parker 担心这种各自为战的方式会降低客户满意度、压低运营效率。

变革

新的电子商务平台为客户提供统一的浏览以及购买产品的方式;集成订单协调可帮助 Parker 确保从购买到履约的无缝订购流程。

结果 提供
统一的购买体验,提高客户满意度和销售额
改善
对库存、订单和客户的洞察力,推动更明智的决策
Parker 开辟更大的市场,为分销合作伙伴带来更多业务
业务挑战案例
将复杂性转化为机遇

当您在数十个部门生产数十万种产品,并通过数千个分销商网络进行销售时,您如何突破复杂性,为客户提供无缝采购和订单履约体验?

这正是制造巨头 Parker 所面临的挑战,其全球业务系统副总裁 Bob McAdoo 解释道:“我们是一个非常分散的组织,由 101 个损益 [P&L] 单位组成,这些单位实际上都是独立的业务实体。我们大多数客户都经由多个部门购入产品,由于不同部门往往各自为战,有着不同的订单管理和履约系统,这导致了七零八碎,有时甚至是令人沮丧的客户体验。我们还缺乏对全球所有部门的客户、库存和订单的统一视图,这导致库存管理、履约和营销活动效率低下。”

他继续说道:“我们希望以‘一个 Parker’的统一形象面对客户,让他们更容易地找到并购买他们想要的产品,无论他们是要从哪个部门购入。我们希望实现这一目标,同时保有各个部门的高水平本地控制和开拓积极性,这对 Parker 的成功至关重要。”
 

客户与我们开展业务变得更为方便,并且我们的团队能够更高效地为客户提供服务。 Bob McAdoo Vice President, Worldwide Business Systems Parker Hannifin
变革案例
打造更智能的销售和订单协调能力

Parker 开始了一项广泛的工作,以统一多个渠道、产品和子品牌以及业务部门的订单管理和履约。新的电子商务平台将为客户提供 Parker 所有制造部门产品的单一视图,并允许他们下达合并订单并收到一张发票。

Bob McAdoo 举了一个例子:“以前,如果客户想购买阀门,他们可能需要与四个不同的部门打交道。如今,我们可以向同一客户提供我们的所有阀门解决方案的单一视图,这样他们就可以在一个地方快速找到最符合其需求的产品。”

为了增补其新的电子商务能力,Parker 正在推出一个全球订单协调框架,使其能够从任何地方接收、运送和接受退回的订单。与公司仓库管理环境的紧密集成将有助于确保无缝、端到端的订购流程,从购买到分拣和履约。

Bob McAdoo 解释了新方法的工作原理:“客户下了订单后,订单就会被传送到我们的订单协调系统,在那里,订单会被分解成不同的 SKU(库存单位)。各个订单组件流向我们相关业务部门的后端系统,然后这些部门将订单传递给适当的第三方分销商进行履约。其结果是,我们的客户获得了与‘一个 Parker’进行互动的体验,而在幕后,我们的每个业务实体都可以保持其独特的流程和工作方式。”

集成的订单协调方法旨在为 Parker 的客户提供顺畅且令人满意的体验。

Bob McAdoo 指出:“过去,如果客户从不同部门订购组件,他们会收到每个部门的唯一供应商编号。通过新方法,我们可以为客户提供单一供应商编号,这样就大大降低了复杂性,并使他们能够享受更简单的订购流程。”
 

案例成果
提供卓越的体验

Parker 正在建立一个关于库存、订单和客户的单一信息源,为团队提供所需的快速、准确的洞察力,以优化库存控制,提高订单分配和采购效率,并最大限度地提高销售和营销效率。

Bob McAdoo 评论道:“我们现在可以更好地了解全球供应网络中的库存和订单。这种清晰视图有助于我们优化库存水平,以降低库存持有成本,并确保及时、准确地完成订单,从而提高了客户满意度。我们还能更全面地了解客户与 Parker 各品牌和部门的互动方式,以及他们的完整购买历史。有了这种洞察力,我们的营销团队可以制定更有针对性的活动,而我们的销售代表可以抓住交叉销售的新机会,所有这些都将帮助 Parker 提高销售额和收入。”

通过为客户提供更顺畅的购物体验,并帮助世界各地的团队以快速、一致的方式处理和履行订单,Parker 正在推动业务迈向新的成功。

Robert McAdoo 表示:“客户与我们开展业务变得更为方便,并且我们的团队能够更高效地为客户提供服务。由此我们将开辟更大的市场,为分销合作伙伴带来更多业务。这对每个参与方来说都是一个双赢的局面。”

他总结说:“通过改善销售和订单协调,我们我们已经见到成效,但这才仅仅是刚刚开始,后续还有无限可能。我们很高兴看到未来会发生什么,因为我们致力于推动更好的业务绩效并塑造首屈一指的客户体验。”
 

Parker Hannifin Corporation

Parker Hannifin Corporation 是全球领先的运动与控制技术和系统多元化制造商。Parker 在全球 50 个国家/地区拥有约 50,000 名员工,2016 财年的年销售额约为 110 亿美元。
 

采取下一步行动

要了解更多信息,请阅读 Forrester 报告“The Total Economic Impact of IBM Sterling Order Management”(IBM Sterling Order Management 的总体经济影响)。

查看更多案例 了解更多信息
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2016. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504.

2016 年 9 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 WebSphere 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:网址为 https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copyright-trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Business challenge

With products sold through 101 divisions, each with diverse approaches to selling and fulfillment, Parker was concerned that the fragmented approach was frustrating customers and limiting efficiency.

Transformation

A new e-commerce platform offers customers a unified way to browse and purchase products; integrated order orchestration helps Parker ensure a seamless ordering process, from purchase to fulfillment.

Results

Offers

a unified buying experience to boost customer satisfaction and sales

Improves

insight into inventory, orders and customers, driving smarter decision-making

Opens up

a larger market for Parker and drives more business to distribution partners

Business challenge story

Turning complexity into opportunity

 

When you manufacture hundreds of thousands of products across dozens of divisions, and sell them through a network of thousands of distributors, how do you cut through the complexity to provide customers with a seamless purchasing and order fulfillment experience?

This was precisely the challenge facing manufacturing giant Parker, as Bob McAdoo, Vice President, Worldwide Business Systems, explains: “We are a very decentralized organization, made up of 101 profit and loss [P&L] units, which effectively operate as independent business entities. Most of our customers purchase products from multiple divisions, but as different units tended to go to market individually, and all had different order management and fulfillment systems, it led to a fragmented and, at times, frustrating, customer experience. We also lacked a single view of customers, inventory and orders across all our global divisions, which created inefficiencies around stock management, fulfillment and marketing activities.”

He continues: “We wanted to act as ‘One Parker’ and present a single face to our customers, making it easier for them to find and purchase the products they wanted, regardless of which divisions they were buying from. And we looked to enable this while allowing individual units to maintain the high level of local control and entrepreneurship that has been so critical to Parker’s success.”
 

We are making it easier for customers to do business with us than ever before, and empowering our teams to service those customers more efficiently.

—Bob McAdoo, Vice President, Worldwide Business Systems, Parker Hannifin

Transformation story

Shaping smarter selling and order orchestration

Parker embarked on a wide-ranging effort to unify order management and fulfillment across multiple channels, products and sub-brands, and business units. A new e-commerce platform will offer customers a single view of products from all of Parker’s manufacturing divisions, and will allow them to place one consolidated order and receive a single invoice.

Bob McAdoo gives an example: “Previously, if a customer was looking to buy valves, for instance, they might have had to interact with four separate divisions. Today, we can present that same customer with a single view of all the valving solutions that we offer, so they can quickly find the products that are most relevant to their needs, all in one place.”

To complement its new e-commerce capabilities, Parker is rolling out a global order orchestration framework, enabling it to receive, ship and accept returned orders from anywhere. Tight integration with the company’s warehouse management environment will help ensure a seamless, end-to-end ordering process—from purchase to picking and fulfillment.

Bob McAdoo explains how the new approach works: “Once a customer has placed an order, it is passed on to our order orchestration system, where it is broken down into its constituent SKUs [stock-keeping units]. The individual order components flow through to the back-end systems of our relevant business units, who then pass the orders on to the appropriate third-party distributors for fulfillment. The result is that our customers get the experience of interacting with ‘One Parker’, while, behind the scenes, each of our business entities can maintain its unique processes and ways of working.”

The integrated approach to order orchestration is designed to support a smooth and satisfying experience for Parker’s customers.

Bob McAdoo notes: “In the past, if a customer ordered components from different divisions, they would receive a unique supplier number for each of those divisions. With the new approach, we can provide customers with a single supplier number, which removes a great deal of complexity and allows them to enjoy a much more straightforward ordering process.”

Results story

Delivering superior experiences

Parker is building a single source of truth on inventory, orders and customers, giving teams the fast, accurate insight they need to optimize inventory control, and to drive more efficient order allocation and sourcing, and to maximize sales and marketing efforts.

Bob McAdoo comments: “We now have better visibility into inventory and orders across our global supply network. This clarity helps us optimize stock levels to reduce inventory carrying costs, and ensure that orders are fulfilled in a timely, accurate manner, which in turn boosts customer satisfaction. We are also gaining a more holistic view of how customers interact with Parker across brands and divisions, as well as their complete purchase history. Armed with this insight, our marketing teams can develop more targeted campaigns, while our sales reps can seize new opportunities for cross-selling—all of which will help Parker to lift sales and revenues.”

By providing customers with a smoother shopping experience, and helping teams all over the world to process and fulfill orders a fast, consistent way, Parker is steering its business to new success.

“We are making it easier for customers to do business with us than ever before, and empowering our teams to service those customers more efficiently,” says Robert McAdoo. “As a result, we are opening up a much larger market for Parker products and driving more business to our distribution network. It truly is a win-win situation for everyone involved.”

He concludes: “We have only scratched the surface of what is possible with improved selling and order orchestration. We are excited to see what the future holds as we work to drive even better business performance and shape a customer experience that is second to none.”

About Parker Hannifin Corporation

Parker Hannifin Corporation is the world's leading diversified manufacturer of motion and control technologies and systems. Parker employs approximately 50,000 people in 50 countries globally, and reported annual sales of approximately USD11 billion in fiscal year 2016.
 

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM for Selling and Merchandising solutions, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner, or visit the following website: www-03.ibm.com/software/products/en/category/ecommerce-and-merchandising

View more client stories or learn more about IBM Watson Customer Engagement