利用认知能力发现难以察觉的事物
Novate Solutions 获得全天候的过程可靠性
手动操作传感器装置

过程失败成本是以分钟为单位来衡量的,因此时间至关重要。公司必须能够快速适应不断变化的环境。如果您有一个过程控制系统,可以在灾难性事件发生之前发现问题,会是什么情况呢?

这正是工程和技术服务公司 Novate Solutions, Inc. 寻求的答案。该公司希望:

    • 从几十年来一直在生成数据的机器中获取见解
    • 查看资产实时表现
    • 更快确定故障根源
    • 降低运营成本,缩短停机时间

企业资产配备了可生成数十万个数据点的传感器。但 Novate 知道,没有上下文或与其他数据相关性的数据无法提供有意义的信息或整个过程的见解来帮助确保设备正常运行。这通常是负责评估数据的工程师的工作。

实时监控

 

IBM® Maximo® Monitor 显示资产的实时运行情况,并将产品质量提高 30%

减少浪费

 

Novate 从旧传感器中获取新数据,减少了 15% 的浪费

过程控制系统旨在监控和管理过程,但不是监控和管理基础资产。但是,数据确实存在,前提是需要您能捕获数据并且知道如何处理。 Rob Mora Executive Vice President of Business Development Novate Solutions, Inc.

然而,即使使用现代可视化工具,工程师也不可能监控所有数据和趋势。而且他们当然也没办法全天候监控。这就是 AI 的用武之地。通过在一天中的每时每刻同时监控所有事物,AI 可以帮助联系人类可能永远无法关联的事物。

Novate 认识到需要将物联网数据与 AI 融合,以获得可应用于机器学习、AI根本原因分析以及预测性监控和维护的见解。

预测性见解:不只是一切如常

尽管工业制造商每天都在使用传感器技术,但他们的日常运营任务也很繁重。为了减轻负担,他们需要一个可扩展的远程监控服务来识别系统异常并在问题成为难题之前预测问题。为了满足这一需求,Novate 正在使用 AI 和 IBM Maximo Monitor 软件开发革命性的新方法,以提高过程可靠性并最终增强工业过程控制。

Novate 正在将其客户的控制系统基础设施和过程数据与 IBM 基于云的 AI 技术和 Maximo Monitor 集成,后者直接纳入其支持运营中心。通过这样做,该公司可以分析数据以寻找典型控制系统无法察觉的异常情况。如果发现异常,系统会向 Novate 支持运营中心的工程师发出警报。

然后,Novate 的工程师凭借多年的过程控制经验、对客户运营的熟悉程度以及工程原理知识,确定异常现象是否表明存在问题。如有必要,他们将与公司技术人员合作,以防止可预测的故障并避免停机。

“最终,我们希望训练 AI,使系统变得更加智能,”Novate 业务开发执行副总裁 Rob Mora 解释道。“在支持 IBM Watson 的 AI 的帮助下,我们的服务将教会系统识别正在发生的事件。”

但并非所有客户都能获得世界一流的 IBM AI 技术,或了解实施 AI 并从中获取价值的最佳方式。此外,该技术可能还不适合客户的技术路线图。因此,要使用 AI,他们必须首先开发一个可靠的用例。

Mora 表示,Novate 的一些客户发展非常成熟,有些客户刚刚开始转型之旅。他参观了一家全球食品生产商的最先进的旗舰工厂,该工厂每天生产约 400 吨饼干。这家面包店每天还因计划外停机而损失约 20 吨饼干的收入。该公司决心采用最新的技术解决方案来提高可靠性。

该客户购买了增强现实设备,并投资了 3D 点云解决方案来绘制其部分生产线图,以减少计划外停机时间。但这需要大量投资、广泛的培训以及对许多流程进行重新定义。

“AI 改变了工业制造业的游戏规则。”Mora 表示。“它创造了一个更广阔的视野,所有数据尽收眼底。而且,通过使用我们的平台,无需任何资本投资或培训,即可将其付诸应用。最终,借助 AI,流程系统变得具有自我意识,并“呼叫”工程师同时表示:“您没有监控此处数据,但有些异常,请查看。”因此提升了工厂的可靠性和支持水平。”

在支持 IBM Watson® 的 AI 的帮助下,我们的服务将教会系统识别正在发生的事件。 Rob Mora Executive Vice President of Business Development Novate Solutions, Inc.
发现价值,减少停机

Novate 创建其解决方案不仅仅是为了帮助制造商更有效地完成工作,而是为了实现真正的预测功能。该解决方案可以发现通常不会监控和报警的问题。

Mora 举了一个例子:“我们最近正在与一家食品生产厂合作处理包装线上的资产,这时我们注意到了生产线末端包装设备中伺服电机的行为。我们的系统注意到平均扭矩值会随着时间的推移而增加。”

由于扭矩值增加是意外行为,因此 Novate 解决方案对设备加以标记以进行检查。Novate 工程师联系了食品生产地的工作人员。在分析包装设备的过程中,工作人员确定没有按照维护日志的建议更换机油,并且已经完全降解,导致电机不断加大工作强度。

“即使系统和设备正常工作,我们的解决方案也可以在数据中看到客户的宝贵信息,”Mora 说。“食品生产设施不可能检测到它。这是 AI 能够发现的信息,我们的工程师也能够破译出来。”

随着 Novate 继续与工业制造商合作并采用支持 AI 的工业过程控制,该公司将继续与 IBM 合作。“当我们第一次与 IBM 联系时,我们对他们愿意承担风险的意愿感到惊讶。他们并不担心是否能够获得立竿见影的投资回报。他们的目标是创新。此外,IBM 的每个人都在协作。我们的每一次接触经验都是一致的,”Mora 说。

Novate Solutions, Inc. 徽标
关于 Novate Solutions, Inc.

Novate(IBM 外部链接)于 2001 年成立,总部位于加利福尼亚州西萨克拉门托和利弗莫尔,是一家工程和技术服务公司,旨在为工业制造商提供专业服务。Novate 提供机械和电气工程、广泛的控制和自动化集成专业知识、统包系统部署能力以及深度防御工业网络和网络安全解决方案。

采取下一步行动
IBM 博客

如何掀起一场工程革命

阅读博客
IBM 博客

什么是预测性监控以及如何实现它

阅读博客
IBM Maximo Monitor 解决方案简介

大规模 AI 远程监控,以提高资产和运营可用性。

阅读 PDF
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Watson, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2020 年 12 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Maximo 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。Web 站点上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表: ibm.com/trademark

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Using cognitive capabilities to spot the imperceptible

Novate Solutions gains 24x7 process reliability
by Kate Carroll de Gutes
4-minute read
Hand operating sensoric device

Process failure costs are measured by the minute, so time is of the essence. Companies must be able to adjust to changing circumstances, and fast. What if you had a process control system that could spot issues before a catastrophic event occurred?

That’s just what engineering and technology services firm Novate Solutions, Inc. sought. The company wanted to:

• Gain insights from machines that had been producing data for decades
• View how assets perform in real time
• Identify the root causes of failure much faster
• Reduce operating costs and downtime

Enterprise assets are equipped with sensors generating hundreds of thousands of data points. But Novate knew that data without context or correlation with other data can’t provide meaningful information or process-wide insights to help ensure equipment is up and running. That’s typically the job of the engineer in charge of evaluating the data.

IBM® Maximo® Monitor shows how assets perform in real time and enables

30%

improvement in product quality

Novate gets new data from old sensors and achieves

15%

reduction in waste

Process control systems are designed to monitor and manage processes, but not to monitor and manage the underlying assets. But the data is there if you can capture it and you know what to do with it.
Rob Mora
Executive Vice President of Business Development, Novate Solutions, Inc.

However, engineers can’t possibly monitor all data and trends, even with modern visualization tools. And they certainly can’t watch 24x7. That’s where AI comes in. By seeing everything, all at once, every moment of the day, AI helps connect the dots that humans may never connect.

Novate recognized it needed to infuse its IoT data with AI to gain insights that it could apply to machine learning, root cause analysis, and predictive monitoring and maintenance.

Quality inspectors at the factory
Biscuit factory worker inspecting freshly made biscuits on production line
With help from IBM Watson-enabled AI, our service will teach systems to recognize events as they are developing.
Rob Mora
Executive Vice President of Business Development, Novate Solutions, Inc.
Predictive insights: more than business as usual
With help from IBM Watson-enabled AI, our service will teach systems to recognize events as they are developing.
Rob Mora
Executive Vice President of Business Development, Novate Solutions, Inc.

Although industrial manufacturers use sensor technology every day, they are also heavily tasked with day-to-day operations. To lighten their load, they need a scalable remote monitoring service that identifies system anomalies and predicts issues before they become a problem. To address this need, Novate is using AI and IBM Maximo Monitor software to develop a revolutionary new approach to improve process reliability and ultimately enhance industrial process control.

Novate is integrating its customers’ control system infrastructures and process data with IBM cloud-based AI technology and Maximo Monitor, which is incorporated directly into its Support Operations Center. By doing so, the company can analyze the data in search of anomalies that would otherwise be imperceptible to a typical control system. If one is found, the system alerts engineers at Novate’s Support Operations Center.

Then, drawing on their years of process experience, familiarity with customer operations and knowledge of engineering principles, Novate’s engineers determine whether the anomaly indicates a problem. If necessary, they will then work with company technicians to prevent a predicted failure and avoid downtime.

“Ultimately, we want to train the AI to make the system smarter,” explains Rob Mora, Executive Vice President of Business Development at Novate. “With help from IBM Watson-enabled AI, our service will teach systems to recognize events as they are developing.”

But not all customers have access to the world-class AI at IBM or understand the best way to implement and extract value from it. In addition, it may not yet fit in a customer’s technology roadmap. So to employ AI, they must first develop a solid use case.

Mora says that some of Novate’s customers are extraordinarily sophisticated and some are just beginning their transformation journey. He visited a state-of-the-art, flagship facility for a global food producer that makes around 400 tons of cookies a day. The bakery also loses about 20 tons of cookies to unplanned downtime every day. The company was determined to incorporate the latest technology solutions to improve reliability.

The customer had purchased augmented reality equipment and invested in 3D point cloud solutions to map some of its lines to reduce unplanned downtime. But it required a massive investment, extensive training and redefining of many processes.

“AI is a game-changer for industrial manufacturing,” Mora remarks. “It creates a much broader field of view, taking in all the data. And it can be put into application without any capital investment or training through the use of our platform. Ultimately, AI allows the process systems to become self-aware and to ‘call out’ to an engineer and say, ‘You’re not looking over here, but something is not right and you ought to take a look.’ This takes plant reliability and support to another level.”

Freshly Baked Biscuits Traveling Through the Production Line
Biscuit factory worker inspecting freshly made biscuits on production line
Seeing value, reducing downtime

Novate didn’t create its solution simply to help manufacturers do what they do more efficiently but rather to enable true predictive capabilities. The solution can see issues that aren’t normally monitored and alarmed.

Mora offers an example: “We were recently working with a food production facility on assets on the packaging line when the behavior of a servo motor in a piece of packaging equipment at the end of a production line came to our attention. What our system noticed was an increasing average torque value over time.”

Because the increasing torque value was unexpected behavior, the Novate solution flagged the equipment for inspection. Novate engineers contacted the food production ground crew. In the course of analyzing the packaging equipment, the crew determined that the oil had not been changed as the maintenance logs had suggested and had completely degraded, causing the motor to continuously work harder and harder.

“Our solution could see the client’s valuable information in the data even though the system and equipment were working properly,” says Mora. “There was no way the food production facility would have detected it. That’s something AI was able to notice and our engineers were able to decipher.”

As Novate continues to work with industrial manufacturers and employ AI-enabled industrial process control, the company will continue its partnership with IBM. “When we first connected with IBM, we were surprised by their willingness to take risks. They weren’t worried about immediate return on their investment. Their goal was innovation. Additionally, everyone at IBM has been collaborative. Our experience has been consistent with every contact,” says Mora.

Novate Solutions, Inc. logo
About Novate Solutions, Inc.

Founded in 2001 and based in West Sacramento and Livermore, California, NovateExternal Link is an engineering and technology services firm that provides professional services to industrial manufacturers. Novate offers mechanical and electrical engineering, broad controls and automation integration expertise, turnkey system deployment capabilities and defense-in-depth industrial networking and cybersecurity solutions.

Solution component
Novate Solutions, Inc. logo
About Novate Solutions, Inc.

Founded in 2001 and based in West Sacramento and Livermore, California, NovateExternal Link is an engineering and technology services firm that provides professional services to industrial manufacturers. Novate offers mechanical and electrical engineering, broad controls and automation integration expertise, turnkey system deployment capabilities and defense-in-depth industrial networking and cybersecurity solutions.

Solution component