新数据如何推动更佳决策制定
家乐福特许经营商 Majid Al Futtaim 借助 IBM 数据仓库和分析解决方案提高敏捷性
客户检查包装好的农产品

Majid Al Futtaim 是一家总部位于阿拉伯联合酋长国的组织,该组织于 1995 年将法国杂货零售商家乐福引入该地区。作为家乐福品牌的特许经营商,Majid Al Futtaim Retail 在中东、非洲和亚洲的 16 个国家/地区经营着约 450 家家乐福门店。这些商店每天为 750000 多名顾客提供服务,雇用 37000 多名员工。

阿联酋的购物模式和购买行为与世界其他地方截然不同。需求来自代表不同国籍的消费者,该公司无法对消费者定型,将国籍与商品种类联系起来。这一战略在该地区已不再有效。

为了推动数据驱动型决策,Majid Al Futtaim Retail 现有一个本地部署数据仓库和分析解决方案。但该解决方案需要太多的手动干预才能运行。SQL 脚本编码速度太慢,无法应对日益增长的数据需求和市场复杂性,尤其是在家乐福推出新的客户忠诚度计划并将其地区网点增加了近一倍之后。

以数据为导向的决策

 

以数据为导向的决策对市场的影响比以往方法快 2 倍

缩短响应时间

 

 

处理运营数据请求的速度比以前的方法快 3 倍,以支持更快的决策制定

IBM 解决方案满足了公司当前的所有需求以及未来的要求。它简化了数据和分析平台架构,为高级分析和数据模型开发提供了一个统一的数据联通器,并内置了治理功能。

Majid Al Futtaim 在 2015 年至 2019 年期间的数据量增长了 300%。与此同时,顾客交易率大幅提高,家乐福门店数量增加了两倍。

由于后端系统网络复杂且市场变化,Majid Al Futtaim 需要一个可持续的数据仓库和分析解决方案,并且能够回答业务经理提出的一系列不断变化的问题。该公司认识到,要想领先于竞争对手,其决策制定必须以数据为导向。

更快上市

Majid Al Futtaim Retail 开始规划一个由其内部数据工程团队开发的解决方案,并考虑组建一个技术团队来构建、运行和维护新的数据仓库。最初的计划是由在编数据工程师建立一个定制解决方案。但在管理层考虑到开发一个全面的数据仓库解决方案所需的资源数量后,该公司选择了对其分析和数据仓库平台进行现代化改造。

最初邀请了包括 IBM 在内的五家供应商来提供数据仓库解决方案的概念验证 (POC)。IBM 地区团队(包括 IBM 开发人员和零售行业专家)在极其紧迫的期限内提交了一份 POC 提案,满足了 Majid Al Futtaim 的所有要求。

该 POC 基于 IBM® Netezza® Performance Server 数据仓库和分析平台,可在本地部署服务器和云服务上进行部署。通过提供经过调整和预配置的硬件和软件,IBM 能够提供其他供应商无法比拟的混合云解决方案。

Majid Al Futtaim Retail 的经理们很清楚 POC 的结果。IBM 解决方案满足了公司当前的所有需求以及未来的要求。它简化了数据和分析平台架构,为高级分析和数据模型开发提供了一个统一的数据联通器,并内置了治理功能。

IBM 全面负责所有硬件和软件组件,与 Majid Al Futtaim Retail 密切合作,实施完整的解决方案,确保顺利迁移。此外,由于 COVID-19 的限制,IBM 团队即使进行远程工作也能成功完成部署,对业务流程没有造成任何影响。

IBM 与 Majid Al Futtaim Retail 密切合作,实施完整的解决方案,确保顺利迁移。此外,由于 COVID-19 的限制,IBM 团队即使进行远程工作,也成功完成了部署。
更清晰地了解业务

通过运营高性能数据仓库系统,Majid Al Futtaim Retail 能够通过改进的数据决策能力,更快地与利益相关者取得联系。该公司还在数据货币化举措方面取得了进展。

IBM Netezza Performance Server 解决方案有助于确保 Majid Al Futtaim Retail 运营的数据平台快速、可扩展并在各业务部门实现标准化。该平台还为下一代数据分析和 AI 做好了准备,并为家乐福的所有相关数据提供了单一的真实版本。

现在,Majid Al Futtaim Retail 可以将更多精力放在高级分析上,而不是数据管理上。该公司可以利用故障快速处理机制来定义情景,使用数据科学工具来快速评估模型,并最终更快地推向市场。响应业务请求的周转时间缩短了 100%,从而能够更快地整合新的数据集。

Majid Al Futtaim 徽标
关于 Majid Al Futtaim - 家乐福

Majid Al Futtaim外部链接总部位于阿联酋,是一家阿联酋控股公司,1995 年将法国杂货商家乐福公司引入该地区,目前在中东、非洲和亚洲 30 多个国家/地区拥有该品牌的特许经营权。如今,Majid Al Futtaim Retail 在 16 个国家/地区经营着近 450 家家乐福门店,每天为 750000 多名顾客提供服务,员工总数超过 37000 人。

采取下一步行动
帮助客户将分析运行时间从几小时缩短至几分钟 Destiny Corporation 电子商务巨头通过协作安全方法在云上取得成功 OTTO (GmbH & Co. KG) Follett 如何通过统一 1,200 家网店来增加收入 Follett
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 8 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Netezza 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。IBM 商标的最新列表可参见下列网站的“版权和商标信息”部分:https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

How fresh data can drive better decision-making

Carrefour franchisee Majid Al Futtaim boosts agility with IBM data warehouse and analytics solution
by Ryan Bertrand
6-minute read
Customer inspects packaged produce

Majid Al Futtaim is the United Arab Emirates-based organization that introduced Carrefour, the French grocery retailer, to the region in 1995. As franchisee for the Carrefour brand, Majid Al Futtaim Retail operates around 450 Carrefour locations in 16 countries across the Middle East, Africa and Asia. The stores serve more than 750,000 customers every day and employ more than 37,000 team members.

Shopping patterns and purchasing behaviors are very different in the UAE than anywhere else in the world. Demand comes from a mix of consumers representing many nationalities and the company cannot stereotype consumers to link nationalities with item assortments. This strategy is no longer effective in the region.

To fuel data driven decisions, Majid Al Futtaim Retail had an existing on-premises data warehouse and analytics solution. But the solution required too much manual intervention to operate. SQL script coding was too slow to stay ahead of growing data demands and market complexity, especially after Carrefour launched a new customer loyalty program and nearly doubled its regional locations.

Family chooses fresh produce in store

Data driven decisions make an impact in the marketplace

2x

faster than previous methods

Requests for operational data processed

3x

faster than previous methods to support faster decision making

The IBM solution met all the company’s current needs, as well as future requirements. It simplified data and analytics platform architecture and provided a unified data hub for advanced analytics and data model development with built-in governance capabilities.

Majid Al Futtaim experienced a 300% growth in the volume of data between 2015 and 2019. During the same time, the rate of customer transactions increased significantly and the number of Carrefour store locations tripled.

With a complex network of back-end systems and market variations, Majid Al Futtaim needed a data warehouse and analytics solution that is sustainable and can answer an evolving range of questions posed by business managers. The company recognized that, to stay ahead of its competitors, its decision making had to be data driven.

Employee displays tomatoes in produce section
Mother and two children shop in dessert case
IBM worked closely with Majid Al Futtaim Retail to implement the full solution and ensure a smooth migration. In addition, the IBM team achieved successful deployment even though they worked remotely due to COVID-19 restrictions.
A faster path to market
IBM worked closely with Majid Al Futtaim Retail to implement the full solution and ensure a smooth migration. In addition, the IBM team achieved successful deployment even though they worked remotely due to COVID-19 restrictions.

Majid Al Futtaim Retail started planning a solution that would be developed by its own internal data engineering team, and considered developing a technical team to build, run and maintain the new data warehouse. The initial plan involved building a custom solution with on-staff data engineers. But after management considered the number of resources that would be required to develop a comprehensive data warehouse solution, the company opted instead to modernize its analytics and data warehouse platform.

Five vendors, including IBM, were initially invited to provide a proof-of-concept (POC) for data warehouse solutions. Working to meet an extremely tight deadline, the regional IBM team, including IBM developers and retail industry specialists, delivered a POC proposal that met all of Majid Al Futtaim’s requirements.

The POC was based on the IBM® Netezza® Performance Server data warehouse and analytics platform, which enabled deployment on on-premises servers and on cloud services. By providing tuned and preconfigured hardware and software, IBM was able to deliver a hybrid cloud solution that could not be matched by the other vendors.

The results of the POC were clear to the managers of Majid Al Futtaim Retail. The IBM solution met all the company’s current needs, as well as future requirements. It simplified data and analytics platform architecture and provided a unified data hub for advanced analytics and data model development with built-in governance capabilities.

Taking full responsibility for all the hardware and software components, IBM worked closely with Majid Al Futtaim Retail to implement the full solution and ensure a smooth migration. In addition, the IBM team achieved successful deployment even though they worked remotely due to COVID-19 restrictions, with no impact to business processes.

A clearer view of the business

By operating a high-performance data warehouse system, Majid Al Futtaim Retail is able to reach its stakeholders much faster through improved data decision capabilities. The firm has also evolved on data monetization initiatives.

The IBM Netezza Performance Server solution helps ensure that the data platform operated by Majid Al Futtaim Retail is fast, scalable and standardized across business units. The platform is also ready for the next generation of data analysis and AI and provides the company’s single version of truth for all Carrefour-related data.

Now, Majid Al Futtaim Retail can focus more on advanced analytics and less on managing data. The company can define scenarios with a fail-fast mechanism, use data science tools to quickly evaluate the models and ultimately get to market much faster. The turnaround time for responding to business requests has improved by 100%, enabling the integration of new data sets at much faster speeds.

Majid Al Futtaim logo
About Majid Al Futtaim - Carrefour

Based in the UAE, Majid Al FuttaimExternal Link is an Emirati holding company that brought French grocer Carrefour S.A. to the region in 1995 and now holds the franchise rights to operate the brand in over 30 countries across the Middle East, Africa, and Asia. Majid Al Futtaim Retail today operates almost 450 Carrefour stores in 16 countries, serving more than 750,000 customers daily and employing over 37,000 people.

Solution component
Majid Al Futtaim logo
About Majid Al Futtaim - Carrefour

Based in the UAE, Majid Al FuttaimExternal Link is an Emirati holding company that brought French grocer Carrefour S.A. to the region in 1995 and now holds the franchise rights to operate the brand in over 30 countries across the Middle East, Africa, and Asia. Majid Al Futtaim Retail today operates almost450 Carrefour stores in 16 countries, serving more than 750,000 customers daily and employing over 37,000 people.

Solution component