没有一成不变的事物
ITV 使用 IBM Blueworks Live 管理其动态业务流程
边看电视边吃披萨的人

Ian Cottrell 可谓是业务流程方面的专家,有论文为证。在英国媒体和娱乐公司 ITV 的技术团队工作了十多年后,Cottrell 重返大学攻读工商管理硕士学位 (MBA),主修业务流程管理。

因此,当他在 2014 年接任 ITV 频道运营总监的新职务,并要求查看新团队的流程时,得到的回应让他有些惊讶。

他表示:“我收到了一本打印出来并放在柜子里的厚重说明手册和流程图。当我询问他们是否真的这样做时,得到肯定的答复。上次打印出来时确实如此。”

这意味着运营团队永远无法确定当前的具体流程。此外,几乎无从了解流程和部门之间不断变化的相互依存关系,这种情况会导致效率低下和重复工作。

Cottrell 知道必须找到更好的方法。他发现了 IBM® Blueworks Live 产品,这是一款云端软件即服务 (SaaS) 业务流程建模应用程序。如今,Blueworks Live 已成为 Cottrell 及其团队所有工作的核心。

海量内容

 

ITV 每天必须编排和监控 216 万帧内容

减少事故

 

如今,该组织每月发生的编排事故少于一起,远低于 2015 年的每月六起

 

更快上手

 

一小时内即可了解如何使用 Blueworks Live

IBM Blueworks Live 总能反映当前状况,对我来说,这正是该工具的魅力所在。 Ian Cottrell 渠道运营总监 ITV
动态洞察分析优势

Cottrell 和 ITV 运营团队的众多职责中包括安排每天的节目,精确到每一帧(或 25 分之一秒),包含节目、广告和公告。Cottrell 指出:“运营团队的工作就是确保我们维持直播状态。我们安排好每一帧画面,必须在屏幕上做到天衣无缝。”Cottrell 和团队可以借助 IBM Blueworks Live 软件,利用一个通用流程进行协作,用户则可以通过任何浏览器轻松观看相关内容。该流程与团队在 Blueworks Live 软件中记录的所有流程一样,始终在不断变化。

Cottrell 表示:“如果输出是一组非常整洁的流程图,那就大错特错了。我们不希望事物一成不变,不想让其成为束之高阁的图表文件。我们希望不断改变、不断创新、不断改进。如果我们对任何时间点的看法一成不变,就会阻碍我们继续前进或加以改变。Blueworks Live 总能反映当前状况,对我来说,这正是该工具的魅力所在。”

除编排流程外,ITV 还利用 Blueworks Live 软件管理内容交付、直播节目连接、输出管理和向点播平台交付内容、促销活动管理等流程。每个流程均有各自一套要求和错综复杂的任务,以及出错时的应对计划。

Cottrell 认为广告流程特别有趣,因为会涉及许多不同的考虑因素:“商业广告流程中包含许多业务规则,因此存在各种循环和验证程序。有很多流程检查,因为其中一些是系统任务和主要验证程序,另一些则是为了确保你不会与存在竞争关系的广告商发生冲突,或在儿童节目中播放赌博广告。”

我有一种涅盘般的愿景,可以在其中直接点击 Blueworks,然后从头到尾跟踪所有内容。我们离这个目标越来越近。 Ian Cottrell 渠道运营总监 ITV
远大抱负

Cottrell 认为 Blueworks Live 软件有助于其团队在所有流程中协同工作,并进行高效沟通。在他加入运营团队后的几年里,ITV 的直播事故从每月六起减少到每月不到一起,进步显著。

但 Cottrell 并未就此罢休。他还希望将该软件推广到其他部门。他解释道:“如果其他部门能够了解我们如何处理他们交给我们的内容,而我们可以了解他们如何制作出相关内容,便能启动合作无间的模式。必须首尾相连,才能真正发挥业务流程管理的作用。”

借助 Blueworks Live,通过向现有框架添加新流程,可以轻松实现这一目标。Cottrell 估计大多数员工(即使是那些没有 IT 背景的员工)不到一个小时就能了解其工作原理。最终,他希望 ITV 的所有员工都能使用同一套不断变化和更新的流程。

他总结道:“我有一种涅盘般的愿景,可以在其中直接点击 Blueworks,然后从头到尾跟踪所有内容。我们正在不断接近这一目标。”

ITV 徽标
ITV 简介
ITV 简介

ITV外部链接 于 1955 年开始播出节目,如今已成为英国最大的商业电视制作和发行公司之一。除了制作各种自己的内容外,ITV 现在还运营六个频道,并通过广受欢迎的点播站 BritBox International 扩展全球业务。ITV 总部位于伦敦,拥有 6,400 多名员工。

采取下一步行动
季度末从容不迫 Swiss Re 利用基于云的流程建模和自动化技术进行全面的流程重新设计 剑桥郡消防和救援服务局 流程建模软件提供的洞察分析可加快新应用程序上市时间 Insperity
脚注

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2021 IBM Corporation, IBM Automation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2021 年 8 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标和 ibm.com 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下 Web 站点上的 “Copyright and trademark information” 部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表:http://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户示例仅作演示说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档中的信息均“按原样”提供,不涉及任何明示或暗示的保证,包括适销性、特定用途适用性的任何保证,以及不侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Nothing is ever static

ITV manages its dynamic business processes using IBM Blueworks Live
by Leah Valentine
5-minute read
Two businessmen in modern office discussing work

When it comes to business processes, Ian Cottrell is something of an expert, and he’s got the papers to prove it. After more than a decade on the technology team at British media and entertainment company ITV, Cottrell returned to university to earn his Master of Business Administration (MBA) with a focus on business process management.

So in 2014, when he stepped in to his new role as ITV’s Director of Channel Operations, he was somewhat surprised at the response he got when he asked to see his new team’s processes.

“I was given a big, thick instruction manual and process diagrams that were printed out and then put in a cupboard,” he says. “I asked, ‘Is this really what you do?’ They said, ‘Well, yeah. Last time it was printed out, it was.’”

This meant the operations team was never sure what the current process was. It was also nearly impossible to see the evolving interdependencies among processes and departments — a situation that can foster inefficiencies and duplicated efforts.

Cottrell knew there had to be a better way. He found it with the IBM® Blueworks Live offering, a cloud-based, software-as-a-service (SaaS) business process modelling application. Today, Blueworks Live is at the heart of everything Cottrell and his team do.

ITV must program and monitor

2.16

million frames of content every day

Today, the organization experiences

< 1

programming incident per month, down from 6 per month in 2015

Learning to use Blueworks Live requires

< 1

hour

IBM Blueworks Live is always representative of what’s going on, which is the beauty of the tool for me.
Ian Cottrell
Director of Channel Operations, ITV
Young women working
I’ve got this sort of nirvana vision where I could just click all the way through Blueworks and follow everything end to end. We’re getting closer to that all the time.
Ian Cottrell
Director of Channel Operations, ITV
The beauty of dynamic insight
I’ve got this sort of nirvana vision where I could just click all the way through Blueworks and follow everything end to end. We’re getting closer to that all the time.
Ian Cottrell
Director of Channel Operations, ITV

Among the many duties that fall to Cottrell and ITV’s operations team is scheduling each day’s programming down to every frame (or 25th of a second), including programs, advertisements and announcements. “The job of our operations teams is to keep us on air all the time. We schedule every single frame, and it has to be seamless on screen,” says Cottrell. With IBM Blueworks Live software, Cottrell and team work from a common process that users can easily access from any browser. That process, like all the processes the team has captured in Blueworks Live software, is always changing.

“If the output is a really tidy set of process maps, you’ve got it wrong. We don’t want things to be static, we don’t want it to be that file of diagrams in a drawer. We want to be constantly changing, constantly innovating, constantly improving,” says Cottrell. “If we have a static view of any one point in time, that stops us from moving on or changing it. Blueworks Live is always representative of what’s going on, which is the beauty of the tool for me.”

In addition to the scheduling process, ITV uses Blueworks Live software to manage the processes for content delivery, live program connectivity, output management and delivery to on-demand platforms, management of promotional campaigns and more. Each process has its own set of requirements and intricately connected tasks, along with plans for what to do if something goes wrong.

Cottrell finds the advertising process is particularly interesting because so many different considerations come into play. “Within the commercial processes, there are all sorts of loops and validations because there are a number of business rules. There’s a lot of process checking, because some of these things are system tasks and primary validation, while others revolve around making sure you’re not running up against a competitive advertiser or playing a gambling ad during a children’s program.”

A grand aspiration

Cottrell credits Blueworks Live software with helping his team work collaboratively and communicate efficiently on all processes. In the years since he came on board with the operations team, ITV has reduced the number of on-air incidents it experiences from six per month to less than one month, a remarkable improvement.

But Cottrell isn’t done yet. He’s looking to bring other departments on board, too. “If other departments can understand what we're doing with what they're handing over to us, and if we can understand what it takes for them to produce it, we’re starting to join up. For business process management to really work, it has to be end-to-end,” he explains.

With Blueworks Live, it’s easy to progress toward that goal by adding new processes to the existing framework. Cottrell estimates that it takes most employees — even those without IT backgrounds — less than an hour to understand how it works. Eventually, he’d like to have everyone at ITV working from the same, ever-changing but always-current set of processes.

“I’ve got this sort of nirvana vision where I could just click all the way through Blueworks and follow everything end-to-end. We’re getting closer to that all the time,” he concludes.”

ITV logo
About ITV

ITVExternal Link began broadcasting in 1955, and today it is one of the UK’s largest commercial television production and distribution companies. In addition to producing a wide variety of its own content, ITV now operates a total of six channels and has expanded operations worldwide with it popular on demand station, BritBox International. Headquartered in London, ITV employs more than 6,400 people.

Solution component
ITV logo
About ITV

ITVExternal Link began broadcasting in 1955, and today it is one of the UK’s largest commercial television production and distribution companies. In addition to producing a wide variety of its own content, ITV now operates a total of six channels and has expanded operations worldwide with it popular on demand station, BritBox International. Headquartered in London, ITV employs more than 6,400 people.

Solution component