更智能地工作,使建筑物保持最佳状态
HFL 借助 MaxLogic 和 IBM Maximo 转变物业管理方法
建筑物蓝图

建筑物是各类组织必须运营的最庞大、最昂贵的资产之一,这就是为什么许多英国企业依靠 HFL Building Solutions 的专业知识技能来帮助保持其物业的安全、舒适和高效。

HFL 专注于维护服务、综合设施服务和建筑环境服务。其使命是确保尽可能高效且经济地管理客户的设施。为此,该公司需要对工程师的活动以及他们管理和维护的已建基础设施有清晰的洞察和了解。

HFL 财务总监 Mark Roberts 解释道:“我们所做的工作相对简单,复杂性来自于我们的运营量。我们拥有 150 名员工,在 400 多个地点运营,每月生成约 4,000 个工作单。”

每当工程师到现场执行工作单时,例如进行预防性维护状况检查或对供暖系统进行补救性维修工程,他们都会将有关工作的书面报告添加到现场保存的日志中。

每本日志都提供了为客户所做工作的重要记录,以及重要的证明文件,包括商业计划书、设计、证书等。HFL 依靠随时获取这些信息来有效开展日常工作、跟踪持续成本并让客户了解其设施的状况。在许多情况下,这些信息对于客户证明其企业设施符合监管和法律要求也至关重要。

以前,HFL 使用实物日志,并依靠电子表格流程来管理支持工作流程。这种方法导致工作单报告完成延误,而文书工作经常被错误归档或丢失,从而导致返工,浪费了时间,并增加了企业及其客户的风险。随着业务的扩展,HFL 迫切希望找到一种更可持续、更安全的工作单管理方式。

简化管理



HFL 将未完成工作单数量减少了 95%,简化了管理

可信平台

 

Maximo 提供单一、值得信赖的平台,用于管理 400 多个客户位置的工作

可以看到特定站点是如何按照我们最初定价的合同进行交付的。我们是否盈利了?成本是否高于或低于我们的预估值?这些都是我们在与 MaxLogic 合作之前所不具备的洞察力。 James Kissane Director of Business Development HFL Building Solutions
利用我们的 MaxLogic 受管服务,我们负责管理 IBM Maximo 和任何支持性基础设施。我们与 HFL 合作配置系统,并帮助他们应用工作流程和业务流程方面的最佳实践。这种方法使他们能够完全控制解决方案的设计和结果,同时使他们摆脱 IT 管理的负担,我们认为这是真正的双赢。 Ed Cohn CEO and Co-Founder MaxLogic
从 Maximo 获得更多助益

虽然最初部署的 IBM Maximo EAM SAAS Flex Maximo 解决方案在帮助公司解决更基本的用例方面被证明是有效的,但 HFL 希望更上一层楼。

Mark Roberts 表示:“我们决心让这套系统取得成功,因此我们再次考察了市场,希望找到一个不仅对 Maximo 解决方案有很好的了解,而且在与我们行业公司合作方面有丰富经验的合作伙伴。我们找到了 MaxLogic。”

HFL 现在正在充分挖掘 IBM Maximo 的潜力,使用 MaxLogic Managed Service (MMS),可以以较少的行政和管理工作获得该解决方案的最大效益。该公司的业务流程转型之旅目前正在顺利进行,从规划和工程基础(包括工作单管理)开始,扩展到帐户和合同管理。

Roberts 表示:“MaxLogic 重新审视了我们所做的一切,帮助我们对流程进行了非常彻底的审查和重塑。他们亲力亲为,不辞辛劳与我们并肩工作。MaxLogic 团队的另一个出色之处在于,他们显然是对 Maximo 了如指掌的技术专家,但他们将其与我们行业的历史结合起来,因此他们了解我们所做的工作和我们的要求。”

HFL 转型的一个重要步骤是将来自数百个客户站点的信息汇集到由 IBM Maximo Application Suite 支持的共享数字数据存储中。该公司用虚拟日志取代了堆积如山的文书工作,并在 Maximo 中建立了标准化的站点和工作单模板。

为了使现场团队能够轻松获取这些数字信息,MaxLogic 将 HFL 引入了 Maximo Mobile,这是 Maximo Application Suite 和 Maximo Mobile 在欧洲的首次联合部署之一。通过这一举措,工程师现在可以随时随地访问工作单以及支持文档,帮助他们更有效地工作。

Roberts 描述了新方法的工作原理:“工程师在 Maximo Mobile 中打开工作单后,他们就能看到该日期应完成的工作以及相关的具体任务。该解决方案还提示用户完成任务并确认他们已完成每一项任务。一旦工作单的任务列表完成,解决方案就会为工作单标注日期,创建报告,并将其保存在虚拟日志中。”

如今,整个企业的用户,包括业务支持团队和合同经理,都可以通过 Maximo 随时访问这些数字文件。HFL 还建立了一个门户网站,首次为客户提供自助访问相关日志的服务。

现在,HFL 已经改变了工作单管理的基础,该公司正在将注意力转向优化更复杂的规划和分析流程。

HFL 业务开发总监 James Kissane 指出:“通过及时捕获工作单并将来自客户站点和运营的所有信息统一在一个系统中,我们可以利用数据回答新类型的问题。例如,可以看到特定站点是如何按照我们最初定价的合同进行交付的。我们是否盈利了?成本是否高于或低于我们的预估值?这些都是我们在与 MaxLogic 合作之前所不具备的洞察力。

新洞察,新可能

通过与 MaxLogic 的合作,HFL 大幅提高了其团队和客户可获得信息的质量,这有助于推动更好的决策。

Roberts 证实:“当我们第一次引入 Maximo 时,我们对数据的理解以及我们管理数据的方式并不理想。最初,我们在 Maximo 中有 200,000 个未结工作单;在 MaxLogic 的帮助下,我们已经将其缩减到不到 20,000 条实时记录。他们使我们的团队能够准确了解我们正在捕获和保存的数据,并围绕这些数据建立更好的内务规则。”

他补充道:“这些数据对于更细致地了解我们的绩效至关重要,不仅是在运营方面,而且在财务方面也是如此。目前,我们知道我们的总体利润率、最高利润率和最低利润率;Maximo 将在此基础上增加一个高度细化的站点级利润率视图。有了它,我们就能了解现场的成本,并采取更有针对性的措施来控制工作成本,从而为我们和我们的最终客户节省最重要的成本。”

这一坚实的数据和洞察基础,加上高度优化的工作单和合同管理流程,将使 HFL 的业务运营更加精简、灵活。

“我们现在几乎在 Maximo 内完成所有工作,”Roberts 说。“这不仅简化了我们团队的工作,还有助于他们在计划发生变化时更快地做出反应。在我们的工作中,计划经常会发生变化。例如,一名工程师计划前往客户现场,但在最后一刻接到另一个现场的紧急召唤,导致他无法参加原来的工作。有了 Maximo,我们就能在发生这些变化时及时跟进,这样我们就不会措手不及,还能协调我们的资源,最大限度地减少对工作的干扰。”

“同样,现在工程师可以在 Maximo 中实时管理工作单,这意味着我们能够更快地完成工作单并更及时地将其传达给客户。我们完成工作的速度越快越好,客户也会因此更加满意。”

展望未来,Maximo 将成为 HFL 更大改进和创新的助推器。公司计划继续与 MaxLogic 合作,推出新的智能资产监控和预测性维护功能,以提高资产的正常运行时间和员工的工作效率。

Roberts 总结道:“通过与 MaxLogic 的合作,我们收获的最有价值的东西之一,就是确切了解 Maximo 的能力。现在我们知道了可能性,我们渴望使用该解决方案的更多功能。它将帮助我们更好地运营业务,并为客户提供更高水平的服务。”

HFL 徽标
关于 HFL

HFL Building Solutions(链接位于 IBM.com 外部)是一家领先的建筑服务公司,总部位于英国曼彻斯特。它为英国数百家客户提供建筑管理、运营和技术服务,涵盖购物公园、休闲设施、教育机构和商业地产等场所。

 

MaxLogic
关于 MaxLogic

IBM 金牌业务合作伙伴 MaxLogic 是一家解决方案和咨询公司,积极投身于数字化转型并专注于企业资产管理。该公司成立于 2020 年,总部位于英国利兹。

法律条款

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022。IBM Corporation, IBM Systems, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2022 年 10 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 IBM Z 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表: https://ibm.com/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

Buildings are some of the biggest, most expensive assets that organisations must operate – which is why many UK businesses rely on the expertise of HFL Building Solutions to help keep their properties safe, comfortable, and efficient.

HFL specialises in maintenance services, integrated facilities services and building environmental services. Its mission is to ensure that clients’ facilities are managed as efficiently and cost-effectively as possible. To do this, the company relies on clear insight into its engineers’ activities and the built infrastructure that they manage and maintain.

Mark Roberts, Director of Finance at HFL, explains: “The work that we do is relatively straightforward – the complexity comes from the volume of our operations. We employ 150 people, who operate across 400-plus sites, generating around 4,000 work orders every month.”

Whenever an engineer visits a site to carry out a work order – such as performing a preventative maintenance health check or providing remedial repair works to a heating system – they add a written report about the job into a logbook kept on site.

Each logbook provides a vital record of work undertaken for a client, along with important supporting documents, including a commercial planner, designs, certificates, and more. HFL depends on ready access to this information to carry out day-to-day work effectively, track ongoing costs and keep clients informed about the status of their facilities. In many cases, the information is also critical for clients to prove that they are meeting their regulatory and legal requirements around corporate facilities.

Previously, HFL used physical logbooks and relied on spreadsheet-based processes to manage the supporting workflows. This approach led to delays in completing work order reports, while paperwork was often misfiled or lost – leading to time-consuming rework and elevated risk for the business and its clients. With operations expanding, HFL was keen to find a more sustainable and secure way of managing work orders.

HFL has reduced its number of open work orders by

95%

for simplified management

Maximo provides a single, trusted platform for managing work across

400+

client locations

Getting more out of Maximo

While an initial deployment of IBM Maximo EAM SAAS Flex Maximo solution proved effective at helping the company address its more basic use cases, HFL wanted to take things to the next level.

Mark Roberts says, “We were determined to make this system a success, so we took another look at the market for a partner that not only had good knowledge of Maximo solutions, but also proven experience of working with companies in our sector. That search led us to MaxLogic.”

HFL is now tapping into the full potential of IBM Maximo, using the MaxLogic Managed Service (MMS) to get the most out of the solution with less administrative and management effort. The company’s journey to transform business processes is now well underway, starting with its planning and engineering base – including work order management – and expanding to cover accounts and contract management too.

Roberts states: “MaxLogic took a fresh look at everything we do, helping us lead a very thorough review and reinvention of our processes. They weren’t afraid to roll up their sleeves and get right into the work with us. Another great thing about the MaxLogic team is that they are obviously technical specialists who know Maximo inside-out, but they combine that with a history in our sector, so they understand the work that we do and the requirements that we have.”

A major step in HFL’s transformation involved bringing together information from hundreds of client sites into a shared, digital data store, supported by IBM Maximo Application Suite. The company has replaced mountains of paperwork with virtual logbooks, along with a standardized template for setting up sites and work orders in Maximo.

To make this digital information readily available to teams out in the field, MaxLogic introduced HFL to Maximo Mobile in one of the first-ever joint deployments of Maximo Application Suite and Maximo Mobile in Europe. With this move, engineers can now access work orders, as well as supporting documents, anytime and anywhere – helping them work more effectively.

Roberts describes how the new approach works: “As soon as an engineer opens a work order in Maximo Mobile, they can see what's due on that date and the relevant, specific tasks. The solution also prompts users to go through their tasks and confirm that they’ve completed each one. Once a task list for a work order is complete, the solution dates the work order, creates a report, and saves it in the virtual logbook.”

Today, users across the business, including business support teams and contract managers, enjoy ready access to these digital files through Maximo. HFL has also set up a web portal that gives clients self-service access to relevant logbooks for the first time.

Now that HFL has transformed the fundamentals of work order management, the company is turning its attention to optimizing more complex planning and analytics processes.

James Kissane, Director of Business Development at HFL, notes: “With work orders being captured promptly and all information from our client sites and operations unified in a single system, we can answer new kinds of questions with our data. For instance, it’s possible to see how a specific site is delivering against the contract that we originally priced up. Are we making a profit? Are costs higher or lower than we estimated? These are insights that we simply didn’t have before working with MaxLogic.”

New insights, new possibilities

Through its collaboration with MaxLogic, HFL has substantially improved the quality of information available to its teams and clients, which is helping drive better decision-making.

Roberts confirms: “Our understanding of our data and the way we managed it was not ideal when we first introduced Maximo. Originally, we had 200,000 open work orders sitting in Maximo; with help from MaxLogic, we’ve whittled that down to less than 20,000 live records. They’ve empowered our team to understand exactly what data we’re capturing and keeping, as well as build better housekeeping rules around it.”  

He adds: “This data will be key to building a more nuanced understanding of our performance, not just operationally, but financially too. At present, we know our overall margin, our top line and our bottom line; what Maximo will add to this is a highly granular, site-level view of profitability. With that, we can understand costs at a site level, and take more targeted measures to control costs on the job, which creates all-important savings for us and our end clients.”

This solid foundation of data and insights, coupled with highly optimized processes around work order and contract management, will enable HFL to run a leaner, more agile business.

“We're very close now to doing everything within Maximo,” says Roberts. “Not only does this simplify things for our teams, it helps them react faster when plans change—which they often do in our line of work. For example, an engineer is planning to visit a client site, but gets a last-minute emergency call-out to another site, leaving them unavailable for the original job. With Maximo, we can keep up with these changes as they happen, so that we’re not caught on the back foot, and can orchestrate our resources to minimize disruption to our work.

“Likewise, now that engineers are managing work orders in real time in Maximo, it means we’re able to close out work orders faster and communicate that to clients in a more timely manner. The faster we can get jobs done, the better, and our clients are much happier for it.”  

Looking ahead, Maximo will provide a springboard for even greater improvements and innovations at HFL. Continuing its collaboration with MaxLogic, the company plans to introduce new intelligent asset monitoring and predictive maintenance capabilities for higher asset uptime and workforce productivity.

Roberts concludes: “One of the most valuable things that we’ve gained from working with MaxLogic is understanding exactly what Maximo is capable of. Now that we know the possibilities, we’re keen to use even more of the solution’s capabilities. It’s going to help us run our business better and deliver even better levels of service to our clients.”

About HFL

HFL Building Solutions is a leading building services company headquartered in Manchester, England. It provides building management, operational and technical services for hundreds of clients across the UK, covering sites including retail parks, leisure facilities, educational institutions and commercial properties.

HFL logo

About MaxLogic

IBM Gold Business Partner MaxLogic is a solutions and consulting company with a passion for digital transformation and a focus on enterprise asset management. The company was founded in 2020 and operates from its head office in Leeds, UK.

Legal terms

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, IBM Systems, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, October 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and IBM Z are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at www.ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.

Statement of Good Security Practices: IT system security involves protecting systems and information through prevention, detection and response to improper access from within and outside your enterprise. Improper access can result in information being altered, destroyed, misappropriated or misused or can result in damage to or misuse of your systems, including for use in attacks on others. No IT system or product should be considered completely secure and no single product, service or security measure can be completely effective in preventing improper use or access. IBM systems, products and services are designed to be part of a lawful, comprehensive security approach, which will necessarily involve additional operational procedures, and may require other systems, products or services to be most effective. IBM DOES NOT WARRANT THAT ANY SYSTEMS, PRODUCTS OR SERVICES ARE IMMUNE FROM, OR WILL MAKE YOUR ENTERPRISE IMMUNE FROM, THE MALICIOUS OR ILLEGAL CONDUCT OF ANY PARTY.