展望新的电力浪潮 了解梅赛德斯-奔驰如何使用量子计算机设计更好的电池 (3:40)

梅赛德斯-奔驰押注量子计算,打造电动汽车的未来

尽管各种未来主义的设计在展台前光彩夺目,但电动汽车崛起的基础,其实是隐藏在幕后的一项远不那么引人注目的创新:电池技术多年来的渐进式进步。

现代锂离子电池——相同的技术为智能手机提供电力,并从太阳能电池阵列获取电力——为创造更加可持续的能源未来指明了道路。如今的锂离子动力汽车,拥有足以服人的续航里程和充电时间,价格范围也已触手可及。

但是,能否想象,下一代电池不仅是往前一步,而是巨大飞跃?电池性能如果能在一夜之间翻一番或两番——提高充电容量、延长电池寿命、减少热量造成的能量损失,并显著降低成本——那么这种进展仅仅对于交通运输的影响力,就可能震惊世界。

10 年

 

梅赛德斯的目标是:10 年后,插电式混合或全电动汽车超过其汽车销量的一半

3 年

 

IBM 的目标是:3 年后,推出首款 1,000 多个量子比特的量子计算机

开发并完善这些假想中的电池,将带来数十亿美元的商机。 Benjamin Boeser Director of Innovation Management Silicon Valley at Mercedes-Benz R&D, North America
为电力激增做好准备

梅赛德斯-奔驰的母公司戴姆勒股份公司的工程师预计,下一个巨大飞跃的方向可能是能量密度更高的电池技术——很可能是锂硫 (Li-S) 电池。梅赛德斯-奔驰北美研发中心的硅谷创新管理总监 Benjamin Boeser 表示,开发和完善这些假想中的电池可以“释放数十亿美元的商机”。但从绘图板到商业上可行的锂硫电池,本质上是一项庞大的化学实验——一项可能消耗多年时间、金钱、工程专业知识的研究计划。

理想情况下,在计算机上模拟众多分子特性和行为,在开始制作物理原型之前,探索和分析有希望的选择,是更有明智的做法。但有一个问题。即使对于像咖啡因这样的简单分子(一种由碳、氢、氮、氧组成的、深受人类喜爱的能量激活剂),分子中的量子态数量,以及四种基本元素系统之间相互作用的电子数量,也可能是巨大的。

创建单个咖啡因模拟,可能会压垮任何经典计算机的内存和计算能力,甚至是当今最强大的、充满房间的超级计算机。分子及其环境越大、越复杂,这个过程就越具有挑战性。

超越零和一

来了解一下量子计算机——一种不同的新兴技术,目前在 IBM 正处于开发快车道上。量子计算将一些非常抽象的物理理论,提炼成一种全新的计算能力,似乎是专门为处理曾经无法解决的复杂问题而设计的。量子计算依赖于“量子比特”,而不是代表 0 和 1 的磁性“比特”,由于一些非常奇怪的量子力学现象,量子比特可以比经典比特代表更多的信息。随着量子计算机中每个量子比特的增加,其性能会翻倍——运行曾经难以处理的复杂算法的能力,将呈指数级提升。

虽然量子计算的底层物理原理令人眼花缭乱,但其核心优势很简单——具有突破性的潜力,可以快速执行大量计算,精确模拟大自然的构成要素。

十年听起来很遥远,但实际上,对于很多企业来说,十年完全在正常的规划和投资范围之内。 Dario Gil Director IBM Research
量子力学与传统力学的结合

分子模拟的一个主要目的是找到化合物的“基态”——其最稳定的构型。量子比特本身按照量子力学定律运行,就像研究人员需要模拟的分子一样。尽管还处于起步阶段,但随着时间的推移,量子比特的稳定性应该会变得更好。人们希望,当这成为现实之后,量子计算机可以大大加快模拟过程——更不用说数十个其他数据密集型任务,应用遍及各个行业。与梅赛德斯-奔驰合作进行现实世界电池研究,只是基础工作的一方面,最终将使量子计算取得商业成果。

“该领域正在以健康的速度发展,”梅赛德斯-奔驰的 Boeser 先生说道。“但每个熟悉这项技术和研究的人都知道,它仍处于起步阶段,我们仍然需要做很多工作。”梅赛德斯-奔驰正在推进向零排放移动出行的转型。可持续发展是梅赛德斯-奔驰企业战略的关键要素之一,同时也是企业成功的基准。

这些目标在一句话中得到了明确的定义:未来 20 年里,梅赛德斯-奔驰汽车的目标是拥有一支碳中和的新型乘用车车队,并计划到 2030 年,插电式混合动力或全电动汽车占其汽车销量超过 50%。

IBM 研究院总监 Dario Gil 表示:“十年听起来很遥远,但实际上,对于许多企业来说,十年完全在规划和投资的正常范围内。”看看路边,也许就有一辆锂硫动力汽车。

关于梅赛德斯-奔驰

梅赛德斯-奔驰是全球最大的高档汽车生产商之一,也是最大的商用车制造商,业务遍及全球。该公司提供融资、租赁、车队管理、保险和创新移动服务。

关于 IBM Quantum Network

IBM Quantum Network 是一个由财富 500 强企业、学术机构、初创企业和国家研究实验室组成的社区,与 IBM 合作推进量子计算。

您准备好了吗?

未来 10 年,量子计算将改变商业和社会。不及时采取行动的组织,会被甩在后面。

下载报告,了解如何

采取下一步行动
探求宇宙联结奥秘 CERN 努力驯服海运物流这个怪物 ExxonMobil 构建分子,重新定义发光 三菱化学、JSR、庆应义塾大学
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2020. IBM Corporation, IBM Cloud, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

2021 年 3 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com、IBM Cloud 以及 IBM Food Trust 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网站上的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了 IBM 商标的最新列表: https://www.ibm.com/cn-zh/legal/copytrade

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

Envisioning a new wave in power

Daimler-Benz bets on quantum to craft the future of electric vehicles
Front of a Mercedes-Benz car

Despite all their flourishes of futuristic design, the rise of electric cars is founded on a far less headline-grabbing innovation that hides under the hood: years of incremental progress in battery technology.

Modern lithium-ion batteries – the same tech that powers smartphones and captures power from solar arrays – have pointed the way towards creating a more sustainable energy future. Today’s lithium-ion powered cars can lay claim to persuasive travel distances and charging times, at a range of achievable prices.

But what if the next generation of batteries wasn’t a step ahead, but a leap forward? If battery performance could double or quadruple overnight – boosting charge capacity, increasing battery life, diminishing energy loss via heat, and dramatically lowering costs – the impact on transportation alone could be world-shaking.

Target for Mercedes to have plug-in hybrids or all-electric vehicles exceed half of its car sales

10

years from now

Target for IBM to debut its first 1,000-plus qubit quantum computer

3

years from now

Developing and perfecting these hypothetical batteries could unlock a billion-dollar opportunity.
Benjamin Boeser
Director of Innovation Management, Silicon Valley at Mercedes-Benz R&D North America
Prepping for a Power Surge

The engineers at Daimler AG, the parent of Mercedes-Benz, expect the next great leap may be towards more energy dense battery technologies – quite possibly the lithium-sulfur (Li-S) battery. Developing and perfecting these hypothetical batteries could “unlock a billion-dollar opportunity,” says Benjamin Boeser, Director of Innovation Management, Silicon Valley at Mercedes-Benz R&D North America. But getting from the drawing board to a commercially viable Li-S battery is, essentially, a mammoth chemistry experiment — a research initiative that could consume years of time, money, and engineering expertise.

Ideally, it makes more sense to simulate those multitudes of molecular properties and behaviors on a computer, exploring and analyzing promising options before physical prototyping begins. But there’s the rub. Even for simple molecules like caffeine – a favored human energizer comprised of carbon, hydrogen, nitrogen, and oxygen – the number of quantum states in the molecule, of electrons interacting among the system of four basic elements, can be enormous.

Creating a single caffeine simulation can overwhelm the memory and calculating power of any classical computer – even today’s most potent, room-filling supercomputers. The bigger and more complex a molecule and its environment, the more challenging this process becomes.

BrightFarms baby romaine leaves
IBM Quantum computer
A decade sounds far away, but in reality, for many businesses, a decade is totally within the normal horizon of planning and investment.
Dario Gil
Director of IBM Research
Beyond zeroes and ones
A decade sounds far away, but in reality, for many businesses, a decade is totally within the normal horizon of planning and investment.
Dario Gil
Director of IBM Research

Enter the quantum computer – a different emerging technology, now on a developmental fast track at IBM. Quantum computing distills some very abstract physics theory into a completely new kind of computing power, seemingly purpose-built to handle problems of once-insoluble complexity. Instead of magnetic “bits” representing 0s and 1s, quantum computing relies on “qubits” that can, thanks to some very strange quantum-mechanical phenomena, represent more information than a classical bit. With the addition of every qubit to a quantum computer, its performance doubles – an exponential boost in its ability to run algorithms of once-intractable complexity.

While the underlying physics of quantum computing are dizzying, its core advantage is simple – the groundbreaking potential to swiftly perform the vast volumes of calculation needed to accurately simulate the building blocks of nature.

Quantum mechanics meets conventional mechanics

A main aim of molecular simulation is to find a compound’s “ground state” – its most stable configuration. Qubits themselves operate according to the laws of quantum mechanics, just like the molecules that researchers need to simulate. Though in their infancy, the stability of qubits should become much better over time. The hope is that, as this happens, quantum computers can greatly speed the simulation process – not to mention dozens of other data-intensive tasks, with applications across every industry. Working with Daimler on real-world battery research is just one aspect of the foundational work that will eventually bring quantum computing to commercial fruition.

“The field is advancing at a healthy speed,” says Daimler’s Mr. Boeser. “But everybody who’s close to the technology and research knows it’s still in its infancy, and we still need to do a lot of work.” Daimler AG is pushing ahead with the transformation to emission-free mobility. Sustainability is one of the key elements of Daimler’s corporate strategy and at the same time a benchmark for corporate success.

And the goals are clearly defined in one term: Over the next 20 years, Mercedes-Benz Cars aims to have a carbon-neutral new passenger car fleet and aims to have plug-in hybrids or all-electric vehicles to make up more than 50% of its car sales by 2030.

“A decade sounds far away, but in reality, for many businesses, a decade is totally within the normal horizon of planning and the investment,” says Dario Gil, Director of IBM Research. Look down the road, and there may be a lithium-sulfur powered car just around the bend.

About Daimler

Daimler is one of the biggest producers of premium cars and the world's biggest manufacturer of commercial vehicles with a global reach. It provides financing, leasing, fleet management, insurance and innovative mobility services.

About IBM Quantum Network

IBM Quantum Network is a community of Fortune 500 companies, academic institutions, startups and national research labs working with IBM to advance quantum computing.

About Daimler

Daimler is one of the biggest producers of premium cars and the world's biggest manufacturer of commercial vehicles with a global reach. It provides financing, leasing, fleet management, insurance and innovative mobility services.

About IBM Quantum Network

IBM Quantum Network is a community of Fortune 500 companies, academic institutions, startups and national research labs working with IBM to advance quantum computing.