Cochlear
以一致的在线形象,触达新客户
年长夫妇笑容可掬

为了支持其快速发展,Cochlear 有限公司与 IBM 业务合作伙伴 GLiNTECH 合作,采用中央平台来管理其国际在线布局。如今,该公司已将其网站整合了 73%,改善了用户体验,并使网站流量增加了 15%。

业务挑战

为了为显著的业务增长做好准备,Cochlear 有限公司需要巩固其全球办事处的在线业务。

变革

Cochlear 与 GLiNTECH 合作部署了一个基于 IBM® Web Content Manager 的平台,能以多种语言部署一致的在线布局,满足各个国家/地区层面的法律要求。

结果 合并
从 75 个国家/地区网站减少到只有 20 个,节省大量成本
改善
能够锁定特定国家/地区的内容,降低违规风险
增加 15%
更有效地为多个利益相关者提供服务,提升网站流量
业务挑战案例
DIY 导致在线布局不一致

享有盛誉的 Cochlear 已成为创新的代名词——产品线赢得众多本地和国际赞誉,客户服务方式也不断推陈出新。

Cochlear 在线业务主管 Vishy Narayanan 解释说:“与许多在短时间内快速发展的企业一样,Cochlear 拥有一些本地化分支机构,具有强有力的在线布局,但我们缺乏统一的机制来吸引客户,并向客户(收件人和候选人)和专业人士(我们的渠道合作伙伴)提供信息。”

由于没有标准化的全球在线布局,Cochlear 的区域办事处使用各种技术构建了自己的网络平台。

“我们在多个平台上拥有近 75 个网站。一些网站由内部团队管理,另一些则外包;优化我们的技术基础架构是一项挑战,成本高昂且效率低下。”

内容分发和管理流程存在一致性问题,使得整个组织的信息共享变得困难且耗时。

“我们希望通过一致的外观和感觉、更好的品牌形象、更直观的界面来改善用户体验。我们需要建立一个在线业务平台,营销等其他业务部门可以利用该平台来推动客户参与,而不是每个地区都创建和管理自己的解决方案来满足每个新项目的需求,”Vishy Narayanan 说。

我们在澳大利亚和英国进行的用户测试的初步结果显示,网站流量增长了 15%。 Vishy Narayanan Head of Online Cochlear
变革案例
值得信赖的合作伙伴实现无缝过渡

Cochlear 当时正在推出 IBM WebSphere® Portal,因此 IBM 是该项目的自然选择,非常适合支持标准化网站和内容管理平台的实施。

Vishy Narayanan 解释说:“我们需要一个灵活的解决方案来满足我们的高可用性、企业级需求,并应对快速变化,由于 IBM 已经在企业的其他部门使用,我们决定坚持使用同一平台。”

经过初步讨论,IBM 建议其业务合作伙伴 GLiNTECH 提供企业门户和相关内容管理解决方案,利用共享基础架构,并为内容和 Web 服务提供基于角色的单点访问。

Vishy Narayanan 表示:“我们知道该项目的规模是前所未有的,因此我们需要一个具备快速部署技能的合作伙伴,能够帮助我们在超过 24 个国家/地区、以近 20 种不同语言上线。”GLiNTECH 帮助我们配置了 IBM 解决方案,并将其集成到各种后端系统中,还开发了内容结构、站点、portlet 和面向服务的架构 (SOA)。

“GLiNTECH 资源的质量非常出色。GLiNTECH 完美结合了专业知识与 IBM 实验室技术专家的牢固关系,是我们开拓新领域的宝贵资源”,Vishy Narayanan 补充道。

部署始于 Cochlear 的国际网站,并以此为试点。Vishy Narayanan 表示,这种方法让他的团队能利用学到的经验,调整其他国家/地区网站的部署流程。然后在第二阶段,在不到一年的时间内,该公司迁移了近 20 个国家/地区网站,取得了良好的成果。

培训是管理如此大规模部署的关键,因此,除了对使用新平台进行初步的熟悉培训外,Narayanan 和他的团队还每周举办一次论坛,分享技巧,并确保全球利益相关者了解如何优化新功能,从而发挥其最大优势。

案例成果
整合战略带来业务优势

该组织实现了医疗器械行业的首创——为全面的全公司在线战略提供了统一平台。

Vishy Narayanan 表示:“Cochlear 的网站数量已从 75 个减少到仅有 20 个,我们正在持续监控网站数量,确保满足业务需求。开始时,我们的国际团队非常担心最终结果会不如他们自己创建的网站平台,但到目前为止的反馈是积极的,我们将继续寻找优化和改进该平台的方法,提供更好的客户体验。”

Cochlear 的一项关键衡量标准是网站的流量增加。Vishy Narayanan 表示:“我们在澳大利亚和英国进行的用户测试的初步结果显示,网站流量增长了 15%。虽然平台只是难题的一部分,但我相信一致的内容、统一的外观和感觉,一定促成了这一非常积极的结果。”

举例而言,涉及重大新产品发布时,Cochlear 需要在相对较短的时间内,在所有国家/地区的网站上发布产品信息,这在 Cochlear 之前的内容管理流程中是很大的挑战,但事实证明在新平台上这很容易。

根据 Vishy Narayanan 的说法,“医疗器械行业受到严格监管,这意味着许多 Cochlear 产品并非同时在所有国家/地区上市。此外,任何产品的适应症和规格都必须满足各个国家/地区不同的立法要求。这对我们来说是一个关键的成功因素,因为无论平台或参与度有多好,都必须满足业务需求。借助 IBM 和 GLiNTECH 的资源,我们按时满足了所需目标。”

Cochlear 徽标
关于 Cochlear

Cochlear 有限公司总部位于悉尼,是植入式听力解决方案的全球领导者。30 年来,Cochlear 已帮助超过 25 万人克服了听力损失。公司在 100 多个国家和地区拥有 2,700 多名员工,发展迅速,在医疗行业备受推崇。

采取下一步行动

要了解有关 IBM Web Content Manager 的更多信息,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴,

GLiNTECH 总部位于悉尼,是屡获殊荣的澳大利亚 IBM 银牌业务合作伙伴。其训练有素的顾问获得了 IBM 解决方案套件的认证,使他们成为澳大利亚及整个地区多家大型企业客户的首选 IT 服务提供商。GLiNTECH 自 2000 年开始运营。要了解有关 GLiNTECH 的更多信息,请访问:www.glintech.com(链接位于 ibm.com 以外)。

查看更多案例研究
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. 2018 年 11 月在美国制作。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 以及 WebSphere 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在世界各地司法辖区的注册商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。以下网址的“Copyright and trademark information”部分中包含了最新的 IBM 商标列表:ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml。

IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。

以上所有引用或描述的客户实例的展示取决于部分客户使用 IBM 产品的方式以及他们可能取得的结果。实际的环境成本和性能特征会因具体客户配置和情况而有所不同。请联系 IBM,咨询 IBM 产品和服务详情。

用户自行负责评估和验证任何其他产品或程序与 IBM 产品和程序搭配运行的情况。

客户负责确保遵守适用的法律和法规。IBM 不提供任何法律咨询,也不声明或保证其服务或产品经确保客户遵循任何法律或法规。

良好安全实践声明:IT 系统安全涉及通过预防、检测和响应企业内部和外部的不当访问来保护系统和信息。不正当访问可导致信息被更改、破坏、盗用或滥用,也可能导致系统被损坏或滥用,包括用于攻击他人。任何 IT 系统或产品都不应被视为完全安全,任何单一产品、服务或安全措施都不能完全有效防止不正当使用或访问。IBM 系统、产品和服务旨在成为合法、全面的安全措施的一部分,这必然涉及其他操作程序,且可能需要借助其他系统、产品或服务才能发挥最大作用。IBM 不保证任何系统、产品或服务可免于或使您的企业免于受到任何一方恶意或非法行为的影响。

关于 IBM 未来方向、意向的声明仅仅表示了目标和意愿而已,可能会随时更改或撤销,恕不另行通知。

Cochlear
Reaches out to new customers with a consistent online presence
Senior couple laughing together

To support its rapid growth, Cochlear Limited worked with IBM Business Partner GLiNTECH to adopt a central platform to manage its international online presence. Today, the company has consolidated its websites by 73 percent, enabling it to improve the user experience and drive a 15 percent increase in web traffic.

Business challenge

To prepare for significant business growth, Cochlear Limited needed to consolidate its online presence across its global offices.

Transformation

Cochlear worked with GLiNTECH to deploy a platform based on  IBM® Web Content Manager - enabling it to deploy a consistent online presence in multiple languages to meet country-level legal requirements.

Results Consolidates
75 country websites to just 20, driving significant costs savings
Improves
ability to lock-down country specific content, reducing risks of non-compliance
15% increase
in web traffic achieved by serving multiple stakeholders more efficiently
Business challenge story
DIY results in online inconsistency

To enjoy the success it does, Cochlear has become synonymous with innovation—both for its product lines, that have won numerous local and international accolades, as well as in the way it serves its customers.

Vishy Narayanan, Head of Online, Cochlear, explains, “Like many businesses that grow rapidly in a short time, Cochlear had a few localized branches with a strong online presence, but we had no consolidated mechanism for engaging and delivering information to our customers (recipients and candidates) and professionals: our channel partners.”

Without a standardized global online presence, Cochlear’s regional offices built their own web platforms using a wide range of technology.

“We had close to 75 websites across multiple platforms. Some sites were managed by internal teams and others were outsourced; it was a challenge optimizing our technology infrastructure, which meant it was costly and inefficient.”

Content distribution and management processes had issues with consistency, making information sharing across the organization difficult and time-consuming.

“We wanted to improve user experience with a consistent look and feel, better branding and using more intuitive interfaces. We needed to build an online business platform that other parts of the business such as marketing, could leverage to drive customer engagement—rather than each area creating and managing its own solution to satisfy the needs of each new project,” Vishy Narayanan says.

Preliminary results from user testing we ran in Australia and the UK shows a very positive 15 percent increase in web traffic. Vishy Narayanan Head of Online Cochlear
Transformation story
Trusted partner enables seamless transition

Cochlear was in the midst of rolling out IBM WebSphere® Portal, so IBM was a natural choice for this project and to support the commitment to implementing a standardized web and content management platform.

Vishy Narayanan explains, “We needed a flexible solution to cater for our high availability, enterprise level demands and cope with rapid change and since IBM was already used in other parts of the business we decided to stick with the same platform.”

Following initial discussions, IBM recommended its Business Partner, GLiNTECH, to deliver an enterprise portal and related content management solution leveraging a shared infrastructure and providing a role-based single point of access for both content and web services.

Vishy Narayanan says, “We knew that the scale of this project was unprecedented, so we needed a partner with ready skills that were quick to deploy, and who could help us manage a roll-out across more than 24 countries in close to 20 different languages.” GLiNTECH helped us to configure and integrate the IBM solution into various back-end systems and develop content structures, sites, portlets and Service Oriented Architecture (SOA).

“The caliber of our GLiNTECH resources was excellent. GLiNTECH provided the perfect blend of expertise and strong relationships with technical professionals in the IBM Labs—who became an invaluable resource for us as we forged new ground”, adds Vishy Narayanan.

Deployment started with Cochlear’s international site acting as a pilot. Vishy Narayanan says that this approach allowed his team to leverage what it learned to tweak the deployment process for the other country sites. It was then able to migrate close to 20 country sites in the second phase, in under a year, which the organization felt was a great result.

Training is key to managing such a large deployment so, in addition to initial familiarization training on using the new platform, Narayanan and his team run weekly forums to share tips and ensure global stakeholders know how to optimize any new functionality to their best advantage.

Results story
Consolidated strategy delivers business benefits

The organization has achieved what is believed to be a first for the medical devices industry—a single platform for a comprehensive, company-wide online strategy.

Vishy Narayanan says, “Cochlear has gone from a collection of 75 websites to just 20—and we are continuously monitoring the number of our websites to ensure it meets business requirements. When we started out there was a lot of concern from our international teams that the final outcome would be inferior to the web platforms they had already created themselves—but the feedback so far has been positive and we continue to look for ways to optimize and improve the platform to deliver a better customer experience.”

A key measurement for Cochlear is increased traffic to its websites. Vishy Narayanan says, “Preliminary results from user testing we ran in Australia and the UK shows a very positive 15 percent increase in web traffic. While the platform is just one part of the puzzle, I believe having consistent content and a uniform look and feel certainly impacted this very positive outcome.”

An example involving a major new product launch, where Cochlear needed to have information about the product live across all country websites in a relatively short period, demonstrated that the challenge—which was significant under Cochlear’s previous content management process proved easy enough on the new platform.

According to Vishy Narayanan, “The medical devices industry is heavily regulated, which means many Cochlear products are not available in all countries at the same time. In addition, the indications and specifications for any product must meet the different legislative requirements of individual countries. This was a critical success factor for us because, no matter how good the platform or the engagement is, it has to deliver what the business needs. With IBM and GLiNTECH’s resources, we achieved what was needed—and on time.”

Cochlear logo
About Cochlear

Headquartered in Sydney, Cochlear Limited is the global leader in implantable hearing solutions. Over 30 years, Cochlear has helped more than a quarter of a million people overcome hearing loss. With more than 2,700 staff in over 100 countries, the company has grown rapidly and is highly respected in the medical industry.

Take the next step

To learn more about IBM Web Content Manager, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner,

Based in Sydney, GLiNTECH is an award-winning Australian IBM Silver Business Partner. Its trained consultants are certified across IBM’s suite of solutions, making them the IT services provider of choice for several large enterprise clients in Australia and across the region. GLiNTECH has operated since 2000. To learn more about GLiNTECH, please visit: www.glintech.com (link resides outside of ibm.com)

View more case studies
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2018. 1 New Orchard Road, Armonk, New York 10504-1722 United States. Produced in the United States of America, November 2018.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and WebSphere, are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at “Copyright and trademark information” at ibm.com/legal/copytrade.shtml.

Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions.

All client examples cited or described are presented as illustrations of the manner in which some clients have used IBM products and the results they may have achieved. Actual environmental costs and performance characteristics will vary depending on individual client configurations and conditions. Contact IBM to see what we can do for you.

It is the user’s responsibility to evaluate and verify the operation of any other products or programs with IBM products and programs.

The client is responsible for ensuring compliance with laws and regulations applicable to it. IBM does not provide legal advice or represent or warrant that its services or products will ensure that the client is in compliance with any law or regulation.

Statement of Good Security Practices: IT system security involves protecting systems and information through prevention, detection and response to improper access from within and outside your enterprise. Improper access can result in information being altered, destroyed, misappropriated or misused or can result in damage to or misuse of your systems, including for use in attacks on others. No IT system or product should be considered completely secure and no single product, service or security measure can be completely effective in preventing improper use or access. IBM systems, products and services are designed to be part of a lawful, comprehensive security approach, which will necessarily involve additional operational procedures, and may require other systems, products or services to be most effective. IBM DOES NOT WARRANT THAT ANY SYSTEMS, PRODUCTS OR SERVICES ARE IMMUNE FROM, OR WILL MAKE YOUR ENTERPRISE IMMUNE FROM, THE MALICIOUS OR ILLEGAL CONDUCT OF ANY PARTY.

Statements regarding IBM’s future direction and intent are subject to change or withdrawal without notice, and represent goals and objectives only.