Capita 如何确保应用程序性能
对混合云中的资源工作负载实施人工智能驱动的自动化
估算您所节省的金额 开始免费试用
一名男士和一名女士在数据中心近距离查看服务器

近年来,公司的扩张以及接二连三的收购给 Capita 的 IT 组织增加了大量复杂工作。在这一系列收购之后,Capita 基础架构运营主管 Jerry Aherne 及其团队的任务是整合各种 IT 服务,通过标准化来精简解决方案。

同时,他们还担负着工程师的培训工作,这些工程师(传统上)习惯于在单一的领域/客户环境中工作。在整个整合过程中,Jerry 的团队需要确保每项技术都经过了适当的管理流程,以确保服务和运营水平达到要求且符合 Capita 的运营模式。

在这个整合过程中,Capita 也将重点转移到了云上。云提供了更敏捷的应用程序交付方法,团队无需担心昂贵的硬件和资本支出,但这种敏捷方法也带来了新的挑战。该团队很快意识到,他们在云之旅中走得越来越远,无法再依赖手动方法来管理资源。

在引入 IBM® Turbonomic® 混合云成本优化解决方案之前,该团队依靠大量电子表格和手动干预来跟踪资源使用情况、虚拟机 (VM) 蔓延和预测。这种手动方法迫使他们在管理资源时非常被动,缺乏主动性,这反过来又导致客户虚拟机以及平台本身更容易出现性能问题。管理一个包含 11,100 个工作负载(5,100 个本地工作负载和 6,000 个公共云工作负载)的环境是一项艰巨的挑战,远非人类能力所及。

高工作负载

 

Capita 依靠 IBM Turbonomic 来确保 11,100 个工作负载的性能

数字化转型

 

Capital 为全球超过 20,000个 客户的数字化转型之旅提供支持

IBM Turbonomic 的自动化平台助力我们企业转变为更敏捷的服务提供者。借此,我们能够做出明智的主动决策,首先确保应用程序性能,同时尽可能降低成本。 Jerry Aherne Head of Infrastructure Operations Capita plc
实施混合云成本优化以确保性能

借助 Turbonomic,Capita 可以将所有托管平台集中到单一视图中,无论这些平台部署在本地还是云中。如此高的可见性使他们能够立即提高主机密度,减少虚拟机蔓延,同时确保应用程序性能。使用 Turbonomic 以应用程序为中心的性能指标,Capita 团队能够构建应用程序拓扑,从而可以自上而下地全面了解其应用程序堆栈。

可见性仅仅是一个开始。下一步是实现自动化资源操作。但是,与引入任何新管理工具一样,快速建立信任是必不可少的。

Jerry 和他的团队从虚拟机放置的自动化入手。随着时间的推移,他们证明了使用 Turbonomic 可以实现完全自动化的正确放置并确定合适的大小。目前,他们依靠 Turbonomic 人工智能驱动的自动化技术来全面管理其 BAU RDS 平台,所有 BAU 团队均使用该平台来管理所有托管资产、客户机环境、网络和存储平台。现在,他们将以初步的胜利作为基准来展示 Turbonomic 如何在不影响性能的情况下帮助减少浪费。

在 IBM Turbonomic 的帮助下,我们的团队减少了在手动流程上花费的时间,而是在服务提升和创新上投入了更多时间。 Jerry Aherne Head of Infrastructure Operations Capita plc
提高自动化在整个企业内的采用率

展望未来,Jerry 和他的团队希望实施更多的自动化用例。他们的目标是预测未来的构建数量和进出其平台的迁移量。他们还希望在本地和云中实现服务器构建自动化。通过扩大 Turbonomic 自动化的应用,让工程师能够摆脱手动流程,从而专注于服务提升以及 Capita 产品进化中的下一步工作。

他们的首要目标是继续提高效率和可靠性、减少事故、推动自动化并实现成本效益,同时提升客户服务。

Capita 徽标
关于 Capita plc

Capita(ibm.com 外部链接)总部位于伦敦,在英国、欧盟、印度和南非设有六个部门,包括软件、技术解决方案、人员解决方案、客户管理、政府服务和专家服务。目前,该公司拥有 61,000 多名员工,2020 年收入约为 33 亿英镑。

采取后续步骤

要详细了解本案例中介绍的 IBM 解决方案,请联系您的 IBM 代表或 IBM 业务合作伙伴。

阅读 PDF 查看更多案例 普罗维登斯

加速云采用,提升医疗保健服务

阅读成功案例
O.C. Tanner

支持开发人员提供有价值的体验

阅读成功案例
Carhartt

一家知名品牌实现了创纪录的节假日销售额

阅读成功案例
法律

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

美国出品,2022 年 7 月。

IBM、IBM 徽标、ibm.com 和 Turbonomic 是 International Business Machines Corp. 在全球许多司法管辖区注册的商标。其他产品和服务名称可能是 IBM 或其他公司的商标。有关 IBM 商标的最新清单,请访问网站 ibm .com/trademark

本文档为自最初公布日期起的最新版本,IBM 可能随时对其进行更改。IBM 并不一定在开展业务的所有国家或地区提供所有产品或服务。

文中引用的性能数据和客户实例仅作说明之用。实际性能结果可能因具体配置和操作条件而异。本文档内的信息“按现状”提供,不附有任何种类的(无论是明示的还是默示的)保证,包括不附有关于适销性、适用于某种特定用途的任何保证以及非侵权的任何保证或条件。IBM 产品根据其提供时所依据的协议条款和条件获得保证。

How Capita assures application performance
Implementing AI-powered automation to resource workloads across hybrid cloud
Estimate your savings Start your free trial
Man and woman looking at servers close up in a datacenter

In recent years, company expansion and successive acquisitions have added a significant amount of complexity to Capita’s IT organization. Following this series of acquisitions, Jerry Aherne, Head of Infrastructure Operations at Capita, and his team, were tasked with integrating a wide range of IT services and standardizing around fewer solutions.

They were simultaneously tasked with onboarding engineers who were (traditionally) accustomed to working in a single domain/customer environment. Throughout this integration process, Jerry’s team needed to ensure each technology had gone through the appropriate governance process to ensure service and operational levels were met and in line with Capita’s operating model.

While this integration process was underway, Capita was also shifting its focus to the cloud. Cloud gave the team a more agile approach to application delivery without the concern of costly hardware and capex spend, but that agile approach introduced new challenges. The team quickly learned they could not rely on their manual approach to managing resources as they moved farther along in their cloud journey.

Before the introduction of the IBM® Turbonomic® hybrid cloud cost optimization solution, the team relied on numerous spreadsheets and manual intervention to track resource consumption, virtual machine (VM) sprawl and forecasting. This manual approach forced them to be very reactive rather than proactive in managing resources, which in turn drove a higher rate of performance issues with both customer VMs as well as the platforms themselves. This challenge of managing an environment containing 11,100 workloads—5,100 on-premises and 6,000 in the public cloud—was beyond human scale.

High workloads

 

Capita relies on IBM Turbonomic to assure the performance of 11,100 workloads

Digital transformation

 

Capita supports the digital transformation journey of over 20,000 customers worldwide

IBM Turbonomic’s automation platform allows us as a business to transform into a more agile service provider. It has allowed us to make informed proactive decisions that ensure application performance is delivered first and foremost whilst also ensuring costs are kept to a minimum. Jerry Aherne Head of Infrastructure Operations Capita plc
Implementing hybrid cloud cost optimization to assure performance

With Turbonomic, the Capita team had a single view of all their hosting platforms regardless of whether they were on premises or cloud. This level of visibility immediately allowed them to drive up host density and reduce VM sprawl whilst ensuring application performance. Using Turbonomic’s application-centric performance metrics, the Capita team was able to build out the applications topologies, giving them a complete view of their application stack from top to bottom.

Visibility was only the beginning. The next step was to implement automated resource actions. But, as with any new management tool that is introduced, trust needed to be established quickly.

Jerry and his team began with the automation of VM placement. In time, they demonstrated that with Turbonomic they could implement full automation of right placement as well as right sizing. Presently, they are relying on Turbonomic’s AI-powered automation to fully manage their BAU RDS platform, which is used by all their BAU teams to manage all their hosting estates, client environments, networks and storage platforms. This initial win is now used as their benchmark to demonstrate how Turbonomic can help reduce waste without compromising performance.

IBM Turbonomic has helped our team reduce the amount of time they spend on manual processes and increase the amount of time they spend on service improvement and innovation. Jerry Aherne Head of Infrastructure Operations Capita plc
Expanding adoption of automation across the organization

As they look to the future, Jerry and his team have additional automation use-cases they want to implement. They aim to forecast future builds and migrations in and out of their platforms. They are also looking toward delivering automation of server builds both on premises and in the cloud. By expanding their use of Turbonomic automation, they aim to empower their engineers to step away from manual processes and concentrate on service improvement and next steps in Capita’s product evolution.

Their overarching goal is to continue to improve efficiency and reliability, reduce incidents, drive automation and deliver cost benefits all while improving the service they deliver to their customers.

Capita logo
About Capita plc

Headquartered in London, Capita (link resides outside of ibm.com) operates in the UK, Europe, India and South Africa across six divisions including Software, Technology Solutions, People Solutions, Customer Management, Government Services and Specialist Services. Today the company has over 61,000 employees and its 2020 revenues were approximately GBP 3.3 billion.

Take the next step

To learn more about the IBM solutions featured in this story, please contact your IBM representative or IBM Business Partner.

Read the PDF View more case stories Providence

Accelerating cloud adoption to enhance healthcare

Read the case study
O.C. Tanner

Enabling developers to deliver rewarding experiences

Read the case study
Carhartt

A legendary brand achieves record holiday sales

Read the case study
Legal

© Copyright IBM Corporation 2022. IBM Corporation, New Orchard Road, Armonk, NY 10504

Produced in the United States of America, July 2022.

IBM, the IBM logo, ibm.com, and Turbonomic are trademarks of International Business Machines Corp., registered in many jurisdictions worldwide. Other product and service names might be trademarks of IBM or other companies. A current list of IBM trademarks is available on the web at ibm.com/trademark.

This document is current as of the initial date of publication and may be changed by IBM at any time. Not all offerings are available in every country in which IBM operates.

The performance data and client examples cited are presented for illustrative purposes only. Actual performance results may vary depending on specific configurations and operating conditions. THE INFORMATION IN THIS DOCUMENT IS PROVIDED “AS IS” WITHOUT ANY WARRANTY, EXPRESS OR IMPLIED, INCLUDING WITHOUT ANY WARRANTIES OF MERCHANTABILITY, FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE AND ANY WARRANTY OR CONDITION OF NON-INFRINGEMENT. IBM products are warranted according to the terms and conditions of the agreements under which they are provided.