Qu'est-ce qu'un modèle météorologique ?
Les modèles météorologiques sont des simulations informatiques de l'atmosphère pour la recherche et les prévisions météorologiques
Découvrez IBM® Environmental Intelligence Suite
Vue d'un rivage pendant un orage avec des éclairs.
Aperçu

Prévoir la météo est un travail difficile. Pour viser juste, les météorologues utilisent des données météorologiques du présent et du passé pour prédire l’état futur de l’atmosphère et son impact sur les phénomènes climatiques. Pour réaliser des prévisions précises, les météorologues recueillent des observations météorologiques sur la température, la pression atmosphérique, l’humidité, les précipitations, la vitesse du vent et d'autres éléments à partir de stations, de satellites et de ballons météorologiques du monde entier. Comme ces conditions météorologiques continuent de changer au fil du temps, la quantité de données générées est stratosphérique.

Pour transformer ces données en prévisions météorologiques précises, il faut modéliser les interactions entre des milliers, voire des millions de variables en flux constant – un calcul connu en mathématiques sous le nom « d'équation différentielle hydrodynamique ». Ces équations mathématiques sont si complexes et impliquent tellement de données qu’elles sont généralement exécutées sur des supercalculateurs.

Les prévisions météorologiques basées sur ces équations sont appelées des prévisions météorologiques numériques, et les programmes informatiques qui les exécutent sont appelés des modèles météorologiques.

Comment fonctionne un modèle météorologique ?

Les modèles météorologiques sont des simulations informatiques de l'atmosphère.

L'atmosphère de la Terre est une couche d'air d'une soixantaine de kilomètres de haut, dans laquelle l'air, un fluide, se déplace selon des relations chimiques et thermodynamiques complexes. En théorie, ces flux d'air peuvent être calculés à l'aide des lois de la physique et des mathématiques, à condition de disposer de suffisamment de données, d'une puissance de calcul adéquat et d'une équation permettant de décrire avec précision l'interaction entre les différents éléments.

C'est sur ces trois éléments que repose tout modèle de prévisions : des données météorologiques, une puissance de calcul suffisante et une équation qui simule les interactions de différentes conditions dans l'atmosphère.

Collecte des données météorologiques

Pour qu’un programme informatique puisse produire des prévisions sur l’état futur de l’atmosphère, il doit d’abord ingérer des données météorologiques actuelles pour la région qui sera décrite par le modèle. On classe généralement les modèles météorologiques en deux catégories : les modèles locaux, axés sur une localisation précise, et les modèles globaux, qui visent à prévoir précisément le temps partout dans le monde.

Ces deux types de modèles utilisent un processus similaire ; seule leur échelle change. Les observations météorologiques sont effectuées à l’aide de stations, de ballons-sondes, de bouées, de radars, de satellites météorologiques et plus encore. Ces instruments permettent de recueillir des données sur les orages et les précipitations, la vitesse et la direction du vent, la température et la pression de l’air et bien d'autres éléments. Ces données initiales, issues d’un instant T, sont appelées les « conditions initiales » du modèle. Elles sont mises à jour périodiquement à intervalles réguliers.

Points de grille

Les données de ces conditions initiales sont regroupées dans une grille, un ensemble tridimensionnel de points qui couvre la région du modèle et s'étend vers le haut dans l'atmosphère. Les points sur la grille ne représentent pas le lieu où les observations météo ont été réalisées. Ils sont générés par ordinateur et forment un ensemble d'emplacements équidistants dans des directions horizontales et verticales. À chaque point de la grille, le programme informatique exécute le modèle pour générer une prévision numérique propre à cet emplacement, et ce processus est répété jusqu'à ce que les calculs soient effectués pour l'ensemble de la grille.

À partir de ces conditions initiales, le modèle peut avancer graduellement dans le temps pour commencer à prédire les flux de l'atmosphère et les conditions météorologiques qui peuvent en résulter.

Le nombre de points dans la grille et l'espace entre chaque point affectent la précision du modèle de prévision : un modèle avec un nombre élevé de points de grille est dit « haute résolution » et offre une précision accrue, mais cela nécessite une puissance de calcul plus élevée.1

Puissance de calcul

Même les modèles de prévision les plus simples utilisent des équations mathématiques complexes, et plus un modèle utilise de données, plus il y a de puissance informatique nécessaire. Les modèles de prévision les plus sophistiqués et les plus précis au monde, comme le modèle ECMWF et le High-Resolution Rapid Refresh (HRRR) utilisé par la NOAA, tournent sur des supercalculateurs capables d'effectuer 12 quadrillions de calculs par seconde.2 En revanche, les modèles météorologiques plus simples avec moins de points de données sont moins gourmands en puissance de calcul et n'ont pas besoin d'être exécutés sur des supercalculateurs.3

Prévision d'ensemble

La météo est ce que l'on appelle un système chaotique : comme elle implique de nombreuses variables interdépendantes, les petites variations dans les conditions initiales, p. ex. une différence de 300 m/h dans la vitesse du vent, peuvent vite s'enchaîner et avoir des effets importants sur le reste du système, ce qui rend ses comportements difficiles à prévoir au fil du temps.

En raison du nombre de variables et d'inconnues impliquées dans un système météorologique, les scientifiques s'appuient souvent sur ce qu'on appelle une « prévision d'ensemble ». Dans les prévisions d'ensemble, plusieurs exécutions d'un même modèle sont effectuées, chacune avec des paramètres différents, pour tenir compte des incertitudes existantes. Cet ensemble complet de ces prévisions peut être utilisé pour modéliser une plage d'états futurs potentiels pour l'atmosphère et ainsi fournir une prévision probabiliste du temps à venir.4

Pourquoi existe-t-il différents modèles ?

Les météorologues utilisent un vaste éventail de modèles pour prédire le temps, souvent en fonction de ce qu'ils souhaitent prévoir exactement. En effet, un modèle local limité à une région précise fournira des informations très différentes de celles d'un modèle global couvrant toute la Terre. Chaque modèle météorologique implique des choix quant aux données à inclure, aux équations mathématiques qui créeront les meilleures simulations des phénomènes atmosphériques et à la manière de hiérarchiser les types de prévisions les plus importants.

Aucun modèle ne peut prévoir tous les phénomènes météorologiques avec une grande justesse. Aussi, les météorologues élaborent leur modèle autour des informations qu'ils souhaitent prédire : ils doivent faire le bon choix pour obtenir un résultat aussi précis que possible.Par exemple, les modèles conçus pour fournir des prévisions très précises à court terme (jusqu'à 3 jours), à moyen terme (3-15 jours) et à long terme (10 jours à 2 ans) requièrent des approches différentes.Un expert cherchant à établir des prévisions à court terme privilégiera ainsi un modèle de méso-échelle, qui intègre des informations recueillies à des points situés jusqu'à 1 000 km d'altitude dans l'atmosphère, car ce type de données permet d'établir des prévisions à court terme plus précises. Pour des prévisions à long terme plus fiables, un météorologue peut préférer un modèle sans méso-échelle, qui exclut les observations météorologiques de l'atmosphère de haute altitude.

Les météorologues cherchent toujours à améliorer les modèles existants et peuvent créer de nouveaux modèles informatiques pour la recherche et les prévisions météorologiques. Les équations mathématiques de modèle étant censées être des simulations de l'atmosphère, les scientifiques testent et ajustent leurs algorithmes pour déterminer ceux qui permettent d'obtenir les prévisions météorologiques les plus précises. Certaines de ces formules sont open source et d'autres sont propriétaires.

Quels sont les modèles météorologiques le plus connus ?

Les deux modèles mondiaux les plus connus sont le modèle Global Forecast System (GFS) du National Weather Service et le modèle ECMWF (European Center for Medium-Range Weather Forecast), plus communément appelés modèle américain et modèle européen.

Le GFS est mis à jour quatre fois par jour et offre des prévisions sur 16 jours. L'ECMWF ne se met à jour que deux fois par jour et fournit des prévisions sur 10 jours, mais sa résolution est supérieure et, historiquement, il génère des prévisions plus précises que le GFS.

Un autre modèle de prévision bien connu est le modèle nord-américain à méso-échelle (NAM), un modèle régional à court terme qui couvre toute l'Amérique du Nord et génère des prévisions à 61 heures. Le NAM est construit sur le modèle Weather Research and Forecasting (WRF), un modèle de prévision open source qui alimente également deux modèles largement utilisés gérés par la NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration) : le Rapid Refresh (RR ou RAP) et le High Resolution Rapid Refresh (HRRR).

Il existe d'autres modèles météorologiques, comme celui du Centre météorologique canadien (CMC), du Met Office britannique, du Service météorologique allemand (DWD), du Bureau of Meteorology australien (BoM) et bien d'autres. Chaque modèle est conçu pour établir des prévisions précises qui se concentrent sur différents éléments, intègrent différentes données et emploient différentes équations mathématiques pour produire le type de précision souhaité. Chaque modèle offre son lot d'avantages et d'inconvénients.

Produits et services connexes 
IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 

Obtenez des informations relatives au climat et à la météo pour anticiper les conditions environnementales perturbatrices, gérer les risques de manière proactive et développer des opérations plus durables. 

Explorer IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 

IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite : services de données environnementales

Anticipez les événements météorologiques extrêmes pour vous y préparer en utilisant les données météorologiques les plus précises au monde

Découvrez la suite IBM Environmental Intelligence : services de données environnementales

The Weather Company, une entreprise IBM

Des produits de prévisions météorologiques précis pour aider tous les secteurs à prendre des décisions commerciales plus rapides et plus intelligentes

Explorer The Weather Company
Ressources Le besoin croissant de solutions d'intelligence environnementale

Les événements météorologiques violents et les perturbations climatiques peuvent affecter votre résultat net. Mais vous pouvez agir pour atténuer les risques.

IBM et la NASA s’associent pour faire de nouvelles découvertes concernant notre planète

Les recherches de la NASA visent à développer des modèles adaptables et réutilisables facilitant l’exploitation de vastes jeux de données pour en tirer des connaissances qui font avancer la science et nous aident à nous adapter à un environnement en constante évolution.

Le changement climatique est là. Comment l’IA peut-elle nous aider à nous adapter ?

Canicules étouffantes, inondations dévastatrices et feux de forêt incontrôlables : les répercussions du changement climatique se font sentir.

Les données sont essentielles à la gestion intelligente des actifs

Pour avoir une longueur d'avance dans un environnement en mutation rapide, les entreprises industrielles s'appuient de plus en plus sur l'intégration de la technologie opérationnelle avec les données informatiques.

Données géospatiales : une vue d’ensemble

Les événements météorologiques extrêmes record sont désormais des rappels constants que nos modes de vie, notre économie mondiale et l'environnement sont inextricablement liés.

Prévision des coupures de courant

Les entreprises de services publics ont besoin de données météorologiques pour savoir quand mobiliser leurs équipes.

Étapes suivantes

Vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur la façon dont IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite peut vous aider à prévoir et à atténuer les événements météorologiques extrêmes ?

Demander une démo en direct Commencer l'essai gratuit de 30 jours
Notes de bas de page

Weather Models, National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, 18 mai 2023. (lien externe à ibm.com)
Charlotte Hu, NOAA’s powerful new weather forecasting supercomputers are now online, Popular Science, 30 juin 2022. (lien externe à ibm.com)
Steve Brenner, What are the WRF - ARW weather model hardware and software requirements?, Research Gate, 2015. (lien externe à ibm.com)
About Models, National Weather Service. (lien externe à ibm.com)

What are weather models?
Explore IBM's weather models Subscribe to Sustainability Updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of face profile, leaf, cloud
What are weather models?

Weather models are computer simulations of the atmosphere for weather research and forecasting.

Weather forecasting is hard. To make accurate forecasts, meteorologists use weather data from the present, and from the past, to predict the future state of the atmosphere and its impact on weather patterns. But what weather data is needed to make an accurate forecast? Meteorologists collect weather observations on temperature, air pressure, humidity, precipitation, wind speed and more, from weather stations, weather satellites and weather balloons all over the world. As these weather conditions continue to change over time, this results in a massive amount of data.

Turning this data into an accurate weather forecast requires modelling the interactions between thousands or even millions of variables that are in a constant state of flux—a computation that, in mathematics, is known as a “hydrodynamic differential equation.” These mathematical equations are so complex and involve so much data that they are run on supercomputers.

Weather forecasting based on these equations is called numerical weather prediction, and the computer programs that run them are called weather models.

Delve into our exclusive guide to the EU's CSRD

With ESG disclosures starting as early as 2025 for some companies, make sure that you're prepared with our guide.

Related content

Register for the ebook on GHG emissions accounting

How does a weather model work?

Weather models are computer simulations of the atmosphere.

The Earth's atmosphere is a layer of air roughly sixty miles high, in which the air—a fluid—moves from one place to another as a result of complex chemical, thermodynamic and fluid dynamics. In theory, these flows of air can be calculated by using laws of physics and mathematics—if one has enough data, computing power and an equation that can accurately describe the interplay between the different elements.

These are the three integral parts of any weather forecasting model: weather data, computing power and a mathematical equation that simulates the interactions of different weather conditions in the atmosphere.

Collection of weather data

For a computer program to output predictions about the future state of the atmosphere, first it needs the input of current weather data for the region that will be described by the model. Generally, weather models come in two types—local models, which focus on a specific location, and global models, which aim to give accurate forecasts of weather across the planet.

Both types of models use a similar process; the difference is scale. Weather observations are made with weather stations, weather balloons, buoys, radar, weather satellites and more, and data is collected on precipitation and thunderstorms, wind speed and direction, air temperature and pressure, and so on. These initial data, taken from one snapshot of time, are called the “initial conditions” of the model. This initial data is updated periodically, in regular recurring time steps.

Grid points

The data from these initial conditions are arrayed into a grid—a three-dimensional set of points that cover the region of the model and extend upward into the atmosphere. The grid points are not the points where weather observations were made; rather, they are a computer-generated set of locations, spatially equidistant and running in horizontal and vertical directions. At each grid point, the computer program runs a model run to generate a numerical forecast for that location, and the process is repeated for each grid point until calculations have been made for the entire grid.

From these initial conditions, the model can then make incremental time steps forward to begin predicting the flows of the atmosphere and the weather conditions that may result.

The number of grid points and the space between each grid point affect the accuracy of the forecast model: a model with a high number of grid points is called “high resolution” and has improved accuracy, but higher-resolution grids also require more computational power.1

Computing power

Even the simplest forecast models make use of complicated mathematical equations, and the more data a model uses, the more computing power it requires. The most sophisticated and accurate forecast models in the world—like the European Center for Medium-Range Weather Forecas (ECMWF) or the High-Resolution Rapid Refresh (HRRR) used by NOAA—run on supercomputers that can perform 12 quadrillion calculations each second.2 But simpler weather models with fewer data points need less computing power, and don't need to be run on supercomputers.3

Ensemble Forecasting

Weather is what is known as a chaotic system; it involves so many interrelated variables, small variances in initial conditions—say, the difference between a wind speed measured at 4 mph versus 4.2 mph—can multiply quickly and have large effects on the rest of the system, making its behaviors challenging to predict over time.

Because of the number of variables and unknowns involved in a weather system, meteorologists often rely on what is called an "ensemble forecast." In ensemble forecasts, multiple model runs are performed, each with different parameters, to account for uncertainties. The complete set of these forecasts—the ensemble—can be used to model the range of possible future states of the atmosphere and provide a probabilistic forecast of future weather.4

Why are there different models?

Meteorologists use many different models for weather forecasting, often depending on what exactly they are hoping to forecast. A local model run over a specific region provides very different information than a global model that spans the Earth. Each weather model involves choices about what data to include, what mathematical equations will create the best simulations of atmospheric phenomena, and how to prioritize what types of forecasts are most important.

No model can forecast every weather event with high accuracy. Instead, meteorologists make choices about what they want to predict and design the model to have high accuracy for that kind of result. One kind of accuracy may come at the expense of other kinds. For example, models are designed to have high accuracy for either short-range forecasts (up to 3 days ahead), medium-range forecasts (3–15 days ahead) or long-range forecasts (10 days to 2 years ahead), and each type requires different choices. A meteorologist seeking a short-term forecast might choose to use a mesoscale model, which incorporates weather data collected from points as high as 1000 km up in the atmosphere, because this mesoscale data produces more accurate short-term forecasts. For a more reliable long-range forecast, a meteorologist might prefer a non-mesoscale model—one that excludes weather observations from the high-altitude atmosphere.

Meteorologists are always looking to improve on existing weather models and might create new computer models for weather research and forecasting. Because the mathematical equations of the model are meant to be simulations of the atmosphere, meteorologists test and adjust algorithms to see which ones result the most accurate weather forecasting. Some of these formulas are open source and others are proprietary.

What are some well-known weather models?

The two best-known global models are the National Weather Service’s Global Forecast System (GFS) model and the European Center for Medium-Range Weather Forecast (ECMWF) model, known more commonly as the American Model and the European Model.

The GFS updates four times per day and forecasts out to sixteen days. The ECMWF updates only twice a day and generates a 10-day forecast, but is higher resolution than the GFS and has, historically, generated more accurate forecasts.

Another well-known forecast model is the North American Mesoscale Model (NAM), a short-range regional model that covers all of North America and generates forecasts 61 hours out. NAM is built upon the Weather Research and Forecasting (WRF) model, an open-source forecast model that also powers two widely used models run by the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA): the Rapid Refresh (RR or RAP) model and the HRRR.

There are other weather models: the Canadian Meteorological Centre (CMC) model, UK Met Office model, German Weather Service (DWD) model, Australian Bureau of Meteorology (BoM) model, and many more. Each different model is designed to make accurate forecasts that focus on different things, incorporate different data and calculate with different mathematical equations to produce the best wanted kind of accuracy. Each has its own strengths and its own limitations.

Related products and services 
IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 

Gain climate and weather insights to anticipate disruptive environmental conditions, proactively manage risk and build more sustainable operations.

Explore IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite 

IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite: Environmental data services

Plan and prepare for extreme weather events by using the most accurate weather data in the world.

Explore the IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite: Environmental data services

The Weather Company, an IBM Business

Accurate weather forecasting products to help every industry make faster, smarter business decisions.

Explore The Weather Company
Resources The increasing need for environmental intelligence solutions

Severe weather events and climate-related disruptions can affect your bottom line. But there are things you do to mitigate the risks.

IBM and NASA team up to spur new discoveries about our planet

NASA research seeks tunable, reusable foundation models that make it easier to mine vast datasets for new knowledge to advance science and help us adapt to a changing environment.

Climate change is here. How can AI help us adapt?

Crippling heat waves, devastating floods and uncontrollable wildfires. The repercussions of climate change have arrived.

Data is key to intelligent asset management

To get ahead in a rapidly shifting environment, industrial businesses are leaning more on integrating operational technology with IT data.

Geospatial data: the really big picture

Record-setting extreme weather events are now constant reminders that our people, our global economy and the environment are inextricably linked.

Outage prediction

Utility companies need weather-related data to know when—and when not to—mobilize.

Take the next step

IBM Environmental Intelligence Suite is a SaaS platform used to monitor, predict and respond to weather and climate impact. It includes geospatial and weather data APIs and optional add-ons with industry-specific environmental models—so your business can anticipate disruptive environmental conditions, proactively manage risk and build more sustainable operations.

Explore Environmental Intelligence Suite Book a live demo
Footnotes

Weather Models (link resides outside ibm.com), National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration, May 18, 2023
Charlotte Hu, NOAA’s powerful new weather forecasting supercomputers are now online (link resides outside ibm.com), Popular Science, June 30, 2022
Steve Brenner, What are the WRF - ARW weather model hardware and software requirements? (link resides outside ibm.com), Research Gate, 2015
About Models (link resides outside ibm.com), National Weather Service