主页 topics 自然相关财务信息披露工作组 什么是自然相关财务信息披露工作组 (TNFD)?
探索 IBM Envizi 阅读气候变化报告
山脉、树木、丘陵和其他自然元素

发布日期:2024 年 3 月 18 日
撰稿人:Tom Krantz、Alexandra Jonker

什么是 TNFD?

TNFD 是一项全球倡议,它旨在为世界各地的政府、企业和金融机构提供有关其对大自然的影响和依赖的报告指导。TNFD 由一个专门的工作组进行领导,而该工作组由 40 名成员组成,其成员成份涵盖各种金融机构、企业和营销服务提供商。

TNFD 的使命是借助企业报告来提供有关与自然相关的各种问题的科学洞察分析。其愿景则是:通过提供更多切实可行的信息,方便组织将环境考虑因素整合到其业务战略、决策和报告中。凭借顶尖科学与保护组织的投入和专业知识,TNFD 定义了与可持续发展报告的全球基线标准相一致的关键概念。

气候风险适应指南
“TNFD 建议”的内容是什么?

2023 年 9 月 18 日,TNFD 发布了与自然相关的自愿披露框架的最终版本(即,“TNFD 建议”)。“TNFD 建议”旨在帮助组织报告和处理不断变化且与自然相关的各种问题,并最终推动将资金流用于对自然有益的成果。

该框架可与现有的 ESG 报告框架以及日益增多的国际监管要求协同发力。其中包括国际可持续发展准则理事会 (ISSB) 近期发布的可持续发展信息披露,以及气候相关财务信息披露工作组 (TCFD) 制定的气候信息披露。

“TNFD 建议”旨在实现跨部门、地区、司法管辖区和不同规模组织的信息披露。迄今为止,已有超过 46 个国家/地区的 320 个组织承诺会按“TNFD 建议”来兑现与自然相关的信息披露。1

“TNFD 建议”明确了与自然相关的四个问题,而这些问题必须进行妥善管理,且可能会通过报告形式向利益相关者进行披露。

  1. 依赖:指组织对大自然的依赖。
  2. 影响:指组织对大自然造成的影响。
  3. 风险:指组织因其依赖和影响而产生的风险。
  4. 机遇:指组织对自然施加积极影响的机遇。

“TNFD 建议”的信息层次结构可按从上至下的顺序细分为:基础支柱、一般要求、建议和指导。

 

“TND 建议”的基础支柱

TNFD 会围绕与 TCFD 框架相同的四大支柱来构建其建议,但所用视角则为自然视角:

管制

披露组织对与自然相关的依赖、影响、风险和机遇的治理情况。 

策略

披露与自然相关的依赖、影响、风险和机遇对组织的业务模式、战略和财务规划所造成的影响(如果此类信息很重要)。

风险与影响管理

描述组织用于识别、评估、优先排序和监控与自然相关的依赖、影响、风险和机遇的流程。

指标和目标

披露用于评估和管理与自然相关的重大依赖、影响、风险和机遇的相关指标和目标。

“TND 建议”的一般要求

“TNFD 建议”包含六项一般要求。它们是对 ISSB 准则《IFRS-S1》和《IFRS-S2》中所规定内容的补充。具体而言,这些要求为:

  1. 对重要性的运用
  2. 披露的范围
  3. 与自然相关的问题的出现地点
  4. 与其他可持续发展相关信息披露的整合
  5. 纳入考虑的时间范围
  6. 原住民、当地社区和受影响的利益相关者对共同识别和评估组织的自然相关问题的参与情况
“TNFD 建议”的披露建议和指南

“TNFD 建议”概述了 14 项披露建议,以便公司将其与财务报表一同纳入。这些建议涵盖了全部四大支柱。在这 14 项建议中,有 11 项反映了 TCFD 的披露框架,并提供了一般性实施指导。但是,TNFD 添加了三项与自然相关的建议,而这些建议旨在倡导实现:

  • 组织的人权政策和参与活动,以及董事会在评估与自然相关的依赖、影响、风险和机遇时涉及原住民的监督职责。
  • 受到大自然影响或是会与大自然产生交织的资产和/或活动的重要敏感位置(或“优先位置”)。
  • 该组织在其上游与下游价值链中用于识别、评估和优先考虑与自然相关的依赖、影响、风险和机遇的各项流程。
    TNFD 补充指南包括哪些内容?

    针对希望识别和评估与自然相关的问题、开展情景分析以及更好地融入原住民、当地社区和受影响的利益相关者的市场参与者,TNFD 起草了相应的补充指南。

    此外,TNFD 还提出了在某些细分行业和生物群落中开展运营时应考虑的因素。《行业指南》涵盖从石油和天然气到食品和农业的九个行业,并根据 TNFD 披露提供了相关建议。《生物群落指南》则着眼于陆地、淡水与海洋环境,并为每个生态系统提供了建议的披露。

    TNFD 框架包含了一个用于评估和管理自然风险与机遇的四阶段方法。此方法被称为 LEAP 方法,其含义为:

    查找

    确定跨地域、细分行业和价值链的自然交汇点。

    评估

    评估对大自然的依赖和影响。

    评估

    评估组织面临的与自然相关的风险和机遇。

    准备

    准备应对与自然相关的风险和机遇,包括报告与自然相关的重大问题。

    “TNFD 建议”和个别报告提供了补充指南。2截至撰写本文时,TNFD 的行业特定指南会在 3 月 29 日截止日期之前持续开放咨询。

    应如何衡量与自然相关的指标?

    “TNFD 建议”提供了一个全面的指标架构来协调与自然相关问题关联的众多指标。指标可分为两类:核心指标和其他指标。

    核心指标可通过一个全局的细分范围进行衡量,并可用于评估和管理与自然相关的重大因素。通过结合 ISSB 与 TCFD 建议,它可鼓励组织根据所有核心指标进行报告,并在存在关联时纳入其他行业特定指标。此外,TNFD 还建议披露与自然相关的目标设定,而这应按“科学目标网络”的指导来完成。3

    为什么企业应遵循“TND 建议”?

    2022 年 12 月,近 200 个国家的政府承诺根据“昆明-蒙特利尔全球生物多样性框架 (GBF)”到 2030 年遏制并扭转自然与生物多样性的丧失问题。具体而言,GBF 的“目标 15”呼吁企业“监控、评估并透明地披露其风险、依赖关系以及对生物多样性造成的影响。4 次年,CDP 发布的数据显示,在 2022 年,通过 CDP 披露数据的公司中有近 70% 没有评估其价值链对生物多样性造成的影响。5

    根据“世界经济论坛”的报告,环境与气候风险是企业高管在未来十年中所面临的最大威胁。6同时,它们也是高管最棘手的风险所在。人们越来越担心如今的公司、投资者和贷款机构并不了解他们对自然的依赖和影响,虽然与自然丧失相关的风险正日益加剧。因此,他们在决策时可能并未充分考虑与自然相关的风险和机遇。

    “TNFD 建议”可为企业提供重要信息来完善其风险管理战略,从而应对日益加剧的气候变化和自然丧失。理想情况下,凭借更出色的洞察分析,组织可将全球资本的资金流转向对自然和社会更具正面价值的结果中。

    为什么大自然很重要?

    简而言之,地球上每个生物的生计都有赖于大自然。

    根据 TND 的说法,大自然由四个领域组成:陆地、海洋、淡水和大气。每个领域均有各自的生态系统或生物群落(如热带森林或沙漠),且拥有各自的生物多样性和自然资本。这些生物群落可提供“生态系统服务”(如食物、淡水和天然药物),而这些服务对于维持一个健康、可持续的生态系统至关重要。

    然而,大自然目前正以前所未有的速度恶化。由于森林砍伐等人类活动,地球的生物多样性正在迅速衰退,随之而来的便是社会所仰赖的那些生态系统服务。这一危局不仅会威胁到人类,还会威胁到经济体的存亡,会引发可能会削弱整个全球供应链的金融风险。

    企业和金融机构可对大自然施加积极或消极的影响。TNFD 的报告与指标框架便反映了这一点。该框架超越了减轻不利影响这一范畴,并强调了有哪些机遇可通过保护和恢复以市场为主导的举措来实现对自然有益的结果。

    相关解决方案
    IBM Envizi 

    简化环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 数据的采集、整合、管理、分析和报告流程。

    探索 IBM Envizi

    资源 什么是 TCFD?

    气候相关财务信息披露工作组 (TCFD) 负责制定气候相关信息披露,以便公司和金融机构能更好地告知投资者、股东和公众与气候相关的财务风险。

    什么是 PCAF?

    碳核算金融合作伙伴关系 (PCAF) 是一个由金融机构组成的全球联盟,致力于创建一种同步方法来评估和披露与其贷款和投资相关的温室气体 (GHG) 排放量。

    什么是 SASB?

    可持续发展会计准则委员会 (SASB) 负责制定并维护行业特定标准,指导公司向投资者和其他金融利益相关者披露财务重大可持续发展信息。

    采取后续步骤

    利用 IBM Envizi ESG Suite 简化环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 数据的采集、整合、管理、分析和报告。

    深入了解 Envizi 预约实时演示
    脚注

    1320 家公司和金融机构即将启动 TNFD 自然相关公司报告(ibm.com 外部链接),自然相关财务信息披露工作组,2024 年 1 月 16 日。

    2出版物(ibm.com 外部链接),自然相关财务信息披露工作组。

    3采取行动(ibm.com 外部链接),“科学目标网络”。

    4目标 15(ibm.com 外部链接),《生物多样性公约》。

    5虽然即将出台法规,但各大公司未能就自然与气候问题与供应商开展合作(ibm.com 外部链接),CDP,Aslan,Sheriden,2023 年 3 月 15 日。

    6全球风险报告(ibm.com 外部链接),世界经济论坛,2024 年 1 月。

What is the Taskforce on Nature-related Financial Disclosures (TNFD)?
Explore IBM Envizi Read the climate change report
Mountains, trees, hills and other natural elements

Published: March 18, 2024
Contributors: Tom Krantz, Alexandra Jonker

What is the TNFD?

The TNFD is a global initiative that provides governments, businesses and financial institutions around the world with reporting guidance regarding their impact and dependencies on nature. The TNFD is led by the Taskforce, a group comprised of 40 members spanning various financial institutions, corporations and marketing service providers. 

The mission of the TNFD is to provide science-based insights on nature-related issues through corporate reporting. The hope is that with more actionable information, organizations can integrate environmental considerations into their business strategies, decision-making and reporting. With input and expertise from leading scientific and conservation organizations, the TNFD defines key concepts aligned with the global baseline for sustainability reporting.

Climate Risk Adaptation Guide
What are the TNFD Recommendations?

On September 18, 2023, the TNFD published the final version of its framework for voluntary nature-related disclosures (the “TNFD Recommendations”). The TNFD Recommendations are designed to help organizations report and act on evolving nature-related issues, and ultimately move financial flows towards nature-positive outcomes.

The framework works in conjunction with existing ESG reporting frameworks and the growing body of international regulatory requirements. This includes the sustainability disclosures recently published by the International Sustainability Standards Board (ISSB) and the climate disclosures developed by the Taskforce on Climate-related Financial Disclosure (TCFD).

The TNFD Recommendations are designed for use across sectors, regions, jurisdictions and organizations of every size. So far, 320 organizations from over 46 countries have committed to provide nature-related disclosures in line with the TNFD Recommendations.1

The TNFD Recommendations identify four nature-related issues that must be managed and potentially disclosed to stakeholders through reporting.

  1. Dependencies: Refers to an organization’s dependency on nature.
  2. Impacts: Refers to an organization’s impact on nature.
  3. Risks: Refers to an organization’s risks stemming from their dependencies and impacts.
  4. Opportunities: Refers to the opportunities for an organization to have a positive impact on nature.

The information hierarchy of the TNFD’s Recommendations can be broken down from top-to-bottom as: foundational pillars, general requirements, recommendations and guidance.

 

The TNFD Recommendation’s foundational pillars

The TNFD structures its recommendations around the same four pillars that the TCFD framework does, but through the lens of nature:

Governance

Disclosing the organization’s governance of nature-related dependencies, impacts, risk and opportunities.   

Strategy

Disclosing the effects of nature-related dependencies, impacts, risks and opportunities on the organization’s business model, strategy and financial planning where such information is material.

Risk and impact management

Describing the process used by the organization to identify, assess, prioritize and monitor nature-related dependencies, impacts, risks and opportunities.

Metrics and targets

Disclosing the metrics and targets used to assess and manage material nature-related dependencies, impacts, risk and opportunities.

The TNFD Recommendation’s general requirements

There are six general requirements included in the TNFD Recommendations. These are in addition to the provisions laid out in the ISSB’s standards, IFRS-S1 and IFRS-S2. The requirements are:

  1. The application of materiality
  2. The scope of disclosure
  3. The location of nature-related issues
  4. Integration with other sustainability-related disclosure
  5. The time horizons considered
  6. The engagement of Indigenous Peoples, local communities and affected stakeholders in the identification and assessment of the organization’s nature-related issues
The TNFD Recommendation’s disclosure recommendations and guidance

The TNFD Recommendations outline fourteen disclosure recommendations for companies to include alongside their financial statements. These span all four pillars. Out of the fourteen recommendations, eleven mirror the TCFD’s disclosure framework and provide general guidance for implementation. However, the TNFD added three nature-related recommendations which call for:

  • The organization’s human rights policies and engagement activities, and oversight by the board with respect to Indigenous Peoples in the assessment of nature-related dependencies, impacts risk and opportunities.
  • Material and sensitive locations (or “priority locations”) of assets and/or activities affected by, or interfacing with nature.
  • The organization’s processes for identifying, assessing and prioritizing nature-related dependencies, impacts, risks and opportunities in their upstream and downstream value chains.
    What’s covered in the TNFD additional guidance?

    The TNFD drafted additional guidance for market participants looking to identify and assess nature-related issues, conduct scenario analysis and better engage with Indigenous People, local communities and affected stakeholders.

    The TNFD also put forth considerations when operating in certain sectors and biomes. Sector guidance spans nine industries, from oil and gas to food and agriculture, and provides recommendations based on the TNFD disclosures. Biome guidance looks at land, freshwater and ocean environments and provides recommended disclosures for each ecosystem.

    Included in the TNFD framework is a four-stage approach for assessing and managing nature risks and opportunities. The methodology is referred to as the LEAP approach, which stands for: 

    Locate

    Locate the interfaces with nature across geographies, sectors and value chains.

    Evaluate 

    Evaluate dependencies and impacts on nature.

    Assess

    Assess nature-related risks and opportunities to your organization.

    Prepare

    Prepare to respond to nature-related risks and opportunities, including reporting on material nature-related issues.

    Additional guidance can be found in the TNFD’s Recommendations, as well as individual reports.2 As of writing this article, the TNFD’s sector-specific guidance is open for consultation until the March 29th deadline. 

    How should nature-related metrics be measured?

    The TNFD Recommendations provide a comprehensive metrics architecture to reconcile the multitude of indicators associated with nature-related issues. Metrics are broken down into two categories: core metrics and additional metrics. 

    Core metrics are measured on a global and sector scale and are used to assess and manage material, nature-related factors. Working in tandem with the ISSB and TCFD recommendations, organizations are encouraged to report against all core metrics and include additional industry-specific metrics where relevant. The TNFD also recommends disclosure around nature-related target setting, which should be done in accordance with the Science Based Target Network’s guidance.3

    Why should businesses align with the TNFD Recommendations?

    In December 2022, nearly 200 governments committed to halt and reverse nature and biodiversity loss by 2030 under the Kunmig-Montreal Global Biodiversity Framework (GBF). Specifically, Target 15 of the GBF calls for busiensses to "monitor, assess and transparently disclose their risks, dependencies and impacts on biodiveristy.4 The next year, data released by CDP showed nearly 70% of companies disclosing data through CDP did not assess the impact of their value chain on biodiversity in 2022.5

    Environmental and climate risks are the most significant threats executives face over the next decade, according to the World Economic Forum.6 They’re also the risks that executives are least prepared to deal with. There is a growing concern that companies, investors and lenders today do not understand their dependencies and impacts on nature despite the growing risks associated with nature loss. As a result, they may not be adequately accounting for nature-related risks and opportunities in their decision-making.

    The TNFD's Recommendations offer businesses material information to refine their risk management strategy in the face of accelerating climate change and nature loss. Ideally, with better insights, organizations can shift the financial flow of global capital to more positive outcomes for nature and society. 

    Why nature matters

    In short, the livelihood of every living creature on Earth depends on nature.

    According to the TNFD, nature is made up of four realms: land, ocean, freshwater and atmosphere. Each realm has its own ecosystem, or biome (such as tropical forests or deserts), with its own biological diversity and natural capital. These biomes provide “ecosystem services,” such as food, freshwater and natural medicines that are essential to maintaining a healthy, sustainable ecosystem.  

    And yet, nature is deteriorating at an unprecedented pace. The biodiversity of the planet is declining rapidly due to human activities like deforestation, and with it are the ecosystem services that society depends upon. This threatens not only people but economies on an existential scale, introducing financial risks that can cripple entire global supply chains.

    Businesses and financial institutions can have a positive or negative impact on nature. The TNFD's framework for reporting and metrics reflects this. It goes beyond adverse impact mitigation and highlights opportunities to deliver nature-positive outcomes through market-led initiatives like conservation and restoration. 

    Related solutions
    IBM Envizi 

    Simplify the capture, consolidation, management, analysis and reporting of your ESG data.

    Explore IBM Envizi

    Resources What is the TCFD?

    The Taskforce on Climate-related Financial Disclosures (TCFD) develops climate-related disclosures so that companies and financial institutions can better inform investors, shareholders and the public of their climate-related financial risks.

    What is the PCAF?

    The Partnership for Carbon Accounting Financials (PCAF) is a global coalition of financial institutions working to create a synchronized approach for assessing and disclosing greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions associated with their loans and investments.

    What is the SASB?

    The Sustainability Accounting Standards Board (SASB) creates and maintains industry-specific standards that guide companies' disclosure of financially material sustainability information to investors and other financial stakeholders.

    Take the next step

    Simplify the capture, consolidation, management, analysis and reporting of your environmental, social and governance (ESG) data with IBM Envizi ESG Suite.

    Explore Envizi Book a live demo
    Footnotes

    1320 companies and financial institutions to start TNFD nature-related corporate reporting (link resides outside ibm.com), Taskforce on Nature-Related Financial Disclosures, 16 January, 2024.

    2Publications (link resides outside ibm.com), Taskforce on Nature-Related Financial Disclosures.

    3Take action (link resides outside ibm.com), Science Based Targets Network.

    4Target 15 (link resides outside ibm.com), Convention on Biological Diversity.

    5Companies failing to engage suppliers on nature and climate despite incoming regulation (link resides outside ibm.com), CDP, Aslan, Sheriden, 15 March, 2023.

    6The Global Risk Report (link resides outside ibm.com), World Economic Forum, January 2024.