什么是供应链透明度?
探索 IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite 开始 30 天免费试用
复杂供应链要素图示


发布日期:2023 年 12 月 5 日
撰稿人:Amanda McGrath、Alexandra Jonker

什么是供应链透明度?

供应链透明度使企业和消费者能够了解商品的生产和分销方式。 这包括了解产品的生产地点和方式、涉及的用工做法、产品从源头到消费者的历程,以及在此过程中对环境造成的任何影响。

在日益复杂的全球经济中,要了解产品从打造到消费的所有步骤变得更加困难。供应链透明度旨在让人们更好地了解流程中每个环节的信息,使产品背后的公司以及购买产品的消费者都能从中受益。

供应链可见性的概念主要是指企业内部查看供应链信息的能力,即企业有一个了解供应链内所有活动的窗口。然而,透明度不仅限于内部知识。供应链透明度不仅涉及企业本身获取信息,还涉及让外部利益相关者(包括客户、投资者和监管机构)能够获取相关信息。

IBM Blockchain Transparent Supply

利用溯源软件构建自己的区块链生态系统。

供应链透明度有哪些益处?

整个供应链的透明度有助于企业和消费者负责任地行事,并根据自己的价值观和目标做出决策。

对消费者而言,供应链透明度提供了与其购买和消费决策相关的信息。在 2022 年的一项调查中,超过一半的受访者表示,与 12 个月前相比,环境的可持续发展对他们来说更加重要,近一半的受访者表示,他们会为奉行可持续发展或社会责任理念的品牌产品支付更多费用。随着越来越多的消费者寻求坚持可持续发展实践的品牌,透明度提供了一种展示这一承诺的方式。

对于企业而言,供应链透明度可以带来诸多益处。 当政府实施法规来应对人权问题或环境影响时,透明度有助于确保企业合规,并且可以通过识别瓶颈和低效,以及深入了解潜在的中断或漏洞,减少供应链中断情况。由于透明度对消费者很有价值,因此采用透明度可以带来声誉效益,有助于建立信任和品牌忠诚度。

最后,透明度可以推动更可持续的供应链。 随着越来越多的企业推行环境、社会和治理 (ESG) 举措,透明度有助于实现其目标。

相关内容

关注食品安全

IBM Food Trust

IBM Supply Chain Control Tower

企业如何提高供应链透明度?

随着供应链日益复杂,企业可以通过以下方式提高透明度:

绘制供应链图

透明度始于了解每个环节和参与者。 完整的供应链参与者图包括最终消费者获得产品之前所涉及的所有供应商、制造商、分销商和零售商,可以作为任何透明度工作的基础。这个绘图过程不仅应包括直接供应商(一级供应商),还应包括间接供应商(二级及以上供应商),以全面了解组件和原材料的来源。充分了解每个参与者的情况,可以提高供应链的可视性,降低供应链风险,从而加强供应链的弹复性。能够准确跟踪和管理错综复杂的现代全球化供应链网络的供应链管理系统,将有助于提高透明度。

与供应商合作

与供应商和提供商建立牢靠的合作关系至关重要,其中可能涉及明确的期望沟通、亲自拜访以及协作解决任何问题。与供应商密切合作有助于确保他们达到道德和环境标准,并且可以防止信息缺口削弱可持续发展和透明度工作。由内部或第三方进行的定期审计可以核实他们的做法。这些审核可以包括对劳工标准、环境影响、排放率、质量控制和其他相关方面的检查,对风险管理至关重要,并能确保运营和活动达到预期目标。

实施技术解决方案

技术在打造透明的供应链方面发挥着至关重要的作用,提供了跟踪和监控产品的工具,从而实现从原材料到成品的端到端监控。工业 4.0 将全新的工具和分析方法嵌入到制造基础设施中,从而提高了透明度。一些企业正在测试通过使用区块链或以安全透明的方式记录交易的数字账本来提高透明度的方法。 这有助于防止欺诈行为,并确保产品的寻购和生产符合道德标准。

此外,一些企业正在使用传感器和物联网 (IoT) 设备来增加一层数字透明度和监控。 GPS 跟踪器和 RFID 标签可以对货运进行实时位置追踪和状态监控,从而提供有价值的供应链信息。设备可用于监控产品在运输和储存过程中的状况,确保产品维持适当的温度和湿度水平;这种可追溯性有助于防止产品在运往最终用户的途中变质并减少浪费。

使用数据

数据分析和基于指标的工具有助于评估供应链运营,并识别缺乏透明度的领域。从各个环节收集的供应链数据有助于深入了解运营效率、潜在风险以及需要改进的领域。 人工智能 (AI)机器学习 (ML) 算法可以分析大量数据,以确定最高效的运输路线,发现潜在的干扰或不一致情况,并深入了解对环境的影响。实时数据可以帮助企业快速适应和应对供应链问题。供应链控制塔可以连接多种数据驱动型信息源,提高端到端的可见性。

培训员工和供应商

一些公司旨在通过训练整个企业及其供应商的员工,让他们了解透明度的重要性以及如何加以实现,从而提高供应链的透明度。培训计划可侧重于道德寻购、遵守法规、尽职调查和供应链管理的最佳实践,并可以整合到供应商管理举措中。一些公司和供应链专业人士会寻求认证计划,这有助于提升透明度工作的信心和权威性。

公开信息

供应链的透明度不仅取决于公司内部的信息,还取决于外部信息。企业使用各种方法帮助消费者和其他利益相关者了解供应链的各个环节。例如,产品标签和包装的设计可以突出显示原产地、材料和制造工艺信息。可以利用企业网站和其他在线资源公开披露供应链信息,包括审计摘要和任何可持续发展或企业责任报告。一些企业会利用社交媒体和其他营销形式来传播供应链中的细节和故事。

实现供应链透明度面临哪些挑战?

实现供应链的完全透明颇具挑战性。现代全球供应链涵盖多个国家或地区和大洲,以及广泛的个人和公司网络,其复杂程度令人生畏。此外,不同国家或地区在劳工、环境措施和产品安全方面有不同的法律和标准。驾驭这些不同的法规并确保各个层面的合规性可能是一项紧张而艰巨的工作。

实现透明度需要付出代价:新技术、培训和实际监控都需要资金投入,有时会令小型企业难以承受。此外还会遇到阻力,因为一些供应商可能出于隐私考虑而不愿共享信息。

相关解决方案
IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite

应用人工智能 (AI) 的力量和自动化的速度来改善供应链管理、弹性和可持续性。

探索 IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite

IBM Sterling Order Management

通过为可持续发展而构建的完整全渠道订单实现平台,实现完美订单的交付。

深入了解 IBM Sterling Order Management

资源 IBM Blockchain Transparent Supply

了解如何与供应链合作伙伴建立自己的区块链协作和数据共享生态系统。

遵守食品安全法规

利用数字溯源技术预防食源性疾病,最大限度减少食物浪费。

什么是供应链控制塔?

供应链控制塔使企业能够实时了解、优先处理和解决关键问题。

什么是供应商管理?

供应商管理使企业能够识别、鉴定、纳入合适的供应商,并与之交易和协作。

什么是工业 4.0?

工业 4.0 实现了该领域的数字化转型,提供实时决策,并提高了生产效率、灵活性和敏捷性。

什么是供应链管理?

供应链管理是指对商品或服务整个生产流程(从原材料到最终产品)的管理。

采取后续步骤

IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite 是一款基于 AI 的优化和自动化解决方案。该套件专为竭力通过传统转型解决供应链中断问题的企业而设计,通过切实可行的洞察分析、更智能的工作流和智能自动化促进供应网络的弹复性和可持续性,提高敏捷性并加速实现价值。

深入了解 Supply Chain Intelligence Suite 免费试用 30 天

What is supply chain transparency?
Explore the IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite Start the free 30-day trial
Illustration of complex supply chain elements


Published: 5 December 2023
Contributors: Amanda McGrath, Alexandra Jonker

What is supply chain transparency?

Supply chain transparency allows businesses and consumers to understand how goods are produced and distributed. This includes knowing where and how products are made, the labor practices involved, the journey of products from source to consumer and any environmental impacts that occur along the way.

In an increasingly complex global economy, it becomes more difficult to see all of the steps involved in getting a product from creation to consumer. The goal of supply chain transparency is to give greater access to information about each part of the process, for the benefit of both the company behind the product and the consumers buying it.

The concept of supply chain visibility, in which companies have a window on all activities within the chain, primarily applies to the internal ability to see supply chain information. Transparency, however, goes beyond internal knowledge. Supply chain transparency is not just about the company itself accessing information, but also making it accessible to external stakeholders, including customers, investors and regulators.

IBM Blockchain Transparent Supply

Build your own blockchain ecosystem with traceability software.

What are the benefits of supply chain transparency?

Transparency across the entire supply chain helps business and consumers act responsibly and make decisions according to their values and goals.

For consumers, supply chain transparency offers information relevant to their purchasing and consumption decisions. In a 2022 survey, more than half of respondents said environmental sustainability was more important to them than it was 12 months ago and nearly half said they paid more for products branded as sustainable or socially responsible. And as more consumers seek brands that adhere to sustainable practices, transparency offers a way to demonstrate that commitment.

For businesses, supply chain transparency can offer several benefits. As governments implement regulations to address human rights issues or environmental impact, transparency helps companies ensure compliance. It can also reduce supply chain disruptions by identifying bottlenecks and inefficiencies, and by offering insight into potential disruptions or vulnerabilities. And because transparency is valuable to consumers, adopting it can have reputational benefits that help build trust and brand loyalty.

Finally, transparency can drive more sustainable supply chains. As more companies pursue environmental, social and government (ESG) initiatives, transparency can be useful to achieving their goals.

Related content

Focus on food safety

IBM Food Trust

IBM Supply Chain Control Tower

How do companies make supply chains more transparent?

As supply chains grow in complexity, companies can increase transparency by:

Mapping the supply chain

Transparency starts with understanding every part and player. A complete map of supply chain participants, including all suppliers, manufacturers, distributors, and retailers involved before reaching the end consumer, can serve as the backbone of any transparency effort. This mapping should not only cover direct suppliers (tier 1) but also indirect suppliers (tier 2 and beyond) to get a full picture of where components and raw materials come from. Full knowledge of each participant can lead to a more resilient supply chain with better visibility and reduced supply chain risk. Supply chain management systems that can accurately track and manage the complexities of modern and globalized supply chain networks can help make transparency easier.

Engaging with suppliers

Building strong partnerships with suppliers and providers is crucial. This may involve clear communication of expectations, in-person visits and collaboration to address any issues. Working closely with suppliers helps ensure they are meeting ethical and environmental standards. It also prevents information gaps from undermining sustainability and transparency efforts. Regular audits, either conducted internally or by third parties, can verify their practices. These audits can include checks for labor standards, environmental impact, emissions rates, quality control and other relevant aspects. They can be essential to risk management and provide assurance that operations and activities are meeting expectations.

Implementing technology solutions

Technology plays a crucial role in creating a transparent supply chain by providing tools to track and monitor products end-to-end, from raw materials to finished goods. Industry 4.0 practices that embed new tools and analytics into manufacturing infrastructure are driving transparency. Some companies are testing ways to increase transparency through the use of blockchain, or a digital ledger that records transactions in a secure and transparent manner. This can help prevent fraud and ensure that products are ethically sourced and produced.

Additionally, sensors and internet of things (IoT) devices are being used by some companies to add a layer of digital transparency and monitoring. GPS trackers and RFID tags offer real-time location tracking and condition monitoring of shipments, providing valuable supply chain information. Devices may be used to monitor the conditions of products during transportation and storage, ensuring that they are kept at the proper temperature and humidity levels; this traceability can help prevent spoilage and reduce waste as products make their way to end users.

Using data

Data analytics and metrics-based tools can help in evaluating supply chain operations and identifying areas that lack transparency. Supply chain data collected from various points can provide insights into operational efficiencies, potential risks and areas for improvement. Artificial intelligence (AI) and machine learning (ML) algorithms can analyze vast amounts of data to identify the most efficient transportation routes, spotlight potential disruptions or inconsistencies and gain insight into environmental impact. Real-time data can help companies adapt and react quickly to issues within the supply chain. A supply chain control tower can connect many sources of data-driven information and improve end-to-end visibility.

Training employees and suppliers

Some companies aim to foster transparency in their supply chain by educating people across the organization and its providers about the importance of transparency and how to achieve it. Training programs may focus on ethical sourcing, compliance with regulations, due diligence and best practices in supply chain management, and can be integrated into supplier management initiatives. Some companies and supply chain professionals seek out certification programs, which may lend confidence and authority to transparency efforts.

Making information public

Supply chain transparency hinges on information being available not just within the company, but externally as well. Companies use a variety of methods to help consumers and other stakeholders understand parts of the supply chain. For example, product labeling and packaging may be designed to highlight information about the origin, materials and manufacturing processes. Company websites and other online sources allow for public disclosure of information about the supply chain, including audit summaries and any sustainability or corporate responsibility reports. Some organizations use social media and other forms of marketing to communicate details and stories from within the supply chain.

What are the challenges to achieving supply chain transparency?

Achieving complete transparency in supply chains can be challenging. Modern global supply chains span countries and continents, as well as a wide network of individuals and companies—a daunting level of complexity. Additionally, different countries have different laws and standards regarding labor, environmental practices and product safety. Navigating these varying regulations and ensuring compliance at all levels can be an intense and arduous endeavor.

Achieving transparency comes with costs: new technologies, training and hands-on monitoring require financial investment that can sometimes prove too much for smaller businesses to accommodate. It can also come with resistance, as some suppliers may be reluctant to share information due to privacy concerns.

Related solutions
IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite

Apply the power of artificial intelligence (AI) and the speed of automation to improve supply chain management, resiliency and sustainability.

Explore the IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite

IBM Sterling Order Management

Deliver the perfect order with a complete omnichannel order fulfillment solution built for sustainability.

Explore IBM Sterling Order Management

Resources IBM Blockchain Transparent Supply

Discover how to build your own blockchain-enabled collaboration and data-sharing ecosystem with your supply chain partners.

Comply with Food Safety Regulations

Prevent food-borne illness and minimize food waste with digital traceability.

What is a supply chain control tower?

A supply chain control tower enables organizations to understand, prioritize and resolve critical issues in real time.

What is supplier management?

Supplier management enables companies to identify, qualify, onboard, transact and collaborate with the right suppliers.

What is Industry 4.0?

Industry 4.0 is the realization of the digital transformation of the field, delivering real-time decision making, enhanced productivity, flexibility and agility.

What is supply chain management?

Supply chain management is the handling of the entire production flow of a good or service, from raw components to final product.

Take the next step

IBM Sterling Supply Chain Intelligence Suite is an AI-based optimization and automation solution. Designed for organizations struggling to solve supply chain disruptions through traditional transformation, the suite facilitates supply network resiliency and sustainability, increases agility and accelerates time-to-value through actionable insights, smarter workflows and intelligent automation.

Explore Supply Chain Intelligence Suite Try free for 30 days