医疗保健领域的质量措施

量化医疗保健过程的成功、结果、患者满意度等

空间中的曲线,摘要对象浮动

医疗保健领域有哪些质量措施?

在医疗保健领域建立质量措施是指利用数据,根据各种质量标准评估医院和医疗系统绩效的做法。 质量标准作为一种基准,旨在帮助医疗保健组织根据客观的、基于事实的信息衡量为支持改进和协作工作而对资源的利用率。 质量措施分为许多类型,从住院设施到成像设备,再到门诊乃至整个医院系统,均有相应的评估手段。

质量措施可以由特定的医疗机构确立,或者可以依靠政府机构、私人非营利组织以及一些盈利性公司制定的衡量规范或资格鉴定。 医疗机构组织确定了病患护理和其他流程的质量目标后,就可以制定策略以满足或超越这些目标。 质量措施可以包括组织能否提供有效、安全、及时、公平的以患者为中心的照护服务。

虽然医疗保健组织可以制定其机构专有的质量措施,但结果衡量通常由大型第三方组织确定,如医疗保险和医疗救助服务中心 (CMS)、美国国家医疗质量协会 (NAHQ) 或美国国家质量论坛 (NQF)。

医疗机构可以决定超越强制性质量措施,这不仅对患者的照护质量和医疗保健服务有益,更能帮助机构推广营销和建立合作关系。


为什么质量措施很重要?

由于医疗保健成本在过去 50 年出现大幅增长,甚至超过了一般生活成本的增长幅度,像个人等纳税人、政府和健康保险计划希望落实经得住检验的质量措施,证明这些增长是合情合理的。

通过衡量医疗保健质量,可以:

  • 防范医疗保健服务被滥用和误用
  • 确保患者安全
  • 揭露通过干预或许能改善照护服务的方面
  • 识别应做出绩效改进的方式和方面
  • 帮助患者就他们的健康状态和获得的照护服务做出更明智的选择
  • 为医疗保健计划和投资的策略探讨提供客观数据
  • 作为一种试探手段,了解哪些医疗保健流程、临床实践和方法最能驱动持续改进
  • 让医疗保健服务提供者、保险计划和其他利益相关者承担提高照护标准的责任
  • 解释不同提供商和不同地理区域提供不同服务水平的不平等现象的原因

将软件运用于医疗保健领域的质量措施

衡量质量意味着收集和分析数据。 但可用健康信息的指数级增长使得数据收集充满挑战,更不要说分析。 此外,电子病历 (EHR) 的部署和采用加速了医疗保健的数字化发展,如今随着移动设备、社交、云计算和分析等技术的发展,数字化得到进一步利用和增强。

因为可用数据源、指标及其复杂性的迅速增长,医疗组织正在寻求软件来帮助他们筛选这类信息。 这些组织正在寻找更好的方法来分析他们的真正成本、服务质量、风险模型和人口细分,以及改善与用户的关系。 专门为医疗保健领域设计的软件工具可以从数据海洋收集相关信息并加以分析,帮助执业医生、研究人员和护理人员发现和分析绩效衡量信息,并据此采取创新举措。

一些软件程序包集成人工智能 (AI) 的能力,从根本上改变了人类与计算机的交互方式。 借助人工智能的“学习”能力,软件可以加速临床研究、基因组研究、个体化用药工作,并帮助向更以人为本的护理模式转变。 这些认知能力通过在临床医生或护理人员的工作流程中提供专家辅助,可显著扩展见解和知识,从而帮助组织大幅改变医疗服务的交付方式和领域。


有效质量措施的主要特点

医疗保健研究与质量局 (AHRQ) 使用 Donabedian 分类模型总结出三种类型的质量措施1。 措施按照结构、流程或结果衡量分类。

结构措施:结构措施是医疗保健供应商提供高质量护理服务的总体能力:机构的容量、系统和流程。 这些措施可能包括该组织是否使用更现代的电子病历和用药医嘱录入系统。 措施可能还包括在职员工中执照医生的数量或提供商与患者的的比率。

流程措施:流程措施是机构为保持或改善健康采取的措施。 这些措施可以反映预防措施和已经遇到健康问题的措施。 这些措施应评估机构达到一般可接受的实践标准的情况。 公开报告中的大多数医疗保健质量措施都是流程措施。

结果措施:结果措施反映机构的患者干预以及他们如何改善患者健康。 结果措施的示例包括对手术死亡率、患者再入院、手术并发症和医院感染的评价。

虽然专注于质量措施和质量保证有可能帮助改善医疗保健,但有些医疗保健专业人员2 曾告诫称,只有有限的证据表明许多质量措施或绩效措施最终改善了医疗结果,包括保险公司或政府提供的奖励措施。 尽管存在这样的局限性,质量措施和比较质量评级仍将继续受到欢迎,因为措施基于中间端点,如风险因素控制或容易受到竞争、过度化验和过度治疗影响的护理流程。 相反,质量措施应基于以患者为中心的结果,并采用个体化的方法来应对临床的复杂性。


成功案例

Health Quest

了解该医疗保健系统如何弥合护理差距,创造 370 万美元的总收入。


相关解决方案

质量措施报告

通过提供高效的质量措施报告,支持医院临床质量改进计划。


电子质量措施

协助医院理解数据结果,并确定从现有医院信息系统 (HIS) 中收集所需数据的方法。


百强医院

向医院和医疗系统展示他们与同行或其他系统医院的绩效对比以及发展趋势。


医疗保健互操作性解决方案

探索不同的技术可以如何帮助您达到甚至超越更新互操作性监管规定。

Quality measures in healthcare

Quantify the success of healthcare processes, outcomes, patient satisfaction and more

Curving lines in space with abstract object floating

What are quality measures in healthcare?

Creating quality measures in health care is the practice of using data to assess hospital and health systems performance based on various quality standards. Quality standards are benchmarks that help healthcare organizations measure resource utilization to support improvement and collaborative efforts with objective, fact-based information. There are many types of quality measures that evaluate care for everything from inpatient facilities to imaging facilities to outpatient clinics to entire hospital systems.

Quality measures can be established by a particular healthcare institution or they can can rely on measure specifications or accreditations developed by government agencies, private nonprofits as well as some for-profit companies. Once a healthcare organization sets its quality goals for patient care and other processes, it then develops strategies to meet or exceed those goals. Quality measures can include the organization’s ability to provide effective, safe, timely, patient-focused and equitable care.

While healthcare organizations may have quality measures specific to their institution, outcome measures are generally established by large third-party organizations, such the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS), the National Association for Healthcare Quality (NAHQ) or the National Quality Forum (NQF).

Healthcare institutions may decide to exceed mandated quality measures to not only benefit patients’ quality of care and healthcare delivery, but to help with an institution’s marketing and contracting efforts.


Why are quality measures important?

Because healthcare costs have risen dramatically in the past 50 years —outstripping general cost-of-living increases —payers like individuals, governments and health plans want verifiable quality measures that provide evidence that these increases are justified.

Measuring the quality of healthcare can:

  • Guard against abuses and misuse of healthcare services
  • Ensure patient safety
  • Reveal areas where interventions might improve care
  • Identify how and where performance improvements should be made
  • Help patients make more informed choices about their health status and the care they receive
  • Provide objective data for policy discussions about healthcare programs and investments
  • Act as a test to see what healthcare processes, clinical practices and techniques work the best to drive constant improvements
  • Keep healthcare providers, insurance plans and other stakeholders accountable for higher standards of care
  • Shed light on inequalities in levels of service from different providers and different geographic regions

Using software for quality measures in healthcare

Measuring quality means collecting and analyzing data. But an exponentially expanding volume of available health information makes data collection —let alone analysis —challenging. Additionally, the digitization of healthcare, accelerated by the deployment and adoption of electronic health records (EHRs), is now being exploited and augmented with technologies like mobile, social, cloud computing and analytics.

Because of the dramatic increase of available data sources, metrics and their complexity, healthcare organizations are looking to software to make it easier sift through this information. These organizations are looking for a better way to analyze their true costs, quality of the service, risk models and segmentation of their populations as well as improve relationships with the people they serve. Software tools specifically designed for the healthcare field can analyze and glean the relevant information from this ocean of data and help practitioners, researchers and caregivers discover, analyze and act on performance measurement information in innovative ways.

Some software packages incorporate artificial intelligence (AI) capabilities that fundamentally change the way humans and computers interact. With the "learning" abilities of AI, the software can accelerate work in clinical research, genomic studies, personalized medicine as well as assist with the transition to more person-centered care. These cognitive capabilities can significantly extend insight and knowledge by providing expert assistance in a clinician’s or caregiver's workflow, which can help organizations dramatically change how and where care is delivered.


Key features of effective quality measures

"The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) has outlined the three types of quality measures using the Donabedian classification model 1. Measures are classified as structure, process or outcome measures.

Structure measures: Structural measures are the health care provider’s overall ability to provide high quality care: the institution’s capacity, systems and processes. These measures may include whether the organization uses more modern electronic medical records and medication order entry systems. Measures could also include how many board-certified physicians are on staff or the ratio of providers to patients.

Process measures: Process measures are what the institution does to maintain or improve health. These measures can reflect both preventative measures or those already experiencing health issues. These measures should evaluate how the institution is meeting generally accepted standards of practice. Most health care quality measures in public reporting are process measures.

Outcome Measures: Outcome measures reflect the impact the institution’s patient interventions and how they improved the health of patients. Examples of outcome measures include rates for surgical mortality, patient readmission, surgical complications and hospital-acquired infections.

Though a focus on quality measures and quality assurance has the potential to help improve healthcare, some healthcare professionals 2 have warned that there's only limited evidence that many quality measures or performance measures result in improved health outcomes —including those tied to incentives by insurers or governments. Despite this limitation, quality measures and comparative quality ratings continue to increase in popularity because the measures are based on intermediate endpoints, such as risk-factor control or care processes that are vulnerable to gaming, over-testing and over-treatment. Instead, quality measures should be based on patient-centered outcomes with individualized approaches to clinical complexity.


Case studies

Health Quest

Learn how this healthcare system closed gaps in care to generate USD 3.7 million in total billing revenue.


Related solutions

Quality Measures Reporting

Supports hospital clinical quality improvement initiatives by providing efficient quality measures reporting.

Electronic Quality Measures

Assists hospitals in understanding data results and identifying ways to gather the required data within their existing hospital information systems (HIS).

100 Top Hospitals

Shows hospitals and health systems how their performance compares to peers or other system hospitals and how they are trending over time.

Healthcare Interoperability Solutions

Discover how different technologies can help you meet or even exceed newer regulations for interoperability.