什么是医疗保健领域的互操作性?

医疗保健领域的互操作性是指安全及时地访问、集成和使用电子健康数据,以便将其用于优化个人和群体的健康结果。

Abstract blur beautiful luxury hospital interior for backgrounds
为什么医疗保健领域的互操作性很重要?

一直以来,都很难采用安全的方式访问和共享健康数据。 健康数据的性质造成了一个悖论:健康数据很难共享,因为它很敏感且需要高度保密,但在需要时无法访问它就有可能造成重大损失。 缺乏互操作性可能导致无法全面了解个人或群体的健康需求,这不仅会使结果变差,而且还会增加成本。

随着全球人口的老龄化和人们寿命的延长,互操作性和数据共享对于提供有效的医疗保健服务变得越来越重要。 根据美国卫生保健研究与质量管理处估计,三分之二的美国老年人至少有两种慢性病。 患有多种慢性病的患者的治疗费用目前约占美国医疗保健费用的 66%

美国国家卫生信息技术协调办公室 (ONC) 在全国路线图 (PDF, 3.5 MB) 中表示,美国对电子健康记录 (EHR) 的使用正在急剧增加。 许多医院现在都可以正常访问来自外部提供者的医疗记录和患者数据,但只有不到一半的医院将他们收到的数据整合到个人患者记录中。 因此,尽管改善了对重要临床数据的访问,但仍然需要做很多工作才能将利益相关方聚集在一起,共同创建一个综合数据生态系统。

除了帮助医生和其他医疗保健提供者更全面地了解患者状况之外,健康数据互操作性还可为整个医疗保健行业的组织提供帮助。 如果健康信息系统更加全面,那么健康计划将能够更好地了解其利用率和服务需求。 政府服务提供者将能够访问人口数据以了解趋势并满足其公民的需求。 此外,生命科学组织将能够利用强大的数据集来更快地完成更明智的研究。

有了更好的互操作性,组织就不会在今天将个人视为患者,明天将其视为健康计划会员,后天将其视为健康应用的消费者。 相反,整个行业的决策者将能够开始研究用户如何访问和使用健康信息(无论其来源如何),以提供更好的护理模式、更高的患者安全性和更出色的用户体验。


医疗保健互操作性的优势

更出色的护理协调

通过访问数据,临床医生可以更轻松地访问患者最重要的健康信息,从而减少重复检查、防止无意的治疗相互作用并减少误传。

更高的性能

不仅可以更轻松地组合数据,还可以更轻松地分析数据。 利用互操作性,组织可以研究数据趋势、过去的表现,并在患者护理和其他领域进行由数据驱动的改进。

更好的体验

数据互操作性可以减少组织内外的冗余管理工作量,为员工及其客户打造更令人满意的体验。


什么是 FHIR?

快速医疗保健互操作性资源 (FHIR) 是一种用于医疗保健数据的开源标准框架,它基于以前的标准框架 HL7。 FHIR 旨在简化将医疗保健数据从一个系统移到另一个系统的过程。

FHIR 将数据组织到诸如患者、病情、药物等资源中,并提供一种标准化结构来定义不同计算机系统或应用组织和解释数据的方式。 FHIR 还可用于构造财务数据和工作流程数据,例如报销信息、预约等。

美国的许多主要医疗保健系统已经在其健康 IT 实践中采用了 FHIR。 Medicare 的 Blue Button 2.0 计划基于 FHIR,并且退伍军人事务管理局已开发了一个名为 Lighthouse 的 FHIR 平台。 这两者都提供了平台,可供患者用来通过 FHIR 访问医疗保健信息。

美国国家卫生信息技术协调办公室已将 FHIR 列为全国互操作性路线图 (PDF, 3.5 MB) 的关键部分。 新的政府法规和互操作性规则要求更广泛地采用 FHIR,因此,对于医疗机构而言,了解 FHIR 并将其纳入其互操作性策略至关重要,尤其是对于那些接收到医疗保险和医疗补助服务付款的医疗机构。

了解有关 IBM FHIR Server 的更多信息

健康信息交换和互操作性

现代消费者在访问信息方面有着很高的期望,许多人现在都希望能够快速且持续地访问他们的健康和护理记录。 这就是许多医疗机构建立健康信息交换 (HIE) 的原因所在,HIE 是一种专业网络,依靠可互操作的系统来无缝、安全地共享电子健康信息。

尽管采用 EHR 为建立 HIE 奠定了良好的基础,但仍需要克服许多挑战才能达到获得 HIE 全部优势所需的互操作性等级。 这些挑战包括:

缺乏标准化:尽管 FHIR 和 HL7 等标准记录格式正变得越来越常见,并且新法规正在推动 EHR 供应商提供支持互操作性的 API,但许多提供者和医疗保健系统都在使用定制的 EHR 系统,而这种系统很难转换为标准格式以及与他人共享。

安全性:医疗保健组织会发现很难平衡健康信息的可访问性与保护敏感信息和维护患者隐私的需求,尤其是在医疗保健系统受到越来越多的网络安全攻击 (PDF, 1.3 MB) 的情况下。

同意:通过构建使健康信息在提供者之间自由流动的数字医疗系统,何时需要患者同意以及需要何种程度的同意并不总是一目了然。 医疗机构对此持谨慎态度是可以理解的,因此更容易在不共享信息方面犯错误。

职业负担:当引入新的记录保存工具时,就需要学习如何使用这些工具。 医疗保健专业人员通常对新系统持谨慎态度,因为 EHR 系统通常在支持管理和计费工作流程方面超出了临床医生的需求。

这些挑战并非不可克服。 随着云计算(尤其是混合云)的进步,组织使用一致的方式移动和保护数据变得更加容易。 云环境为组织提供了构建数据管道的机会,这些管道将数据标准化为 FHIR 等行业标准格式,并为有需要的用户(无论是支付者、提供者还是患者本身)提供安全访问。

了解如何启用健康数据互操作性

阅读文章


CMS 正努力促进互操作性

2016 年,奥巴马总统通过签署《21 世纪治愈法案》(21st Century Cures Act) 迈出了解决信息阻塞问题的重要一步,该法案要求 EHR 系统提供面向患者的 API 来维护其联邦认证。 2020 年,医疗补助和医疗保险服务中心 (CMS) 发布了一项规则,要求从其计划中获得联邦资金的健康计划和提供者必须采取措施来简化健康信息的访问。

大多数政策侧重于鼓励支付者实现应用程序编程接口 (API) 和数据交换,这样就可以提供对其提供者目录、患者报销数据和其他资源的安全访问,让用户可以更轻松、及时地访问数据。 这种访问可以让患者、提供者和支付者更全面地了解人们接受的护理并支持更广泛的公共卫生工作。

了解强制性互操作性标准将如何影响您的组织。

了解有关 CMS 法规的更多信息


医疗保健行业面临的互操作性挑战

虽然许多医疗保健专家和领导者都同意更好的互操作性可以提高整体医疗保健水平,但医疗机构在努力使其数据和系统更具互操作性时往往面临着一些共同的挑战。 让我们探索这些挑战以及组织如何克服这些挑战:

脱节的协调
为了提高互操作性,需要在不同组织、监管机构和领导者之间进行强有力的协调并在组织内部进行协调。 监管机构为医疗机构提供了需要遵守的标准和规则,但希望积极参与互操作性的组织应考虑创建专门的互操作性策略,并将互操作性规划作为优先事项。

有限的预算
并非所有组织都有经济或技术实力来投资于构建真正可互操作的系统所需的技术资源。 可能会有一些用于更新健康记录系统的政府拨款,因此组织应检查他们是否符合条件。 许多云供应商还提供即用即付的支付模式,这可以使技术费用更加实惠且可预测。

多样化的技术需求
组织需要根据他们提供的护理类型和所在位置遵循不同的规则和规定,因此许多组织拥有高度定制的数据。 组织可通过混合云平台帮助连接不同的内部和外部系统,该平台提供了组合和集成数据而不牺牲所需定制的选项。

遗留系统
拥有旧版遗留系统的医疗机构面临着实现系统现代化和满足互操作性要求的双重挑战。 组织可以使用混合云方法从遗留系统中提取数据并使这些数据更易于供现代应用程序和程序访问,从而实现这两个目标。 这种方法使组织可以选择在更新系统时保持数据移动。


医疗保健行业的互操作性等级

医疗保健行业的互操作性有四个不同的等级,这些等级由信息学专家以及医疗保健信息和管理系统协会 (HIMSS) 定义。 其中一些等级可通过现有的医疗保健 IT 架构和 IT 系统来实现,而其他等级则需要创新和以患者为中心的技术进步来实现。

这些等级包括:

基础性

这种互操作性等级(也称为简单传输)是最基本的等级。 将数据从一个系统或设备安全地传输到另一个系统或设备,而无需解释数据或将其转换为特定格式。 例如,护士从实验结果门户网站下载患者最新实验结果的 PDF 文件,然后手动将这些数据输入到患者健康记录中。

结构化

当达到结构互操作性(也称为"结构化传输")时,会将所有数据都标准化为特定格式,以供多个系统或设备进行解释。 这些数据按特定顺序进行组织,因此接收系统可以自动检测到特定数据字段。 FHIR 和 HL7 等数据标准提供结构互操作性,因此可以采用一致的方式轻松地在系统之间集中移动记录。

语义

语义互操作性(也称为语义传输)涉及在具有完全不同数据结构的系统之间交换数据。 影像系统提供了一个简单的例子 - 图像有许多专用的 DICOM 格式和非 DICOM 格式。 通过语义互操作性,可以将图像从一个系统传输到另一个系统,无论图像的原始格式或来源如何,都可以解释图像并将其合并到新系统中。 然而,确定要收集和传输的数据可能很困难,因为系统会采用不同的方式来呈现相同的信息。 因此,一些专家认为需要通过人工智能来实现完全的语义互操作性。

组织

组织互操作性涉及在具有不同要求、法规和目标的各个组织之间无缝交换数据。 为了达到这种互操作性等级,必须制定政策并实现治理创新和技术创新,从而确保在不同组之间顺利移动同意、安全和集成工作流程。 虽然有些专家认为语义互操作性是最高互操作性等级,但其他人认为组织互操作性才是最高互操作性等级。

探索互操作性的发展阶段

探索阶段


相关解决方案

医疗保健互操作性解决方案

从咨询到数据管理再到直观的 API 支持,IBM 提供了多种解决方案来支持和开发贵组织的互操作性策略。


通用查看和图像交换

诊断质量的通用查看器支持多达 10 个用户的实时协作,它让图像查看变得更简单。


与供应商无关的归档

构建一个影像策略,将您的整个组织与影像归档联系在一起,该归档将所有影像数据整合在一起而不考虑数据的来源或格式。


综合临床开发管理系统

通过数据管理系统简化临床试验,该系统在一个统一的直观平台(可用于所有试验站点)上支持所有试验阶段。


医疗咨询

行业专家可帮助您成功应对互操作性挑战并制定能满足组织要求和目标的策略。

What is interoperability in healthcare?

Interoperability in healthcare refers to timely and secure access, integration and use of electronic health data so that it can be used to optimize health outcomes for individuals and populations.

Abstract blur beautiful luxury hospital interior for backgrounds

Why is interoperability in healthcare important?

Health data has always been challenging to access and share in a secure manner. The nature of health data creates a paradox: It’s difficult to share because it’s sensitive and requires a high level of privacy and security, yet the inability to access it when it’s needed has potential to cause significant harm. A lack of interoperability can result in an incomplete understanding of an individual’s or population’s health needs, which can lead to poorer outcomes and higher costs.

As populations around the world age and people live longer, interoperability and data sharing are going to become increasingly critical for delivering effective healthcare. In the United States, the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality has estimated that two out of three older Americans have at least two chronic behavioral or physical conditions. Treatment for people with multiple chronic conditions currently accounts for an estimated 66% of US healthcare costs.

In their nationwide roadmap (PDF, 3.5 MB), the Office of the National Coordinator for Health Information Technology (ONC) says the use of electronic health records (EHRs) has dramatically increased in the United States. Many hospitals now have routine access to medical records and patient data from outside providers, yet less than half of hospitals are integrating the data they receive into individual patient records. So although access to vital clinical data has improved, there's still a lot of work that needs to be done to bring stakeholders together to create an integrated data ecosystem.

In addition to helping physicians and other healthcare providers see a more complete view of their patients, health data interoperability helps organizations across the healthcare industry. If health information systems were more integrated, then health plans would be able to develop a better understanding of their utilization rates and demand for services. Government service providers would be able to access population data to see trends and meet their citizens’ needs. Also, life science organizations would be able to leverage robust datasets to drive faster, more informed research.

With better interoperability, organizations would be able to stop regarding individuals as a patient one day, a health plan member the next and a consumer of health apps the next. Instead, decision-makers across the industry would be able start looking at how people access and use health information, regardless of its source, to drive better models of care, pursue better patient safety and improve experiences for the people they serve.


Healthcare interoperability benefits

Better care coordination

With access to data, clinicians have an easier time accessing a patient’s most important health information, which can lead to fewer repeat tests, prevent inadvertent treatment interactions and reduce miscommunications.

Higher performance

When data can be combined more easily, it can also be analyzed more easily. Interoperability makes it possible for organizations to study data trends, past performance and make data-driven improvements in patient care and other areas.

Better experiences

Data interoperability can reduce the amount of redundant administrative work both within and outside organizations, creating a more satisfying experiences both for employees and for those they serve.


What is FHIR?

Fast Healthcare Interoperability Resources, also known as FHIR, is an open source standards framework for healthcare data that builds off of a previous standards framework called HL7. FHIR was created to make it easier for healthcare data to move from one system to another.

FHIR organizes data into resources like patient, conditions, medications and provides a standardized structure for how that data is organized and interpreted by different computer systems or applications. FHIR can also be used to structure financial data and workflow data, such as claims information, appointments and more.

Many major healthcare systems in United States have already adopted FHIR in their health IT practices. Medicare’s Blue Button 2.0 initiative is based on FHIR and the Veteran’s Affairs Administration has developed a FHIR platform called Lighthouse. Both provide platforms for patient access to healthcare information through FHIR.

The National Coordinator for Health IT in the United States has made FHIR a key part of the nationwide interoperability roadmap (PDF, 3.5 MB). New government regulations and interoperability rules are requiring wider adoption of FHIR, so it’s vital for healthcare organizations, especially for ones that receive payments for Medicare or Medicaid services, to understand FHIR and incorporate it into their interoperability strategies.


Health information exchanges and interoperability

Modern consumers have high expectations when it comes to accessing information, and many now expect to have quick and continuous access to records about their health and care. That’s why many healthcare organizations are building health information exchanges (HIE), which are specialized networks that rely on interoperable systems to share electronic health information seamlessly and securely.

Even though the adoption of EHRs was a good first step towards building HIEs, there are still many challenges that need to be overcome to achieve the level of interoperability needed to obtain the full benefits of HIEs. These challenges include:

Lack of standardization: Although standard record formats like FHIR and HL7 are becoming more common and new regulations are pushing EHR vendors to provide APIs that support interoperability, many providers and healthcare systems use customized EHR systems that can be hard to convert to a standard format and shared with others.

Security: Healthcare organizations can find it hard to balance the need for health information to be accessible with the need to secure sensitive information and maintain patient privacy, especially with the increasing number of cybersecurity attacks on healthcare systems (PDF, 1.3 MB).

Consent: By building digital health systems in which health information flows freely from provider to provider, it’s not always clear when patient consent is needed and what level of consent is needed. Healthcare organizations are understandably cautious about this and tend to error on the side of not sharing information.

Professional burdens: When new tools for recordkeeping are introduced, people need to learn how to use them. Healthcare professionals are often wary about new systems since EHR systems often do a better job supporting administrative and billing workflows than clinicians' needs.

These challenges are not insurmountable. With advances in cloud computing, especially hybrid cloud, it’s become easier for organizations to move and secure data in a consistent way. Cloud environments provide opportunities for organizations to build data pipelines that standardize data to an industry-standard format like FHIR and provide secure access to people who need it – whether they’re payers, providers or patients themselves.


CMS efforts to promote interoperability

In 2016, President Obama took a major step to solve information blocking by signing the 21st Century Cures Act, which requires EHR systems to provide a patient-facing API to maintain their federal certification. In 2020, the Centers for Medicaid & Medicare Services (CMS) issued a rule requiring health plans and providers who receive federal funds from their programs must take steps to make health information easier to access.

Most of the policies focus on encouraging payers to implement application programming interfaces (APIs) and data exchanges that provide secure access to their provider directories, patient claims data and other resources that would make it easier for data to be accessed in a timely manner. This access would give patients, as well as providers and payers, a more holistic view of the care people receive and support broader public health efforts.


The challenges of interoperability in healthcare

While many healthcare experts and leaders agree that better interoperability would improve healthcare overall, there are common challenges that healthcare organizations tend to face as they work on making their data and systems more interoperable. Let’s explore those challenges and how organizations can overcome them:

Disjointed coordination
Improving interoperability requires strong coordination between different organizations, regulators and leaders as well as coordination within organizations. Regulators provide standards and rules for healthcare organizations to follow but organizations that want to be proactive about interoperability should consider creating a dedicated interoperability strategy and make interoperability planning a priority.

Limited budgets
Not all organizations have the financial or technical resources they need to invest in the technical resources needed to build a truly interoperable system. There may be some government grants available to update health records systems, so organizations should check to see if they’re eligible. Many cloud vendors also offer pay-as-you-go payment models that could make technical expenses more affordable and predictable.

Diverse technology needs
Organizations need to follow different rules and regulations depending on what type of care they provide and where they're located, so many organizations have highly customized data. Organizations can help connect different internal and external systems through a hybrid cloud platform that gives them options to combine and integrate their data without sacrificing the customizations they need.

Legacy systems
Healthcare organizations with older legacy systems face the dual challenges of modernizing their systems while also meeting interoperability requirements. Organizations can meet both goals using a hybrid cloud approach to extract data from legacy systems and make it more accessible for modern applications and programs. This approach gives organizations the option to keep data moving while they work on updating their systems.


Levels of healthcare interoperability

Interoperability for healthcare has four different levels that have been defined by informatics experts and the Healthcare Information and Management Systems Society (HIMSS). Some of these levels can be achieved today with existing healthcare IT architecture and IT systems, while others will require innovation and additional developments in patient-centered technology.

These levels include:

Foundational

This level of interoperability, also known as simple transport, is the most basic. Data is securely transferred from one system or device to another without interpreting the data or transforming it into a particular format. For example, a nurse downloads a PDF file of a patient’s latest lab results from the lab’s results portal, then manually enters the data into the patient’s health record.

Structural

When structural interoperability, or structured transport, is achieved, all the data is standardized to a particular format so it can be interpreted by multiple systems or devices. This data is organized in a particular order so the receiving system can automatically detect specific data fields. Data standards like FHIR and HL7 provide structural interoperability so records can be consistent, centralized and easy to move between systems.

Semantic

The semantic level of interoperability, or semantic transport, involves exchanging data between systems with completely different data structures. Imaging systems provide a simple example — there are many specialized DICOM and non-DICOM formats for images. With semantic interoperability, images could be transferred from one system to another, interpreted and incorporated into the new system regardless of the image’s original format or source. Yet determining what data to collect and transfer can be difficult, since systems have different ways of presenting the same information. For that reason, some experts argue artificial intelligence will be needed to achieve full semantic interoperability.

Organizational

Organizational interoperability involves the seamless exchange of data between various organizations with different requirements, regulations and goals. To achieve this level of interoperability, there must be policy and governance innovations as well as technological innovations to ensure consent, security and integrated workflows move smoothly between different groups. Though some experts say semantic is the highest level of interoperability, others say it is organizational interoperability.


Related Solutions

Healthcare interoperability solutions

From consulting to data management to intuitive, API support, IBM offers numerous solutions to support and develop your organization’s interoperability strategy.

Universal viewing and image exchange

Make your image viewing simpler with a diagnostic-quality universal viewer that supports real-time collaboration for up to 10 users.

Vendor neutral archive

Build an imaging strategy that connects across your entire organization with an imaging archive that brings all your imaging data together, regardless of source or format.

Integrated clinical development management system

Streamline your clinical trials with a data management system that supports all trial phases on one intuitive, unified platform that can be used across all your trial sites.

Healthcare consulting

Industry experts can help you successfully navigate interoperability challenges and develop a strategy that supports your organization’s requirements and goals.