医疗保健绩效度量评测
利用标准化数据以及对各种主题的分析,推动医院和医疗保健系统的改进
Mixed race nurse working at computer
什么是医疗保健绩效评测?

医疗保健绩效评测是对特定医疗保健相关活动的数据进行汇总、量化和分析。 其目的是寻求机会来降低成本、改进护理质量,同时提高护理服务的交付效率。 还可将其用于监控机构为满足法规需求而想要跟踪或需要跟踪的其他举措。

这些评测举措通常在接受绩效评测的医师和医院员工,以及政府及其他第三方机构的主动参与 下制定和运行,以确保度量有意义,且数据准确无误。

医疗保健绩效评测的类型包括:

  • 患者护理的质量与效率
  • 医疗保健服务费用
  • 在绩效间的差距
  • 护理结果

安全等级以及政府规定标准的遵从性


医疗保健绩效评测为何如此重要?

医疗保健绩效评测通常对于医疗保健机构和社会如此重要的原因有很多:

对人们来说,良好的医疗保健服务比大多数其他商品或服务都更加重要 1。 社会总体上始终非常重视医疗保健系统的良好运转,以确保人们尽可能健康生活。

政府和个人在医疗保健方面支出很多。 不管从整体来看还是从个人来看,人员在医疗保健(和/或医疗保险)方面都支出了大量资金,且此类花费随时间的涨幅也远超其他经济部门。

人们希望制定出更加明智的医疗保健决策。 客观绩效评测有助于人们在医疗保健方面制定出更加明智的决策,因为他们可以“货比三家”,找到最佳的医护服务。

政府机构可以制定出更明智的医疗保健政策。 绩效测评为有关医疗保健计划和投资的立法政策讨论提供了可靠的背景数据,指出了法律和授权可以在哪些方面加以改进。

绩效评测可提供有关效率和有效性当前状况的可靠数据,进而提供了一种最佳的方式来推动医疗系统和医院的整体改进,其中包括:

  • 评估和衡量机构或个人是否符合既定基准
  • 找出医护方面的差距 - 尤其是绩效较低,需要采取补救措施的情况
  • 认定并奖励超出标准的绩效,并以此为榜样打造最佳实践
  • 保护持续数据以监视有关护理质量随时间变化的信息

使用软件进行医疗保健绩效评测

2009 年,美国政府设立了 270 亿美元的激励计划,鼓励医疗保健提供方采用 EHR(电子病历)。 原因之一是这一转变可为医院提供可靠的数据来开展医疗保健绩效评测,最终提升效率和患者护理质量。

尽管在采用基于云的 EHR 软件的热潮下,越来越多的医院接受了 EHR,但结果仍然喜忧参半。 根据 Stanford/Harris 民意调研2,40% 的初级护理医师认为 EHR 所带来的挑战大于优势。

为此,软件供应商已开发出高级医疗保健软件平台,该平台可简化 EHR 过程,并提供工具以便于跟踪患者治疗效果和患者满意度。 医疗保健机构可利用此类工具访问患者护理数据,且此类数据易于分析和处理。

对医疗保健绩效评测划分优先级 - 哪些评测更为重要?

医疗保健机构可以跟踪的医疗保健绩效评测达数百个之多。 机构如何判定哪些评测最为重要?

来自 Definitive Healthcare 的 Alanna Moriarty 在她的博客3中指出,CMS 不断添加和修改质量计划,很难让机构 划分指标的优先级。 她提出了 10 项重要的医疗保健绩效评测:

  1. 住院时间
    评测患者入院和出院之间间隔的时长。 这一指标会为医院提供有关护理效率的长期硬性数据。
  2. 再入院率
    跟踪出院 30 天内再次入院的患者百分比。 医院能够量化患者所接受的护理质量。 再入院百分比较高,可能意味着患者接受的治疗不达标,医院忽略了并发症或相关患者数据。
  3. HCAHPS - 患者满意度
     医院消费者保健计划评估(HCAHPS)调查提供了从医护质量到场所清洁度的大量客户满意度评测。
  4. 死亡率
    有多少患者在住院期间尚未出院便死亡? 该评测指示机构在实施外科手术或其他手术后是否能稳定患者病情。
  5. 病床使用率(或病床占用率)
    评测在任何指定时间医院病床的占用量。 如果医院的空病床过多,医院可能会赔钱,因为不管患者数量多少,员工开支和维护成本保持相对不变。
  6. 医院事故
    评测医院手术中出现意外副作用的后果。 该指标是衡量医院能否实施顺利手术,提供高质量护理,而不出现事故的一个重要考量。
  7. CMS 计划绩效举措
    CMS 有许多绩效评测计划,其目的是降低成本,提升患者护理质量。  举例来说有 Medicare 共享结余型计划、医疗改善捆绑支付 (BPCI) 计划和按项目收费 B 部分。
  8. 每次出院的平均成本
    帮助医院了解可能超支的地方以及 他们可在哪里获得最大利润。 医院获取有用数据,以便更好地分析哪些方面的治疗费用能让患者得到最佳的疗效。
  9. 经营收益
    计算扣除所有运营成本后机构的收入,尽管通常情况下,大多数医院的收益均为负数。 如果机构无法保持收支平衡,甚至出现亏损,可能会影响到其员工招聘,另外也可能无法提供高质量的患者服务。
  10. 坏账
    坏账指的是完全没有收到患者护理收入,或部分未收到。 但是,只有患者生活出现问题,如失业,导致无力支付治疗费用时,才被视为坏账。

IBM Watson Health 解决方案

IBM 凭借其 Watson Health 解决方案,已成为提供临床治疗评估和核心评估质量报告解决方案领域的领导者。  它始终保持准确、及时提交内容的跟踪记录,因而成为 CMS 医院住院质量汇报项目 (HIQRP) 或联合委员会 (TJC) 认证的领导者。


解决方案

百强医院

了解医院负责人如何使用来自本次年度美国医院绩效深入调研的咨询服务、数据和定制报告,以帮助取得最好的成果。


50 家顶级心血管医院

了解本次年度心脏病学护理调研,以及您的医院如何应用数据来帮助优化这一重要服务部门的绩效。


15 个顶级医疗保健系统

了解我们对于美国医疗保健绩效的年度调研,以及如何应用数据来获取市场竞争优势。


医疗保健绩效改进方案

获取对数据分析、咨询和数据管理解决方案的访问权,这些解决方案有助于优化临床、运营和财务绩效。



联系我们的专家团队以进行个人咨询

What are healthcare performance measurements?
Explore healthcare technology solutions
Two doctors review tablet in hospital setting
What are healthcare performance measurements?

Healthcare performance measurements are aggregated, quantified and analyzed data on a particular healthcare-related activity. Their purpose is to identify opportunities for reducing costs, improving quality of care and increasing efficiency of care delivery.

Healthcare performance measurements are also used to monitor other metrics that an institution wants to track — or needs to track — to satisfy regulatory requirements.

Healthcare performamce measurement initiatives are typically developed and operated with the active involvement of the physicians and hospital staff whose performance is being measured — as well as government and other third-party agencies — to ensure that the measures are meaningful, and the data are accurate.

Types of healthcare performance measurements include:

  • Quality and efficiency of patient care
  • Cost of healthcare services
  • Disparities in performance
  • Care outcomes
  • Safety levels
  • Adherence to governmentally-mandated standards
Protecting England's healthcare system from cyberattacks

NHS Digital increased cybersecurity preparedness and resilience for the sake of patient care.

Why are healthcare performance measurements important?

There are many reasons why healthcare performance measurements are important to healthcare institutions and society in general:

Good health is more important to people than most other goods or services 1. Society has a strong collective interest in assuring that the healthcare system works to ensure people lead healthy lives as much as possible.

Governments and individuals spend a lot on healthcare. Not only do people collectively and individually spend significant dollars on healthcare (and/or healthcare insurance), these costs have risen quickly over time compared to other economy sectors.

People want to make informed decisions about their healthcare. Objective performance measures help people make better healthcare decisions because they can compare “apples to apples” and seek the best care.

Governmental bodies can make better healthcare polices. Performance measurements provide solid background data for legislative policy discussions about healthcare programs and investments — indicating where improvements in laws and mandates can be made.

Performance measurements provide one of the best ways to spearhead overall health system and hospital improvements by providing solid data on the current state of efficiencies and effectiveness, including:

  • Evaluating and measuring that a facility or individual meets established benchmarks
  • Identifying gaps in care — especially where performance is low, and remediation is needed
  • Recognizing and rewarding above-standard performance — and using these examples to create best practices
  • Securing ongoing data to monitor information about changes in quality of care over time
Using software for healthcare performance measurements

In 2009, the US government created a USD 27 billion incentive program to encourage healthcare providers to adopt EHRs. One of the reasons for the changeover was to give hospitals reliable data for healthcare performance measurements — ultimately increasing efficiency and quality of patient care.

Though EHR acceptance has continued, led by an upsurge in the adoption of cloud-based EHR software, the results have been mixed. According to a Stanford/Harris Poll study 2, 40 percent of primary care physicians believe that there are more EHR challenges than benefits.

In response, software providers have developed advanced healthcare software platforms, which can streamline the EHR process and provide tools to more easily track patient outcomes and patient satisfaction. Using the tools, healthcare institutions can access patient care data that is easy to analyze and act on.

Prioritizing healthcare performance measurements – which are more important?

There are hundreds of healthcare performance measures that a healthcare institution can track. How does an institution decide which measures are the most important?

Alanna Moriarty from Definitive Healthcare points out in her blog 3 that the CMS continues to add and modify quality programs, making it difficult for institutions to prioritize metrics. She suggests ten essential healthcare performance measures:

Length of stay
Measures the length of time between a patient’s admittance and discharge. This metric gives an institution hard data over time on care efficiency.

Readmission rates
Tracks the percentage of patients that are re-admitted within 30 days of their discharge. Hospitals are able to quantify the quality of care patients received. A large percentage of readmissions may mean that patients are receiving substandard care and providers are overlooking complications or relevant patient data.

HCAHPS – patient satisfaction
The Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) survey provides an extensive measurement of patient satisfaction — from care quality to facility cleanliness.

Mortality rates
How many patients die during a hospital stay before being discharged? This measurement indicates how well an institution can stabilize a patient's condition following surgery or another procedure.

Bed utilization rate (or bed occupation rate)
Measures how many hospital beds are being used at any given time. If there are too many hospital beds available, a hospital many lose money because staffing and maintenance costs remain relatively constant — no matter the number of patients.

Hospital incidents
Measures the consequences from unexpected side effects of hospital procedures. The metric is an important indicator of whether a hospital has the procedures in place to give high-quality care without triggering an incident.

CMS program performance initiatives
The CMS has many performance measurement programs designed to reduce costs and improve patient care.  Examples include the Medicare Shared Saving Program, Bundled Payments for Care Improvement (BPCI) program and Fee-For-Service Part B.

Average cost per discharge
Helps hospitals understand where there may be overspending and where they can make the most profit. Hospitals gain useful data, so they can better analyze which patient care costs best improved patient outcomes.

Operating margin
Gauges the institution’s revenues after subtracting all operating costs — though typically, most hospitals do not have a positive margin. If a facility cannot maintain close to break even or better, the ability to enlist staff and provide quality patient services may suffer.

Bad debt
Bad debt is revenue not received — all or in part — for patient care. However, lack of payment is only considered bad debt if there has been an event in a patient's life, such as unemployment, that keeps them from paying for care.

Related solutions
IBM healthcare technology solutions

Improve patient care and operational efficiency with IBM’s advanced healthcare solutions, secure platforms, and robust automation powered by AI.

Explore healthcare technology solutions
Cloud solutions for healthcare and life sciences

Accelerate research, inspire patient confidence with innovative customer experiences, improve system uptime, and make better point-of-care decisions with the cloud.

Explore the solutions
Resources The benefits of AI in healthcare

Artificial intelligence (AI) is being for everything from answering patient questions to assisting with surgeries and developing new pharmaceuticals.

Expertise on call

Humana, a leading health insurance provider, reduced costly pre-service calls and improved the provider experience with conversational AI.

Disrupting healthcare responsibly

Applying design and insights to rethink the way we deliver care.

Take the next step

Learn how IBM helps drives transformation in the healthcare industry with a smarter architecture, modernized core systems, adoption of open standards and scaled data value. 

Explore healthcare technology solutions