什么是最终用户体验监控 (EUEM)?
探索 IBM Instana Observability
两个人在看着台式机显示器

发布日期:2023 年 11 月 27 日
贡献者:Camilo Quiroz Vazquez、Michael Goodwin

什么是最终用户体验监控 (EUEM)?

最终用户体验监控 (EUEM) 是从最终用户的角度监控 IT 运营的性能和有效性的过程。EUEM 提供 IT 和开发运维(DevOps) 团队改进服务和快速解决用户问题所需的数据和洞察,使应用程序更加可靠和高效,并提供更好的用户体验。

IT 团队通过应用程序性能监控(APM)网络性能监控来评估其服务的技术运营情况,但了解最终用户的观点是分析产品和功能的关键。

为了全面了解最终用户体验,EUEM 工具收集并汇总与整个用户旅程相关的数据,包括最终用户设备、应用程序和网络的性能。重要的是要记住,最终用户既可以指使用产品、应用程序或功能的外部客户,也可以指员工。

最终用户体验管理工具提供具有实时分析功能的仪表板,通过实时性能监控、网络连接监控、性能问题根本原因分析以及自动修复这些问题的功能,帮助 IT 部门获得对服务交付的端到端可见性。

通过更深入地了解外部客户和员工对企业 IT 资源的体验,组织可以更好地观察其业务运营。这有助于识别瓶颈和其他性能问题,监控远程工作的生产力,提供更好的产品和服务,并最终改善业务成果等。

请求 Instana 演示

获取 IBM® Instana® Observability 演示,了解如何在几分钟内实现全栈可观察性和监控。

相关内容

订阅 IBM 时事通讯

EUEM 与数字体验监控(DEM)

EUEM 是更大的数字体验监控 (DEM) 生态系统的一部分。DEM 关注应用程序性能和用户体验,而 EUEM 则优先考虑反映最终用户体验的性能指标和监控策略,例如网络延迟、应用程序停机时间、网关监控、Web 应用程序监控、设备性能监控、区域监控和 SaaS 监控。

最终用户体验监控方法

组织可以使用多种最终用户体验管理工具和方法来监控 IT 服务。此类工具旨在为 IT 部门提供解决后端问题并保持服务平稳运行所需的信息。这包括有关应用程序使用情况和性能、网络流量和速度、端点性能等的数据——所有最终影响最终用户体验的因素。

平台可以将主动和被动监控方法结合起来,并深入了解应用程序、设备和网络性能,有助于更全面地了解最终用户体验。

真实用户监控(RUM)

真实用户监控记录真实用户与应用程序、网页或服务的交互。 这种类型的监控可以让 IT 团队了解用户行为以及页面加载时间、跳出率(登陆页面后立即离开网站的用户数量)、最常使用的页面或应用程序,以及是否有业务流程的任何部分未按预期运行。真实用户监控根据设定的指标,利用 JavaScript 代码触发数据收集。

真实用户监控的优势在于,组织可以处理来自真实用户的真实数据。 与综合监控相比,真实用户监控可以提供更准确的用户旅程表示。另一方面,由于这种方法使用实时数据,组织通常会在事后对问题做出反应,而不是实施主动解决方案来解决综合监控测试中突出显示的假设问题。

应用程序性能监视 (APM)

应用程序性能监控通过监控 Web 应用程序、移动应用程序和 SaaS 应用程序的性能来跟踪 IT 服务。APM 工具可帮助跟踪错误率、停机时间和响应时间等指标。这些指标使服务提供商能够深入了解应用程序性能和可用性,以及他们在问题发生时解决问题的速度。

综合监控

综合监控允许 IT 团队对所提供的服务进行自动测试,以保持最佳性能。 与 RUM 不同,综合监控(有时称为综合测试)不依赖于真实用户。综合监控用于创建具有不同变量的测试,例如用户地理位置、网络类型和不同设备,旨在模拟唯一用户的参与度。

综合监控在开发阶段特别有用,可用于测试多种场景,有助于在产品发布之前对其进行优化。从综合测试中收集的数据可用于主动识别可能影响用户满意度的性能瓶颈。

设备性能监控 (DPM)

设备性能监控有时被称为端点监控,涉及从各种用户设备收集数据,包括计算机、本地服务器、移动设备和联网设备(例如医疗设备或制造机械)。 端点监控对于监控内部或外部客户使用的第三方设备上的潜在数据泄露或其他 IT 安全风险等问题尤其重要。

常见的 EUEM 指标

最终用户体验通常使用与用户体验相关的指标和监控解决方案以及跟踪实现既定性能标准进展的 KPI 来衡量。EUEM 产品的监控功能各不相同,但常见的监控指标包括:

网络延迟

EUEM 工具可以监控网络延迟,或数据通过网络从一个点传输到另一个点所需的时间。 低延迟网络的响应速度更快,从而带来更高效的应用程序性能和更积极的用户体验。

所有企业都希望将延迟降至最低,尽管这在某些行业和用例中更为重要。例如:进行数字化转型的组织需要维护低延迟网络,以在整个转型过程中保持员工和客户的生产力。

应用程序停机时间

应用程序中断可能由许多因素引起,例如网络中断、编码错误、云供应商故障、预定更新或安全漏洞。 无论如何,过长的应用程序停机时间都会对用户体验产生负面影响(更不用说收入损失和客户流失了)。监控平均检测时间 (MMTD),即检测到问题所需的时间,以及平均修复时间 (MTTR),即检测到错误后进行故障排除所需的时间,对于最大限度地减少停机时间至关重要。

带宽和吞吐量

带宽是衡量在任何给定时间可以通过网络的数据量的指标,是监控应用程序性能时的一个重要指标。 与衡量系统速度的延迟不同,带宽衡量的是容量。组织希望确保其网络有能力处理流量和用户活动,特别是在高峰使用时段。

了解吞吐量通常更有价值。 带宽衡量可能的容量,而吞吐量衡量在特定时间范围内实际通过网络的平均数据量,同时考虑延迟的影响。 它反映了成功到达的数据包数量和丢失的数据包数量。

监控工具可以跟踪网络流量和系统存储,这使 IT 团队能够优化系统并提前规划,以保持应用程序高效运行,即使在流量高峰期间也是如此。

相关解决方案
IBM Instana Observability 新一代应用性能管理平台

IBM Instana 通过提供一个解决方案来实现可观察性的普及化,任何人都可以使用该解决方案在所需的环境中获取所需的数据。该平台专为云原生而构建,但与技术无关,支持以 1 秒的粒度自动且连续地提供高保真数据,并在移动、网络、应用程序和基础架构的逻辑和物理依赖关系环境中进行端到端跟踪。

探索 Instana 请求 Instana 演示
使用 Instana 进行网站监控

利用 IBM Instana Observability 进行网站监控,可提供自动化、上下文和情报,帮助您更快地解决问题,并确保提供卓越的最终用户体验。

深入了解用例

利用 Instana 进行数字体验监控

IT 团队可以通过运用 IBM Instana Observability 的数字体验监控,从最终用户的角度实时观察应用程序性能问题。凭藉 AI 驱动的全栈可观察性和上下文指标,Instana 有助于识别端点、用户设备和用户使用过程中的性能问题。

深入了解用例

资源 Dealerware 大幅缩短等待时间

自使用 Instana 获得基于云的容器可观测性以来,Dealerware 的 DevOps 团队将交付等待时间缩短了 98%,从 10 分钟缩短到将近 12 秒。

BT Business 革新性能监控

BT Business 帮助其企业客户过渡到现代网络基础设施,从而实现实时性能监控和更高一级的可见性。

无界分析

Instana 的无界分析提供了无限的灵活性,可以从所有未采样的高基数数据中生成新的见解。

采取后续步骤

IBM Instana 提供人人都能使用的实时可观察性。它可以快速实现价值,同时确保您的可观察性策略能够跟上当今和未来环境的动态复杂性。从移动设备到大型机,Instana 支持超过 250 种技术,并且还在不断增加。

探索 IBM Instana 预约实时演示

What is end user experience monitoring (EUEM)?
Explore IBM's EUEM solution Subscribe to AI Topic Updates
Illustration with collage of pictograms of gear, robotic arm, mobile phone

Published: 27 November 2023
Contributors: Camilo Quiroz Vazquez, Michael Goodwin

What is end user experience monitoring (EUEM)?

End user experience monitoring (EUEM) is the process that mornitors the performance and effectiveness of IT operations from the end user’s perspective. EUEM provides data and insight that IT and DevOps teams need to improve services and quickly solve user issues.

IT teams engage in application performance monitoring (APM) and network performance monitoring to evaluate the technical operations of their service, but understanding the end user’s point of view is key to analyzing the functionality of products and features. EUEM helps to make applications more reliable and efficient while providing a better user experience.

To gain a comprehensive understanding of the end-user experience, EUEM tools collect and aggregate data that relates to the entire user journey, including the performance of end-user devices, applications and networks. It is important to remember that an end user can refer to both an external customer who is using a product, application or feature as well as an employee.

End user experience management tools offer dashboards with real-time analytics that help IT departments gain end-to-end visibility into service delivery with capabilities for real-time performance monitoring, network connectivity monitoring, root cause analysis of performance issues and the automated remediation of those issues. 

With a stronger understanding of external customer and employee experiences with enterprise IT resources, organizations gain greater observability over business operations. This helps identify bottlenecks and other performance issues, monitor the productivity of remote work, offer better products and services and ultimately improve business outcomes, among other benefits.

Smarter artificial intelligence for IT operations (AIOps)

Learn how both APM and ARM can enable faster decisions and resource application.

Related content

Read a guide to intelligent automation

EUEM versus digital experience monitoring (DEM)

EUEM is part of the greater digital experience monitoring (DEM) ecosystem. While DEM focuses on both application performance and user experience, EUEM prioritizes performance metrics and monitoring strategies—like network latency, application downtime, gateway monitoring, web application monitoring, device performance monitoring, regional monitoring and SaaS monitoring—that reflect the end user experience.

End user experience monitoring methods

There are a number of end user experience management tools and approaches organizations can employ to monitor IT services. Such tools are designed to give IT departments the information needed to resolve issues on the back end and keep services running smoothly. This includes data on app usage and performance, network traffic and speeds, endpoint performance and more—all factors that ultimately influence the end user experience.

A platform that can combine active and passive monitoring approaches, as well as insight into application, device and network performance, helps construct a more comprehensive picture of the end user experience.

Real user monitoring (RUM)

Real user monitoring logs real user interaction with an application, web page or service. This type of monitoring can give IT teams visibility into user behavior as well as page load times, the bounce rate—the number of users who leave a site immediately after landing on a page—the top pages or applications used and if any part of the business process is not functioning as expected. Real user monitoring leverages JavaScript code to trigger the collection of data based on set metrics.

An advantage of real user monitoring is that organizations are dealing with real data from real users. Compared to synthetic monitoring, real user monitoring might provide a more accurate representation of the user journey. On the other hand, because this method uses real-time data, organizations are often reacting to issues after the fact, rather than implementing proactive solutions that address hypothetical problems highlighted in synthetic monitoring tests.

Application performance monitoring (APM)

Application performance monitoring tracks IT services through the performance of web applications, mobile apps and SaaS applications. APM tools help track metrics like error rates, downtime and response time. These metrics give service providers insights into application performance and availability and how quickly they are troubleshooting issues as they occur.

Synthetic monitoring

Synthetic monitoring allows IT teams to run automated tests of the services provided to maintain optimized performance. Unlike RUM, synthetic monitoring or synthetic testing does not rely on real users. Instead, it is used to create tests with different variables such as user geographic location, network types and different devices intended to simulate the engagement of unique users.

Synthetic monitoring is particularly useful in the development stage and can be used to test multiple scenarios that aid in the optimization of products before they are launched. Data collected from synthetic testing can be used to proactively identify performance bottlenecks that could impact user satisfaction.

Device performance monitoring (DPM)

Sometimes called endpoint monitoring, device performance monitoring pertains to the collection of data from various user devices including computers, on-premises servers, mobile devices and network connected devices such as medical equipment or manufacturing machinery. Endpoint monitoring is particularly important for monitoring issues like potential data breaches or other IT security risks on third-party devices used by internal or external customers.

Common EUEM metrics

End user experience is generally measured using metrics and monitoring solutions relevant to user experience and KPIs that track progress toward defined performance standards. EUEM products vary in their monitoring capabilities, but commonly monitored metrics include:

Network latency

EUEM tools can monitor network latency, or the amount of time it takes for data to travel from one point to another across a network. Low latency networks have faster response times leading to more efficient application performance and a more positive user experience.

All businesses want to keep latency to a minimum, though it’s more crucial in certain industries and use cases than others. For example, organizations leading digital transformations will need to maintain low latency networks to maintain productivity among employees and customers throughout the transition.

Application downtime

Application outages can be caused by many factors, like network interruptions, coding errors, cloud vendor failures, scheduled updates or security breaches. In any case, extended application downtime can negatively impact user experience (to say nothing of lost revenue and clients). Monitoring the mean time to detection (MMTD), or the time it takes to detect an issue and the mean time to remediation (MTTR), the amount of time it takes to troubleshoot an error once it is detected, is crucial to minimizing downtime.

Bandwidth and throughput

Bandwidth—a measure of the volume of data that can pass through a network at any given time—is an important metric when monitoring application performance. Unlike latency, which measures a system’s speed, bandwidth measures capacity. Organizations will want to ensure that their network has the capacity to handle traffic and user activity, particularly during times of peak use.

Understanding throughput is often even more valuable. While bandwidth measures possible capacity, throughput measures the average amount of data that actually passes through a network in a specific timeframe, taking into account the impact of latency. It reflects the number of data packets that arrive successfully and the amount of data packet loss. 

Monitoring tools can keep track of network traffic and system storage, which allows IT teams to optimize systems and plan ahead to keep applications running efficiently, even during peak traffic periods.

Related solutions 
IBM Instana™ Observability

IBM Instana democratizes observability by providing a solution that anyone and everyone can use to get the data they want with the context they need. Purpose-built for cloud native yet technology-agnostic, the platform automatically and continuously provides high fidelity data—1 second granularity and end-to-end traces—with the context of logical and physical dependencies across mobile, web, applications, and infrastructure.

Explore Instana Request an Instana demo
Website monitoring with Instana

Website monitoring with IBM Instana Observability delivers the automation, context and intelligence to solve issues faster and ensure a superior end user experience.

Explore the use case

Digital experience monitoring with Instana

Digital experience monitoring with IBM Instana Observability makes it possible for your IT teams to observe application performance issues in real time, from an end user’s perspective. With AI-powered, full-stack observability and contextual metrics, Instana helps identify performance issues across endpoints, user devices and user journeys. 

Explore the use case

Resources  Dealerware stops latency in its tracks

Since using Instana for cloud-based container observability, the DevOps team at Dealerware was able to reduce delivery latency by 98%—from 10 minutes to nearly 12 seconds.

BT Business transforms performance monitoring

BT Business helps its enterprise customers transition to modern network infrastructures enabling real-time performance monitoring and a new level of visibility.

Unbounded Analytics

Instana's Unbounded Analytics provides infinite flexibility to generate new insights from all unsampled, high-cardinality data.

Take the next step

IBM Instana provides real-time observability that everyone and anyone can use. It delivers quick time-to-value while verifying that your observability strategy can keep up with the dynamic complexity of current and future environments. From mobile to mainframe, Instana supports over 250 technologies and growing. 

Explore IBM Instana Book a live demo