企业新员工入职流程管理

By Talent Management

将新员工整合到企业人才队伍当中,实现企业长期成功发展

什么是入职流程?

入职是将新员工引入企业及其文化的过程。这一过程能够帮助新员工获取融汇正确的知识和技能,进而履行自己的新职责。帮助员工适应新环境的策略包括情况介绍、培训、指导和员工社交活动。

在幕后,招聘经理还负责处理入职管理和后勤工作,例如设置福利和工资,以及为新员工提供工作设备。

很多企业都拥有某种形式的入职流程。但是,由于企业规模和招聘需求不同,入职流程方法和复杂程度也可能存在巨大差别。

入职流程可能非常简单,比如包含特别面谈、参观公司大楼和签署一些表格。但另一方面,大型企业可能管理着数千名员工,需要依靠入职管理软件、员工门户网站、情况介绍计划和员工培训等来整合他们的新人才。

此外,一些行业必须根据服务需求的波动(比如,零售行业的节假日购物或税务季节等)来管理其员工队伍。如果需要短期招聘来满足数量需求,那么招聘重点就不会放在员工保留上。让新员工快速上手才是最重要的。

那些实现入职流程规范化和自动化的企业,已经通过简化流程、减少文书工作和提高生产力来提升整体效率并降低成本。另一大好处是管理人员有更多时间专注于增值的入职活动,这可以进一步使新员工受益。

据 Aberdeen Group 称,54% 拥有正式入职流程的企业发现他们的新员工生产率更高,此类企业中有 50% 其新员工保留率也更高。

从求职到入职:随时随地在任何设备上完成了解如何在用户选择的任何设备上,随时随地为求职者提供从求职到入职的透明且响应迅速的体验。观看视频

为何入职流程如此重要

高效的入职流程可以帮助新员工,让他们为成功做好准备。他们越快适应新职责,就能越早开始为企业贡献价值。

引进人才是第一步。第二步就是要留住人才。平均而言,新入职的员工在前三个月就会流失 17%。[2] 这可能意味着投资和生产率方面的巨大损失。

积极的入职体验是员工保留的关键。IBM 智慧团队研究院 (IBM Smarter Workforce Institute) 称,如果员工对接受当前的工作感到后悔,那么他们有三倍的可能性会选择离职。相反,积极的员工入职流程可以帮助减少此类情况。

其他研究表明,企业应该花费长达一年的时间来帮助员工来赶上工作进度,并充分利用他们为企业带来的技能和知识。在某些情况下,成功的入职计划不仅有助于留住新员工,还可以转化为更高的利润。[3]

良好的入职流程可以明确员工保留和长期任职的价值。它们使企业能够整合新员工并创造合适的环境,帮助企业长期成功发展。

https://www.ibm.com/blogs/watson-talent/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Data-Graphic-1_with-legend.png

高效入职流程的主要特征

员工可以做出贡献并受到重视的积极环境,可以带来更高的生产率。获得最积极工作体验的员工,其寻找新工作的可能性要低三倍。[4]

通过在一开始整合新员工并与之积极互动,企业可以帮助他们成为有价值的贡献者。考虑到这一点,这里提供了一些入职流程的最佳实践,可供参考:

培养新员工的社区意识 – 招聘经理可以在早期定期记录,并指派老员工担任导师。

落实正确的工具和资源 – 人力资源部门希望为新员工提供在工作开始之前共享信息的方法。同样,他们可以简要描述有助于他们开展工作的工具和流程。

就入职流程的重要性及管理者行动的影响对管理者进行培训 – 如果管理者能够在新员工入职当天及之后的一周内与其亲密互动,那么新员工未来离职的可能性就会降低很多。

借助技术手段来改进入职体验 – 在线社区和入职软件可以让过渡过程更顺畅、更便捷。

成功案例:

Dave & Buster’s 通过 IBM Kenexa 找到招聘的乐趣

Dave & Buster’s 餐厅需要一个合作伙伴来帮助他们找到“乐趣大使 (Fun Ambassador)”,以确保每位客人都能获得最佳体验。酒店服务业的人员流动量非常大,而这家公司也一直在寻找合适的人才。IBM Kenexa 人才管理软件可以帮助企业找到合适的人才。

求职者可以获得无缝的职位申请流程体验。他们在浏览企业网站的招聘页面时,就可以直接在线申请。招聘人员还可以对早期团队成员进行在线评估,并直接在人才管理应用程序中查看评估结果。

“从求职者提交申请,到背景调查,再到入职,整个流程都可以自动执行。一切都变得更简单,我们甚至不需要触摸任何按钮。”Kerri Walters,Dave & Buster’s 人力资源信息系统经理 阅读成功案例

H&R Block 最大限度提升当天招聘效率

H&R Block 采用现场季节性招聘流程,在每个税收季节临时雇用 80,000 名在税务所任职的员工。在 IBM 的帮助下,该公司使用求职者跟踪和自动化来分散招聘任务。招聘经理可以访问系统并审核自己的候选人,并自行发放录用通知书。

该公司还能够实施当天招聘计划。数以千计的求职者申请职位、收到录用信并完成入职 - 只需 24 小时!

“在采用这些工具之前,我们的旧有模式是安排很多员工坐在电脑前,点击按钮,将候选人移动到新的 HR 状态或发送通信或检查状态。而现在,我们已经实施了相当多的自动化工具,这让我们能够重新利用这些后台运营团队来开展更多的增值活动。Katie Waldo,H&R Block 人才招聘经理 观看视频

Red Lobster:寻找、吸引和培养人才

Red Lobster(一家连锁餐厅)希望找到缩短招聘流程并找到更合适候选人的方法。由于招聘经理不是专业招聘人员,因此最大限度地减少他们在申请审核过程中花费的时间非常重要。

在 IBM Kenexa 软件的帮助下,该公司已经能够部署工具和应用程序资源,帮助简化不同领域(包括小时工)的招聘。

“我们希望事半功倍。缩短候选人需要花费的时间,同时更好地预测谁是最佳候选人。IBM 为我们指明了方向。”Jim Hughes,Red Lobster Seafood Company 人力资源高级总监 观看视频

IBM 博客:

产品:

资源:

我该留下还是跳槽?深入了解企业如何吸引新人才,哪些因素会驱使人才流失。立即阅读

充分利用与求职者的首次互动 了解如何在新员工与公司的首次互动中建立信任和吸引力。观看视频

来源:

[1]http://aberdeenessentials.com/hcm-essentials/perfecting-onboarding-funnel/

[2]https://www.shrm.org/resourcesandtools/hr-topics/talent-acquisition/pages/onboarding-key-retaining-engaging-talent.aspx

[3]https://hbr.org/2017/06/your-new-hires-wont-succeed-unless-you-onboard-them-properly

[4]https://public.dhe.ibm.com/common/ssi/ecm/lo/en/low14354usen/collaboration-and-talent-solutions-ibm-collaboration-solutions-white-paper-external-low14354usen-20180606.pdf

What is an onboarding process?

By Talent Management

Integrate new hires into your organization for long-term success

What is an onboarding process?

Onboarding is a process that introduces new employees to an organization and its culture. Onboarding helps them integrate and gain the right knowledge and skills to carry out their new responsibilities. Strategies to help a worker become acclimated include orientation, training, mentoring and employee social events.

Behind the scenes, hiring managers also handle onboarding administration and logistics such as setting up benefits and payroll, and providing equipment for new employees.

Many organizations have some form of onboarding process. However, it can range widely in approach and complexity, depending on company size and hiring requirements.

Onboarding may be as simple as an ad-hoc interview, a tour of the building and signing a few forms. On the other hand, large organizations may manage thousands of workers and depend on onboarding software, employee portals, orientation programs, training and more to integrate their new talent.

In addition, some industries have to manage their workforce based on fluctuations in service demand such as retail holiday shopping or tax season. Where short term hiring is needed to meet volume, there is less focus on retention. Getting workers up to speed quickly is what counts.

Those organizations that formalize and automate their onboarding programs have seen efficiency gains and lower costs from streamlining processes, reducing paperwork and increasing productivity. Another benefit is more time for managers to focus on value-added onboarding activities, which can further benefit a new employee.

According to the Aberdeen Group, 54 percent of organizations with a formal onboarding process find that their new hires are more productive, and 50 percent also experience greater retention of new workers.[1]

Job seeking through onboarding: Anytime, anywhere and on any device See how to provide a transparent and responsive experience for jobseekers, from job search through onboarding, on any device of the user’s choice. Watch video

Why the onboarding process is important

An effective onboarding process assists new employees and sets them up for success. The faster they adjust to their new responsibilities, the sooner they can start to contribute value to the business.

Bringing in talent is the first step. The second is holding onto workers once they are on board. On average, companies lose 17 percent of their new hires in the first three months.[2] This can mean significant costs in lost investment and productivity.

Positive onboarding experiences are key to worker retention. When employees have regrets about accepting their current job, they’re three times as likely to want to leave, says the IBM Smarter Workforce Institute. Conversely, positive employee onboarding can reduce these outcomes.

Other research suggests organizations should spend up to a year to help employees get up to speed, and capitalize on the skills and knowledge they bring to the enterprise. In some cases, successful onboarding programs not only help to retain new hires, but can translate into increased profit.[3]

Good onboarding processes recognize the value of employee retention and the long game. They enable organizations to integrate new hires and create the right environment for their long-term success.

https://www.ibm.com/blogs/watson-talent/wp-content/uploads/2018/02/Data-Graphic-1_with-legend.png

Key features of an effective onboarding process

A positive environment, where workers can contribute and are valued, is associated with greater productivity. And employees with the most positive experiences are three times less likely to search for a new job.[4]

By engaging and integrating new hires at the outset, companies can help them become valued contributors. With that in mind, here are a few onboarding best practices companies may want to consider:

Foster a sense of community among new hires – Hiring managers can check in regularly during the early days and assign existing employees to be mentors.

Put the right tools and resources in place – HR may want to provide a means for new hires to share information before their start date. As well, they can outline the tools and processes that are available to help them.

Train managers on the importance of onboarding and the impact of their actions – When managers spend time with their new hires on the first day and throughout the first week, job regrets are much lower.

Use technology to enhance the onboarding experience – An online community and onboarding software can smooth and streamline the transition process.

Case studies:

Dave & Buster’s finds the fun in hiring with IBM Kenexa

Dave & Buster’s needed a partner to help them find “Fun Ambassadors” to ensure every guest has the best experience possible. Turnover is high in the hospitality industry, and the company is constantly looking for talent. IBM Kenexa talent software helps the organization find the right people with the right personality.

The application process is seamless for applicants. As soon as they go to the company’s career page, they can apply online. Recruiters can also do online assessments for early team members, and see the assessment results directly in the talent application.

“We can go from somebody applying to automatically moving them to a background check to automatically moving them to onboarding. All of this makes it simpler and we don't have to touch any buttons.” Kerri Walters, HRIS Manager, Dave & Buster’s Read success story

H&R Block maximizes same day hiring

H&R Block uses field seasonal hiring processes to hire its 80,000 tax office associates for each tax season. With the help of IBM, the company uses applicant tracking and automation to decentralize hiring tasks. Hiring managers can access the system and review their own candidates, and extend offers themselves.

The company has also been able to implement a same-day hiring initiative. It allows thousands of associates to apply for a job, receive an offer and complete their onboarding within 24 hours.

“Before we implemented these tools, we had many people sitting behind the scenes clicking buttons to move a candidate to a new HR status or send a communication or check on status. We have now implemented quite a bit of automation that has allowed us to repurpose these back-office operations teams for much more value-added activities.” Katie Waldo, Manager, Talent Acquisition, H&R Block Watch video

Red Lobster: Finding, attracting and nurturing talent

Red Lobster was looking for ways to shorten the hiring process and find better candidates. Since hiring managers are not professional recruiters, it was important to minimize the amount of time they spent in the application review process.

With the help of IBM Kenexa software, the company has been able to deploy tools and application resources that help streamline hiring in different areas of the organization including the hourly workforce.

“We wanted to get more from less. To shorten the amount of time that a candidate needed to spend but get greater predictability of who were the best candidates out of the process. IBM helped shepherd us through that.” Jim Hughes, Senior Director of Human Resources, Red Lobster Seafood Company Watch video

IBM blogs:

Products:

Resources:

Should I stay or should I go? Gain insights into how organizations can reach new talent and what could be driving talent away. Read now

Engage job seekers on their first interaction See how to build trust and engagement in a new hire’s first interaction with your company. Watch video

Sources:

[1] http://aberdeenessentials.com/hcm-essentials/perfecting-onboarding-funnel/

[2] https://www.shrm.org/resourcesandtools/hr-topics/talent-acquisition/pages/onboarding-key-retaining-engaging-talent.aspx

[3] https://hbr.org/2017/06/your-new-hires-wont-succeed-unless-you-onboard-them-properly

[4] https://public.dhe.ibm.com/common/ssi/ecm/lo/en/low14354usen/collaboration-and-talent-solutions-ibm-collaboration-solutions-white-paper-external-low14354usen-20180606.pdf