什么是职业评估?

Talent Management

使用职业评估来雇用并留住合适的人才,助力您的企业实现发展

请回答“是”或“否”。 “我宁愿更快完成工作,而不是做的完美。”[1]

听起来很耳熟吗?如果是这样,您可能已经主动或被动接受过某种职业评估或评测。为什么要进行职业评估?

人力资源 (HR) 专业人士面临着招聘和留住正确人才的挑战。将近四分之三的雇主企业表示他们雇用了错误的候选人来担任某一职务。[2]人力资源部门领导表示人才保留和员工流动已经连续第三年成为他们面临的首要挑战。[3]

职业评估可以提供帮助。职业评估是一系列分析测试和分析工具,可以评测候选人的技能、行为、偏好、个性和能力等属性,帮助您预先确定候选人适合相应职位或职业道路的程度。这些测试和工具还可以通过评估员工的职业目标和企业内的职业发展机会来帮助您留住人才。

职业评估可以是自助服务,也可以由人力资源专业人员或职业顾问来进行。评估围绕一连串问题和不同类型的回答(多项选择、填空、是非问答)而构建,涉及一系列属性,包括兴趣、价值观、偏好、动机、能力、技能、行为风格等。经过分析并以表格形式呈现的回答提供了关于候选人的深度信息,可以帮助确认或更清楚地说明什么职业和环境最符合候选人的特质。

职业评估可以是正式的或非正式的,但通常建立在科学原则基础之上。有定性和定量两种方法。一些评估应用关键发展指标或 KDI,将衡量结果与特定组织或企业的职业类型进行汇总和匹配。斯特朗兴趣量表 (Strong Interest Inventory) 和 MBTI 人格类型量表 (Myers Briggs Type Indicator) 等评估工具的范围更广,但也可用于职业评估环境。

Audiopedia – 什么是职业评估?观看视频

为什么职业评估如此重要?职业评估可以帮助您改进对整体业务有影响的各种关键人力资源衡量。例如,根据 CareerBuilder 的一项调查,聘用错误的候选人可能会令公司在一年内损失约 14,900 美元。如果聘用了错误的候选人,雇主企业将会面临生产率和工作质量下降等问题。此外,替换和培训职位安排不当的员工也将耗费大量时间。

做出正确的雇佣决策:通过正式和非正式的评估,您可以确定候选人的个性、个人档案、解决问题的能力以及职位或组织匹配度。这些信息可以将人才资源库的重点集中在高潜力候选人身上,并根据他们的工作经历(技能)、将会从事什么工作(特质)以及想要做什么(适合的岗位)来帮助预测他们的表现。

减少人员流失和人员流动:评估对员工也很重要。找到与员工所具备技能、经验、行为方式和文化舒适度相匹配的工作机会,有助于员工充分发挥潜力。这些员工将会忠诚于自己所在的岗位,从而有助于企业提高生产率并减少与人员流失和流动相关的成本。

培养人才:基于评估的人才咨询工具可以帮助您留住和培养人才。职业规划导师会将员工的职业目标与企业的业务发展目标相匹配。在这种双赢的情况下,员工会变得更加投入,因为他们能够与在线职业规划导师合作,发掘自身潜力并寻找公司内部的职业发展机会。与从外界寻求人才和提高员工敬业度相比,在降低招聘成本的同时培养人才有助于减少员工流失。

IBM Kenexa ® Assessments 解决方案简介和目录 利用职业评估为特定工作岗位选择合适的人员。阅读简介

高效职业评估的主要特性 Career Assessment Goddess 提出,高效的职业评估具备以下两个主要特性:有效性 – 评估工具实际所衡量的内容与其设计初衷是否一致?可靠性 – 如果是这样,它能否保持始终准确、一致地衡量测量这些内容,例如,如果测试对象是不同的候选人,结果是否一致? 

要帮助提升有效性和可靠性,可借助以下要素:

以科学为依据:寻找使用输入信息构建的或基于博士级专家或行业/组织 (I/O) 执业心理学家研究成果的评估工具。企业自己编制的评估意义不大。

深度内容:可靠的评估提供商应该在各种职位类型(从文员到高管)和衡量标准中展示深层内容:工作方式偏好、工作经验、公司文化、价值观和偏好;以及从入职到成为未来公司领导者培养的人力资源目标。

技术支持:可在各种应用程序中在线进行职业评估。此外,高级评估功能可以将人工智能和高效分析功能应用到评估任务中,帮助减少工作量并提高评估的准确性。

可消费性:检查输入信息:人力资源专业人员通常不是 IT 专家。您需要能够以简单、灵活、自然的方式操作、控制和优化评估工具。还要检查输出信息:如果无法理解或使用评估结果,那么即使是世界上最有效、最可靠的报告也不会有太大意义。其中的挑战在于,找到有意义的输出信息并应用于决策,以及提供有关个人档案、后续问题和后续步骤的详细信息。

数据驱动:准确的职业评估的主要优势之一是,它们使用分析来帮助您做出基于事实的决策,而不是依靠直觉和本能。寻求那些以尽可能多的方式处理和分析大量数据的优质职业评估提供商。

IBM ® 在 IDC MarketScape:全球现代化人才获取系统 2017 年供应商评估当中被评为领导者 - 职业评估功能帮助打造更强大的 IBM 人才招聘解决方案。阅读报告,了解更多信息并评估其他提供商。阅读报告

成功案例

ATB Financial - 了解 ATB Financial 如何利用 HR Analytics 了解员工敬业度对忠诚度和成功率的影响。

Recruit-Drive - 当职位申请者人数众多时,您如何才能找到最适合某个职位的候选人?Recruit-Drive 看到了一个机会,能够使用分析来帮助雇主降低招聘工作的复杂性。阅读成功案例

Orlando Health - 为了在瞬息万变的临床环境中推动人才培养和保留,Orlando Health 寻求一种快速且经济高效的方式来管理数千名医护人员。阅读成功案例

Red Lobster - Red Lobster 利用 IBM Kenexa Talent Acquisition Suite,缩短了招聘流程,找到了更合适的求职者。观看视频

博客 关于人才管理转型的对话

在博客中参与对话 https://www.ibm.com/smarter-workforce

产品

来源:

[1]雇主评估人才个性特质时会提出的 6 个样例问题,Shana Lebowitz,Business Insider,2015 年 7 月 16 日 http://www.businessinsider.com/sample-questions-on-personality-tests-2015-7

[2]是否像特朗普总统计划解雇司法部长 Jeff Sessions 一样,后悔雇用了某个员工?解决方案就在这里,Meera Jagannathan,Moneyish,2018 年 5 月 30 日 https://moneyish.com/ish/regret-hiring-that-terrible-new-employee-heres-what-to-do/

[3]美国人力资源管理协会研究发现,员工保留仍然是劳动力领域面临的首要挑战,Staffing Industry Analysts,2018 年 1 月 25 日 https://www2.staffingindustry.com/site/Editorial/Daily-News/Employee-retention-remains-top-workforce-challenge-SHRM-survey-finds-44838

[4]Career assessment,维基百科 https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Career_assessment

What are career assessments?

By Talent Management

Use career assessments to hire the right people and build careers that help your business

Please respond ‘yes’ or ‘no.’ “I’d rather do things quickly than perfectly.”[1]

Sound familiar? If it does, you have probably taken a type of career assessment or evaluation. Or given one. Why?

Human Resources (HR) professionals face a continuous challenge onboarding the right talent and keeping it. Almost three out of four employers say they have hired the wrong candidate for a position.[2] HR leaders site retention and turnover as their top challenges for the third straight year.[3]

Career assessments can help. They’re analytical testing and analysis tools that can measure attributes such as skills, behaviors, preferences, personalities and aptitudes to help you pre-determine how well a candidate will fit a corresponding position or career path. They can also help you retain talent by assessing employees’ career goals and fit for opportunities within your business.

Career assessments can be self-service or conducted by a human resources professionals or career counselors. They are built around batteries of questions and different types of responses (multiple choice, fill in the blank, yes/no) across a range of attributes, including interests, values, preferences, motivations, aptitudes, skills, behavioral style and more. Tabulated and analyzed responses provide insights into the candidate and help confirm or give greater clarity to what careers and environments best align with a candidate’s attributes.

Career assessments can be formal and informal, but are usually built on scientific principles. There are both quantitative and qualitative approaches. Some assessments apply key development indicators or KDIs that aggregate and align measurements with types of careers for a specific organization or business. Assessments such as Strong Interest Inventory and the Myers Briggs Type Indicator are broader in scope, but can also be used in a career assessment context.[4]

The Audiopedia – What is career assessment? Watch the video

Why are career assessments important? Career assessments can help you improve in a variety of critical HR measurements that have an impact on overall business. Hiring the wrong candidate, for example, can cost companies about $14,900 over a year according to a CareerBuilder survey. When it happens, employers see a decrease in productivity and work quality. Plus, the time for replacing and training the misplaced employee.[2]

Make the right hire: Through formal and informal assessments, you can ascertain a candidate’s personality, biography, problem-solving ability and job/organizational fit. This information can concentrate the hiring pool to high-potential candidates and help predict how they will perform based on what they have done (skills), what they will do (traits) and what that they want to do (fit).

Reduce attrition and turnover: The assessment is also critical to the employee. Finding an opportunity that fits their skills, experience, behavior style and cultural comfort level helps them fulfill their potential. These are employees that will stick around, increase productivity and reduce costs associated with attrition and turnover.

Develop your talent: Assessment-based, talent-consulting tools can help you keep and develop talent. Career coaches align your employee’s career goals with your business goals. In this win-win scenario, employees become more engaged as they work with an online coach to uncover potential in themselves and opportunities in your company. Developing talent within lowers hiring costs compared to looking outside and improved employee engagement helps cut attrition.

IBM Kenexa® Assessments Solution Brief and Catalog Choosing the right person for the right job using career assessments. Read the brief

Key features of effective career assessments According to Career Assessment Goddess, two key factors for effective career assessments are: Validity – does the assessment truly measure what it is designed to measure? Reliability – if so, does it accurately and consistently measure those things over time, for example, if the test is given to different candidates, are the results consistent? 

Elements to look for to help with validity and reliability:

Based on science: Look for assessment tools that are built using input or are based on research from Ph.D.-level experts or licensed Industrial/Organizational (I/O) psychologists. Home brew won’t do.

Deep content: A reliable assessment provider should show deep content across a range of job types (clerical to executive) and measurements: work style preferences, acquired experience, company culture, values and preferences; and HR goals from onboarding to development of future company leaders.

Technology-enabled: Career assessments are available online in a variety of applications. Even better, advanced assessment capabilities can bring artificial intelligence and high-powered analytics to the task to reduce your work while boosting the accuracy of the assessment.

Consumability: Check out the input: HR professionals, usually, are not IT experts. You need to be able to navigate, control and optimize an assessment tool in an easy, flexible, natural way. And the output: The most valid, reliable report in the world won’t mean much if you can’t understand it or use it. The challenge is finding output that makes sense and informs decisions and also delivers details in terms of profiles, follow-up questions and next steps.

Data-driven: One of the key advantages of accurate career assessments is that they use analytics to help you make fact-based decisions, rather than relying on intuition and instinct. Look for providers that know what they’re doing in terms of handling and analyzing data — lots of it and in as many ways possible.

IBM® named a leader in the IDC MarketScape: Worldwide Modern Talent Acquisition Systems 2017 Vendor Assessment Career assessment capabilities are helping power IBM talent acquisition solutions. Read the report to learn more and evaluate other providers. Read the report

Case studies

ATB Financial See how ATB Financial is leveraging HR Analytics to understand how employee engagement impacts loyalty and success. Watch the video

Recruit-Drive When it seems like everyone’s applying to your business, how can you find the candidates best-suited to a role? Recruit-Drive saw a chance to use analytics to help employers cut through complexity. Read the case study

Orlando Health To drive talent development and retention in a fast-changing clinical environment, Orlando Health looked for a rapid, cost-effective way to manage competencies for thousands of healthcare employees. Read the case study

Red Lobster Red Lobster shortens the hiring process and finds better candidates with IBM Kenexa Talent Acquisition Suite. Watch the video

Blog Conversations about transforming talent management

Join the conversation on the blog https://www.ibm.com/smarter-workforce

Products

Sources:

[1] 6 sample questions employers ask to assess your personality, Shana Lebowitz, Business Insider, July 16, 2015 http://www.businessinsider.com/sample-questions-on-personality-tests-2015-7

[2] Regret hiring an employee, like Trump with Jeff Sessions? Here’s what to do, Meera Jagannathan, Moneyish, May 30, 2018 https://moneyish.com/ish/regret-hiring-that-terrible-new-employee-heres-what-to-do/

[3] Employee Retention Remains Top Workforce Challenge, SHRM Study Finds, Staffing Industry Analysts, January 25, 2018 https://www2.staffingindustry.com/site/Editorial/Daily-News/Employee-retention-remains-top-workforce-challenge-SHRM-survey-finds-44838

[4] Career assessment, Wikipedia https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Career_assessment