让我们重新思考零售运营
观看视频 (02:52)
已连接到服务的手机图示

假设您要为一家新公司设计零售运营流程,您将如何行动?您将如何实现自动化以改善交易体验?

让我们重新思考 IT 开发运维

查看所有章节

透明度对于交易体验至关重要。您的客户希望了解他们何时可以获得产品。作为零售商,您希望更好地管理库存的存放位置,以便尽可能让客户能够轻松访问。 Eileen Lowry 产品管理副总裁 IBM Automation

“如果您的交易体验 – 即留住客户或吸引客户购买商品的关键 – 不够理想,他们就会转向您的竞争对手,”IBM Automation 产品管理副总裁 Eileen Lowry 表示,“归根结底,那就是业务形式。”

Lowry 表示,为了保持竞争力,零售商需要一种能够实现无缝交易的全渠道战略。交易体验本身包含许多不同的步骤和子流程,但假如 Lowry 要为一家新公司设计零售运营流程,她会专注于库存流程。

零售商必须执行所有这些点对点检查,因为他们随着时间推移创建的点对点系统集成缩小了库存可能存放位置的范围。 Eileen Lowry 产品管理副总裁 IBM Automation

IBM 的“重新思考与自动化”系列邀请领导者通过从全新的角度进行处理并拥抱自动化来重新构想常见的业务和 IT 流程。根据信息技术公司 Capgemini 发布的一份报告(ibm.com 外部链接),零售业通过实施自动化流程以更高效地运行从客户退货到供应链管理、更新客户数据库和库存等所有流程,每年可以节省 3,000 亿美元。在交易体验方面,自动化可以帮助零售商更好地响应消费者需求并对实时事件和趋势做出反应。

执行操作

通过免费的自动化创新研讨会,了解改进零售运营流程的新方法。

立即注册

Lowry 为考虑改进端到端库存流程的零售商提供了一个建议:优先考虑 API 管理。API 和 API 管理软件的使用对于设计更好的库存流程至关重要,因为您可以获得准确的库存检查。借助 API,您能够向公司内的其他内部部门和系统以及外部第三方开发人员和合作伙伴开放应用程序的数据和功能。

库存数据必须与许多其他系统通信:销售点系统、促销系统和财务绩效系统等。“从这些 API 中提取的信息必须非常准确,这一点至关重要,”Lowry 说,因为通过这些信息可以获得透明度。“透明度对于交易体验至关重要。您的客户希望了解他们何时可以获得产品,因为他们要在您和竞争对手之间做出选择。作为零售商,您希望更好地管理库存的存放位置,以便尽可能让客户能够轻松访问。”

根据在线或店铺发生的情况,集成可以启动应用程序来移动库存或更改促销活动。 Eileen Lowry 产品管理副总裁 IBM Automation

通过使用 API 管理软件,零售商可以立即了解所有库存点的概况。API 可以集成并自动触发系统之间以及应用程序之间的信息。然后,零售商开始查看库存是在仓库、配送中心还是实体店中。“您还可以创建和管理 API,以了解可以在哪方面实现盈利,”Lowry 说。对于零售商来说,这是一个巨大的自动化机遇。

如果没有集成,就无法实现自动化

我们可以采用许多方法在应用程序之间连接和交换数据。构建单独的点对点链路成本高昂且难以管理。应用程序之间以 API 为主导的集成可以简化信息交换或 API 的“请求和响应”。与此同时,借助自动化可以发现或触发新的盈利机会。正如 Lowry 解释的那样,“根据在线或店铺发生的情况,例如,这些集成可以启动不同的应用程序来移动库存或更改促销活动。”

以下是一个真实示例,说明了以 API 为主导的集成如何让零售商及其客户从中受益。假如您想通过限时抢购来移动库存。您知道,同时提供店内提货和送货服务可能会增加销售额。为了帮助客户在提货或送货之间做出选择,您的库存流程需要显示有关这两个选项的信息。当客户选择商品时,应用程序需要查询所有本地店铺,以检查库存水平。作为零售商,您可以将每个店铺的库存水平公开为 API,并且应用程序可以使用客户的位置来显示距离最近且有库存的店铺列表。

如果客户想要预订商品或订购商品且要求送货,则可以使用额外的自动化集成流程来确保库存不会超售,并确定本地送货费用和时间窗口。如果产品的销售速度不够快,也可以使用自动化来触发促销申请。

6 个月内即可看到成果

Lowry 表示,如果一家公司要实施集成和自动化来改进库存流程,那么它可以在大约六个月内看到两个显著的成果:客户忠诚度提高以及部署新应用程序所需的时间立即减少,例如促销。

“大量研究表明,优先考虑客户体验的零售商最终会变得更有弹性,无论是为了应对疫情还是金融危机,而且随着时间推移,他们的表现会更好,因为他们可以随着变化而发展,”Lowry 说,“如果您让交易体验变得更加顺畅和轻松,就会增强客户忠诚度。”

打造全渠道体验 自动化和 API 主导式集成如何为库存流程创建高性能平台 统一的集成层

将各种库存应用程序连接到单个集成层

简化访问

从不同应用程序中提取精确的库存数据,从而更轻松地响应 API 请求

安全且受控的访问

使用 API 来定义和控制可以访问的数据以及符合条件的访问者,从而增强安全性

高效更新

移动或替换应用程序,而不会影响连接到集成层的其他应用程序

后续步骤

跨多个云管理 API 并实现盈利。

了解 IBM API Connect 预约实时演示
下一章

 

让我们重新思考 IT 开发运维。

阅读第 3 章
第 1 章:让我们重新思考招聘 第 3 章:让我们重新思考 IT 开发运维 第 4 章:让我们重新思考云运营 第 5 章:让我们重新思考客户服务

Let’s rethink retail operations
Watch the video (02:52)
illustration of a mobile phone connected to services

What if you were to design retail operations for a new company? What would you automate to improve the transaction experience?

Let's rethink IT DevOps

View all chapters

Transparency is critical for the transaction experience. Your customer wants to see when they can get the product. You, as the retailer, want to better manage where to put inventory so customers have the easiest access. Eileen Lowry Vice President, Product Management IBM Automation

“If your transaction experience — the key to your customers staying with you or buying something — is suboptimal, they’re going to go to your competition,” says Eileen Lowry, vice president of product management for IBM Automation. “At the end of the day, that’s the face of your business.”

To be competitive, Lowry says retailers need an omnichannel strategy that delivers seamless transactions. The transaction experience itself comprises a lot of different steps and subprocesses, but if Lowry were to design retail operations for a new company, she’d focus on the inventory process.

Retailers are having to do all these point-to-point checks because the point-to-point system integrations they created over time have narrowed the view of where inventory might reside. Eileen Lowry Vice President, Product Management IBM Automation

IBM’s series “Rethink & Automate” invites leaders to reimagine common business and IT processes by approaching them from a greenfield perspective and embracing automation. According to a report (Link resides outside ibm.com) published by the information technology company Capgemini, the retail industry stands to save USD 300 billion annually by implementing automation processes to more efficiently run everything from customer returns to supply chain management, updated customer databases and inventory management. When it comes to the transaction experience, automation can help retailers become more responsive to consumer demands and react to realtime events and trends.

Take action

Discover new ways to improve your retail operations in a complimentary Automation Innovation Workshop.

Sign up today

Lowry has one tip for retailers thinking about improving their end-to-end inventory process: prioritize API management. The use of APIs and API management software is central to designing a better inventory process because you’ll get accurate inventory checks. APIs enable you to open your applications’ data and functionality to other internal departments and systems within your company, as well as to external third-party developers and business partners.

Inventory data must communicate with a host of other systems: point-of-sale systems, promotional systems and financial performance systems, to name a few. “It becomes critical that the information you extract from those APIs is very exact,” Lowry says, as that information provides transparency. “Transparency is critical for the transaction experience. Your customer wants to see when they can get the product because they’re making a choice between you or a competitor. You, as the retailer, want to understand and better manage where to put the inventory so customers have the easiest access.”

Depending on what is happening online or in the store, integrations can kick off applications to move inventory or change a promotion. Eileen Lowry Vice President, Product Management IBM Automation

By using API management software, retailers can get an immediate and informed overview of all inventory points. APIs can integrate with and automatically trigger information going from system to system and from application to application. Retailers then start to see if the inventory is in a warehouse, a distribution center or a physical store. “You’re also able to create and manage the APIs to know where monetization can occur,” Lowry says. For retailers, this is a massive automation opportunity.

No automation without integration

There are many ways to connect and exchange data between applications. Building individual point-to-point links is costly and difficult to manage. API-led integration between applications simplifies the exchange of information, or the “request and response” of APIs. Automation, meanwhile, can surface or trigger new monetization opportunities. As Lowry explains, “Depending on what is happening online or in the store, those integrations can kick off different applications to, for example, move inventory or change a promotion.”

Here’s a real-world example of how an API-led integration can benefit retailers and their customers. Imagine you want to move inventory with a flash sale. You know that offering both in-store pickup and delivery will likely increase sales. To help customers choose between pickup or delivery, your inventory process needs to surface information about both options. When a customer selects an item, an application needs to make a query to all the local stores to check their stock levels. As the retailer, you can expose the stock level for each store as an API, and the application can use the customer’s location to show a list of the nearest stores with stock.

If the customer wants to reserve an item or order it for delivery, then additional automated integration flows can be used to ensure the stock isn’t oversold and to determine local delivery fees and windows. Automation can also be used to trigger a promotion application if the product isn’t selling fast enough.

Results in 6 months

Lowry says that if a company were to implement integration and automation to improve its inventory process, it could see two noticeable outcomes in about six months: an increase in customer loyalty and an immediate reduction in the time it takes to deploy new applications, such as a promotion.

“There are a ton of studies that show that  retailers that prioritized the customer experience ended up being more resilient, whether it was in response to the pandemic or a financial crisis, and they fare better over time because they can evolve with the change,” Lowry says. “If you make the transaction experience that much smoother and that much easier, you’re going to build on your customer loyalty.”

Creating an omnichannel experience How automation and APIled integration creates a performant platform for the inventory process A unified layer

Connect various inventory applications to a single integration layer

Simplified access

Extract precise inventory data from different applications, making it easier to provide responses to the API requests

Secure and controlled access

Enhance security with APIs that define and control what data can be accessed, and by whom

Efficient updating

Move or replace applications without impacting the other applications connected to the integration layer

Next steps

Manage and monetize APIs across multiple clouds.

Learn about IBM API Connect Request a live demo
Next chapter

 

Let’s rethink IT DevOps.

Read chapter 3
Ch. 1: Let's rethink recruiting Ch. 3: Let's rethink IT DevOps Ch. 4: Let's rethink cloud operations Ch. 5: Let's rethink customer service