IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM
适用于 z/VM 平台的高级优化编译器
抽象几何V 形图案的插图

IBM® XL C/C++ for z/VM 是一款优化编译器,专为开发大型、复杂、计算密集型应用程序而设计。它支持编写针对 IBM Z Systems 硬件优化的 C 和 C++ 应用程序。

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM 是 z/VM 平台上以语言为中心的 C/C++ 应用程序开发环境。它是支持 z/VM 的 z/OS XL C/C++ 版本,其中包括 C/C++ 编译器组件(称为 XL C/C++ 编译器)和一些 C/C++ 应用程序开发实用程序。

XL C/C++ for z/VM 1.3 用户和实施指南

优势 优化应用程序性能

支持高阶转换,此类优化可提高循环性能;还支持 OPTIMIZE(3),或称 OPT(3),这是编译器最高、最强的优化级别。

轻松迁移应用程序

符合 ISO/IEC 9899:1999 国际标准 (C99) 和 ANSI/ISO 1998 C++ 标准,提供符合标准的 C 编译器并包含 C++ 标准库。

简化应用程序的移植

支持行业标准,以简化应用程序从 IBM 和非 IBM 平台向 z/VM 的移植。

功能
广泛优化

OPT(3) 支持引入了额外的选项和编译器指示,有助于提高应用程序性能,包括循环展开选项和编译器指示以及一些新的内置函数。使用 OPT(0)、OPT(2) 和 OPT(3) 选项,可以获得从全面的低级优化到更广泛优化的各种优化级别。


C++ 标准库

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM 包括:用于执行输入和输出 (I/O) 操作的 C++ 标准 I/O 流库;用于操作复数的 C++ 标准复杂数学库;以及由以下部分组成的标准模板库 (STL):基于 C++ 模板的算法、容器类、迭代器、本地化对象和字符串类。


Unicode 文字支持

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM 在 C 中通过类型定义增加了对 char16_t 和 char32_t 类型的支持,而在 C++ 中这些类型是原生类型,因此使用这些类型的代码更容易移植到 z/OS。


与 GNU Compiler Collection (GCC) 兼容

其中包含的 C 语言对语句表达式结构体的支持,使程序员能够在表达式中使用循环、开关和局部变量。C 和 C++ 支持将零长度数组结构体作为可变长度对象的头部。这些功能使得其他平台上使用这些结构体的 C/C++ 代码可以更轻松地移植到 XL C/C++ for z/VM。


更深入的指针分析

RESTRICT 选项告知编译器,所有函数或指定函数中的参数指针互不干涉。当 RESTRICT 选项有效时,编译器会执行更深入的指针分析。目的是提高正在编译的应用程序的性能。


保存的选项字符串功能

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM 提供用于每个源文件的编译器选项的紧凑表示,并在可执行文件中为每个编译单元创建所保存的选项字符串。编译器会记录编译期间处于活动状态的所有组件的版本信息。这项新功能可以帮助诊断运行时问题。


支持修改消息严重性

SEVERITY 选项允许更改编译器发出的某些诊断消息的严重性。此功能可根据用户的编码标准定制某些诊断信息级别。


支持调试

编译器生成的源列表得到增强,每个函数的起始偏移量添加到列表中。每个函数的起始偏移量预计有助于调试。对于使用优化级别 O2 或 O3 编译的代码,调试优化代码时可以显示函数的名称和地址以及参数的名称、类型和值。

资源 IBM:z/VM 语言环境

了解 z/VM 语言环境概况。

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM 的其他功能

通过技术说明深入了解 IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM 的其他功能。

XL C/C++ for z/VM 与 z/OS XL C/C++ 的区别

了解在 XL C/C++ for z/VM 中不受支持或工作方式不同的 z/OS XL C/C++ 编译器功能。

相关产品 IBM z/OS IBM z/OS XL C/C++

利用最新的 z/Architecture®,包括最新的 IBM z15™ 服务器。

IBM XL C/C++ for Linux

用于开发复杂的 C/C++ 程序的高性能编译器。

探索 IBM C 和 C++ 编译器系列
后续步骤

深入了解 IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM。安排与 IBM Z 代表进行 30 分钟的免费会议。

更多探索方式 文档 支持 IBM Redbooks 支持与服务 全球融资 灵活定价 教育与培训 社区 开发者社区 业务合作伙伴 资源

Z software Z developer tools XL C/C++ for z/VM IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM
An advanced optimizing compiler for the z/VM® platform
Illustration of abstract geometric chevron

IBM® XL C/C++ for z/VM® is an optimizing compiler designed for developing large, complex, computationally intensive applications. It lets you write C and C++ applications that are optimized for IBM Z® systems hardware.

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM is the language-centered C/C++ application development environment on the z/VM platform. It is a z/VM-enabled version of z/OS® XL C/C++, which includes a C/C++ compiler component (referred to as the XL C/C++ compiler) and some C/C++ application development utilities.

XL C/C++ for z/VM 1.3 user and implementation guides

Benefits Optimize application performance

Supports high-order transformations, which are optimizations that improve performance for loops; supports OPTIMIZE(3) or OPT(3), the compiler's highest and most aggressive level of optimization.

Migrate applications easily

Conforms to the ISO/IEC 9899:1999 international standard (C99), the ANSI/ISO 1998 C++ standard and a standards-conforming C compiler, and includes the C++ Standard Library.

Simplify porting of applications

Supports industry standards to simplify the porting of applications to z/VM from both IBM and non-IBM platforms.

Features
Extensive optimizations

Support for OPT(3) introduces additional options and pragmas to help you improve your application performance, including the loop unrolling option and pragmas and several new built-in functions. Using the OPT(0), OPT(2) and OPT(3) options, you can obtain optimization levels that run from comprehensive low-level optimizations to more extensive optimizations.


C++ standard library

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM® includes the C++ Standard I/O Stream Library for performing input and output (I/O) operations, the C++ Standard Complex Mathematics Library for manipulating complex numbers and the Standard Template Library (STL), which is composed of C++ template-based algorithms, container classes, iterators, localization object and the string class.


Unicode literal support

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM adds support for the char16_t and char32_t types through typedefs in C and as native types in C++, making it easier to port code that uses these types to z/OS®.


Compatibility with the GNU Compiler Collection (GCC)

The included C support for the statement expression construct enables programmers to use loops, switches and local variables within an expression. C and C++ support the zero-extent array construct as a header for a variable-length object. These features make it easier to port C/C++ code using these constructs on other platforms to XL C/C++ for z/VM®.


Deeper pointer analysis

The RESTRICT option indicates to the compiler that parameter pointers in all functions or specified functions are disjoint. The compiler performs more in-depth pointer analysis when the RESTRICT option is active. This is intended to improve the performance of the application being compiled.


Saved option string feature

IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM provides a compact representation of compiler options used for each source file and creates the saved options string in the executable file for each compilation unit. The compiler records version information for all components active during the compilation. This new feature can help you in diagnosing run-time problems.


Message severity modification support

The severity option allows changing the severity of some of the diagnostic messages emitted by the compiler. This feature allows customization of certain diagnostic message levels to the coding standards of the user.


Debug support

Source listings generated by the compiler are enhanced to add the starting offset of each function to the listings. The starting offset of each function is expected to be helpful for debugging purposes. For compiled code using optimization level O2 or O3, the names and addresses of functions and the names, types and values of the parameters can be displayed when you debug optimized code.

Resources IBM z/VM Language Environment

Get an overview of the language environment on z/VM.

Additional features of IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM

Explore additional features of IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM with technical descriptions.

Differences between XL C/C++ for z/VM and z/OS XL C/C++

Learn about the z/OS XL C/C++ compiler features that are not supported or operate differently in XL C/C++ for z/VM.

Related products IBM z/OS IBM z/OS XL C/C++

Exploits the latest z/Architecture®, including the latest IBM z15™ servers.

IBM XL C/C++ for Linux

A high-performance compiler for developing complex C/C++ programs.

Discover the IBM C and C++ Compiler Family
Next steps

Explore IBM XL C/C++ for z/VM. Schedule a no-cost 30-minute meeting with an IBM Z representative.

More ways to explore Documentation Support IBM Redbooks® Support and services Global financing Flexible pricing Education and training Community Developer community Business Partners Resources