03:如何实施 IT 自动化
从小处着手,然后蓄势待发
站在多个屏幕前的人的等距插图
第一步只是很小的一步

不再只是 IT 或业务。最终,IT 就是业务。- 面向 CEO 的生成式 AI 指南

当被问到“对于致力于向其组织增添 IT 自动化解决方案的人员来说,您认为最好的建议是什么?”受访的 IBM 高管一致认为:从小处着手。让我们一起深入了解下原因,以及实施 IT 自动化可以采取的其他三个步骤。

“我们要让每个可计算的问题真正实现可计算。如果这些问题可以在计算机上计算,我们就应该这样做,并保留批判性思维、协商、人际关系和独特的人类特征。数字化转型不仅仅针对业务应用程序和知识工作者。它还涉及他们所依赖的所有 IT 系统、架构和基础架构。AI 正在推动整个组织各个层面的变革,并需要高层监督来进行实施和跟踪。”- William Lobig,IBM Automation 软件产品管理副总裁

查看所有章节
其他信息 报告

面向 CEO 的生成式 AI 指南

第 1 步:制定一个可实现的小目标

任何好的策略都始于清楚地了解您想要完成的任务,例如添加新的工具来提高工作效率或减少 MTTR。在向 IT 组织引入和实施 AI 和自动化时,第一步是从小处以及战略角度思考。

“对于您希望采用的策略,需要保持明确和规范。在添加 IT 自动化解决方案时,请明白这是团队之间的协作工作。一款简化流程的新软件不仅会影响其直属团队,还会影响跨职能团队及其他队伍。借助这次的全新实施来培养采用自动化的文化,并让员工看到这是添砖加瓦,而不是取而代之,并且是增强员工能力的一种方式。”- Tim Cronin,IBM Automation 产品市场营销经理

从组织定期执行且记录在案的流程或功能着手。然后选择一个涉及大部分业务的流程或功能。这通常意味着大量的手动工作,也意味着这是一个自动化的成熟过程。例如,增加新客户的流程可能需要与 10 个不同的人员或部门进行交互。查看每个步骤所需的工作量,并确定如果加快速度,这 10 个交互中哪一个对于您的组织而言代表最高价值的机会(无论是资源还是时间)。

“永远不要想一口吃成个胖子。操之过急就会失败,因为会忽略流程的某些部分。相反,选择一些可管理、合理且需要大量手动工作的相关内容。然后从那里切入。因为一些小的成功最终会带来巨大的胜利。”- Melissa Long Dolson

 

 

操之过急就会失败,因为会忽略流程的某些部分。相反,选择一些可管理……然后从那里切入。 Melissa Long Dolson
第 2 步:确定成功的指标

确定了起点之后,就需要定义如何衡量成功。在自动化方面,需要考虑一些标准的关键绩效指标 (KPI)。平均修复时间和平均响应时间 (MTTR) 以及应用程序运行时间是常见的衡量标准。以新增客户为例,您可以为在线客户申请表设置可用性 99.99% 的目标。

除了这些标准指标之外,其他衡量标准也很重要,但通常更难计算。例如,客户对新的在线表格的满意度如何?当您将 AI 和自动化融入其中时,还可以考虑引入净推荐值 (NPS) 或在线评价等指标。如果您想衡量员工的工作效率或士气,请考虑使用员工敬业度调查中的信息。

变革管理是另一个至关重要但可能难以衡量的领域。例如,通过提前发布新功能,您节省了多少开支?这些功能吸引了多少新客户?同样,品牌健康度或 NPS 等数据源将帮助您更准确地了解 IT 自动化投资的成功情况。

“我与很多客户讨论了变革管理的成本。在您出错并需要撤回代码时,或者当业务找到您说‘我需要您对此进行调整,因为这套特定功能不能以我们所需的方式支持我的业务’时,变革管理的成本就会很高。降低成本或完全避免变革管理的能力,会因为您在与业务保持一致而变得更强 - 这些才是真正需要衡量的部分。”- Melissa Long Dolson

第 3 步:提出有关数据的重要问题

毫不夸张地说,数据是任何自动化工作的核心。新一代 AI 的兴起让人们开始关注数据质量的重要性。1

当您将 AI 应用到 IT 运营中时,请首先考虑以下组织层面问题:

  • 我们会将哪些数据定义为关键任务数据?
  • 我们为使用数据制定了哪些治理方法和防护措施?
  • 我们的数据可信度如何?
  • 我们如何衡量数据的健康状况?
  • 我们如何管理知识产权 (IP) 问题?
  • 我们如何应对合规准则,尤其是在受到严格监管的行业中?
  • 我们提供哪些教育和培训计划来指导员工正确使用数据?

实际上:大多数受访 CEO 表示,对数据沿袭和来源 (61%) 以及数据安全 (57%) 的担忧将成为阻碍新一代 AI 的采用。2

 

第 4 步:了解成本

与大多数与 IT 关联的事物一样,尤其是当您考虑将 AI 添加到组合中时,成本始终是一个考量因素。根据 2023 年的一份报告,受访者中的 IT 高管预计他们的新一代 AI 预算将比四个月前的预期高出 3.4 倍。但这些高管也相信,这项投资一定会有回报。近四分之三 (74%) 的 AI 支出将用于人力资源、财务、客户服务、销售和营销以及 IT,这些领域的投资预计将能够削减成本。2

“组织一直在寻找降低成本的方法。启动 IT 自动化项目需要采用新工具,并获取新许可证或新 SaaS 服务,而这会产生与之相关的成本。但通过使用 IT 自动化最终降低成本的机会是真实存在的,并且可以为您带来真正的投资回报。”- Keri Olson

但最重要的是,作为领导者,您需要更深入地思考技术会如何影响您的工作方式、员工的工作方式以及组织与客户互动的方式。实施 IT 自动化实际上是为了了解组织目标,然后制定最佳策略来实现这些目标。它还涉及选择正确的技术和解决方案,并制定实施计划。它也需要 IT 团队培养更多不同的技能,例如 AI 提示工程师、ML 工程师、AI 数据科学家、AI 培训师和 AI 道德规范专员。

“寻找易于实施的 IT 自动化工具,例如 SaaS 工具。该领域的致胜解决方案也是最容易实施且最容易启动和运行的解决方案。寻找一款既能满足当前需求,又能随着业务增长而增长的工具。”- Keri Olson

该领域的致胜解决方案也是最容易实施且最容易启动和运行的解决方案。 Keri Olson
第 04 章 →
IT 自动化的阻碍因素
阅读第 4 章 查看所有章节
引文

1《成为创造者,而不是消费者》,IBM 商业价值研究院,2023 年 4 月

2 《技术支出:如何支付?》IBM 商业价值研究所,2023 年。

03: How to implement IT automation
Start small, then build momentum
Isometric illustration of a person standing in front of multiple screens
The first step is a small one

It’s no longer IT or the business. Finally, IT is the business.—The CEO’s guide to generative AI


When asked, “What’s the best advice you have for someone working to add IT automation solutions to their organization?” the IBM execs we interviewed were unanimous: start small. Let’s explore why, along with three other steps you can take to implement IT automation.

“We should make every computable problem computable. If it can be calculated on a computer, we should do that and save the critical thinking, negotiations, relationships and unique human characteristics for people. Digital transformation is not just business applications and knowledge workers. It's about all the IT systems and architectures and infrastructures that those depend on. AI is driving change throughout the organization, on all levels, and requires high-level oversight to implement and track.” —William Lobig, Vice President, Product Management, IBM Automation Software

View all chapters
Additional information Report

The CEO’s guide to generative AI

Step 1: Create a small, achievable goal

Any good strategy starts with a clear understanding of what you’re trying to accomplish, such as adding a new tool to boost productivity or reduce MTTR. When introducing and implementing AI and automation to your IT organization, the first step is to think small and strategically.

“Be definitive and prescriptive with the strategy that you want to employ. When you add an IT automation solution, understand that it’s a collaborative effort across teams. A new piece of software that streamlines processes will impact not just the team it’s directly under but also cross-functional teams and beyond. Use this new implementation to foster a culture of automation adoption and allow people to see that this is an augmentation, not a replacement, and a way to enhance your capabilities as a worker.” —Tim Cronin, Product Marketing Manager, IBM Automation

Start with a documented set of processes or functions that the organization performs on a regular basis. Then choose one that touches large parts of the business. That normally means there’s a lot of manual work involved, which means it’s a process that’s ripe for automation. For example, the process to onboard a new customer may require interactions with 10 different people or departments. Look at the effort required at each step and determine which of those 10 interactions represent the highest-value opportunity for your organization—in terms of resources or time—if you sped them up.

“Never eat the elephant in one bite. If you try and do things too fast, you fail because you missed parts of the process. Instead, pick something that’s manageable, reasonable, and that has a lot of manual effort associated to it. Then build from there. Because several small successes end up leading to big wins.” —Melissa Long Dolson

 

 

If you try and do things too fast, you fail because you missed parts of the process. Instead, pick something that’s manageable . . . Then build from there. Melissa Long Dolson
Step 2: Determine metrics for success

Once you’ve identified a starting point, you need to define how you’ll measure success. When it comes to automation, there are some standard key performance indicators (KPIs) to consider. Mean time to repair and mean time to respond (MTTR) and application uptime are common measurements. Using the onboarding example, you may set a goal of 99.99% availability for an online customer request form.

Beyond these standard metrics, other measurements are important but often harder to calculate. For example, how satisfied are customers with the new online form? As you infuse AI and automation into the mix, you may also consider pulling in metrics such as net promoter scores (NPS) or online reviews. If you’re trying to measure employee productivity or morale, consider using information from employee engagement surveys.

Change management is another area that’s crucial but may be difficult to measure. For example, how much did you save by releasing a new feature ahead of schedule? How many new customers did you attract with those releases? Again, sources of data such as brand health or NPS will help you get a more accurate picture of the success of your IT automation investments.

“I talk to a lot of customers about the cost of change management. When you make a mistake and need to back out code, or when the business comes to you and says, ‘I need you to adjust this because this particular set of functions doesn’t support my business the way it needs to,’ the cost of change management is high. The ability to either lower that cost or avoid change management altogether because you’re doing a better job of aligning to the business—those are the things that are really being measured.” —Melissa Long Dolson

Step 3: Ask important questions about your data

It’s not an exaggeration to say that data is at the heart of any automation effort. The rise of gen AI has put a spotlight on just how critical the quality of that data is.1

As you implement AI into your IT operations, keep these organizational questions top of mind:


  • What do we define as mission-critical data?
  • What governance and guardrails do we have in place for using data?
  • How trustworthy is our data?
  • How do we measure the health of our data?
  • How do we manage intellectual property (IP) concerns?
  • How do we address compliance guidelines, particularly in highly regulated industries?
  • What education and training do we have in place to guide employees on the appropriate use of data?

Fact: Most CEOs surveyed say that concerns about data lineage and provenance (61%) and data security (57%) will be a barrier to adopting gen AI.2

 

Step 4: Understand the cost

As with most things related to IT—especially as you consider adding AI to the mix—cost is always a consideration. According to a 2023 report, among those surveyed, IT executives expect their gen AI budgets to be 3.4x greater than they anticipated as recently as four months ago. But these same executives believe that investment will pay off. Almost three quarters—74%—of gen AI spending will go to HR, finance, customer service, sales and marketing, and IT, where investments are expected to cut costs.2

“Organizations are always looking for ways to reduce cost. To start an IT automation project, you are talking about adopting new tooling and acquiring new licenses or new SaaS services, and there is a cost associated with that. But the opportunity to ultimately reduce costs by using IT automation is real, with real returns on your investment.” —Keri Olson

Most of all, though, as a leader, you need to think more deeply about how technology is impacting the way you work, the way your employees work and the way your organization interacts with customers. Implementing IT automation is really about understanding organizational goals and then creating a strategy to best meet them. It’s also about choosing the right technology and solutions and developing a plan for implementation. It will require more and different skills within your IT teams as well, such as AI prompt engineers, ML engineers, AI data scientists, AI trainers, and AI ethicists.

“Look for IT automation tools that are easy to implement, like SaaS tools. The winning solutions in this space are the ones that are the easiest to implement and the easiest to get up and running. Find a tool that can meet you where you’re at and grow as your business grows.” —Keri Olson

The winning solutions in this space are the ones that are the easiest to implement and the easiest to get up and running. Keri Olson
Chapter 04 →
Blockers to IT automation
Read chapter 04 View all chapters
Citations

1 Be a creator, not a consumer, IBM Institute for Business Value, April 2023


2 Tech spend: How will you pay for it? IBM Institute for Business Value, 2023.