04:IT 自动化的阻碍因素
技术不是问题,变革才是
一个使用笔记本电脑工作的人的等距插图,在笔记本电脑后面漂浮多个投影屏幕
潜在的阻碍因素

对于 AI 和自动化整合,可以用一个词来概括最大的潜在障碍之一:恐惧。高级管理层、IT 领导者和员工都担心(或至少顾虑)一些 AI 使用方面的问题,包括:

查看所有章节
工作变动/流失 实施成本 监管和治理 从何着手 畏惧改变
简单明了的解决方案

这些都是也应该是主要的话题。有些看起来似乎是需要克服的巨大障碍。但可以通过一些方法消除这些顾虑,最大限度减少焦虑,甚至藉此建立对变革和创新更开放的文化:

工作变动/流失

在问及 AI 如何影响员工时,IBM 领导者再次一致表示:AI 和自动化并不是为了取代工作,而是为了增强员工的能力,为他们提供更多的时间提高技能,并致力于只有人类才能提供的创新类型。IBM Research 支持这一观点:平均而言,87% 的受访高管预计新一代 AI 将强化工作角色,而不是取代工作角色。这是件好事,因为提供卓越员工体验的组织在收入增长方面比其他组织高出 31%。1 然而,工作将会发生变化。受访高管估计,由于未来三年实施 AI 和自动化技术,40% 的员工需要学习新的技能。2

“我听过有人说‘如果我实施了过多的自动化功能,我就会失业。’但事实并非如此。实际上,技术在一如既往地飞速发展,总会出现新的事物。总有更成熟的事物值得关注。通过采用自动化技术,人类总能获得更高价值的机会。”2 - Keri Olso

“高层管理者正在试图通过优化节省资金。他们不想裁员;他们希望现有员工能够提高工作效率。这就是数字化转型的本质。以前,如果我想要提高效率,就得更加努力地工作。但如果我拥有改变工作完成方式的技术和工具,然后让计算机接管其中的一部分工作,并让机器学习提出建议...就会更有成效。”- William Lobig

实施成本

实施任何新技术都需要付出成本。在初始阶段需要一些支出或投入,例如新许可证或 SaaS 服务。然而,由于这些新工具可以提供更高的生产力和效率,您可以开始收回投资,特别是如果您优先考虑提升竞争力的项目。成本控制的另一个关键因素是:以更广阔的视角查看支出,从而评估实施 AI 所需的全部 IT 成本。这种跨 IT、云和人员的整体视角有助于提供更高的业务价值,同时仍然有效地控制成本。

给 CIO 的建议:在整个企业范围内扩展 FinOps 功能,以了解所有 AI、混合云和应用程序现代化投资的成本和支出。了解您的员工从事什么工作及其成本,并将其与特定的项目、应用程序和计划相对应以优化支出。- 面向 CEO 的生成式 AI 指南


“组织确实需要考虑其应用程序的中断成本。如果发生中断、停机或性能滞后,他们需要了解这会让他们损失多少客户、收益或时间。必须综合考虑该问题的方方面面。”- Keri Olson

监管和治理

遵守行业条例和政府法规是至关重要的。同样重要的是,保护组织的两项最重要的资产的隐私:员工和知识产权。合适的实施合作伙伴可以帮助您解决这些问题。例如,IBM 认为智能监管应基于三个核心原则:

  1. 监管 AI 风险,而不是 AI 算法
  2. 让 AI 创建者和部署者承担责任,而不是免除责任
  3. 支持开放式 AI 创新,而不是 AI 许可制度。
选择切入点

正如上一章中所述,如果您从小处着手,然后逐步扩大规模,就可以快速使用自动化获得较小的成功,并最终积累成巨大的成功。低风险和高可见度的机会可以带来快速成功,而跟踪和衡量有形和无形 KPI 可以展示 AI 的价值主张。此外,您还可以为新团队引入经验丰富的人才,充当跨职能的导师和倡导者,从而帮助顺利完成流程。

 

通过支持自动化介入,人类总能获得更高价值的机会。 Keri Olson

“在 DevOps 团队、应用程序工程师和中心 ITOps 团队的日常工作中,存在大量根深蒂固的手动工作,他们几乎无法理解如何轻松完成日常流程。但是,如果您能够查明 IT 的哪些部分由于这种繁杂工作而陷入困境,就可以寻找办法进行自动化或实施某种人工智能驱动的自动化,并立即为您的团队节省时间。”- Tim Cronin

 

 

整体变化

不过,在涉及更大的变革恐惧时,解决方案就会变得更加微妙。很多时候,技术并不是问题,变革本身才是。为了拥抱 AI 和 IT 自动化带来的可能性,企业需要转变文化,让每个人(而不仅仅是 IT 团队)以不同的方式思考,甚至重新审视组织的各个方面。由于文化始于高层,这些变革必须由高级管理层推动,而不是完全由 CIO 推动。

AI 不会取代人类 - 但使用 AI 的人将会取代不使用 AI 的人。- 提升 AI 驱动的自动化领域的工作效率

商业成功通常是由视角转变推动的。IBM 商业价值研究院的研究发现,“将运营模式作为转型推动力的组织在很多方面优于以技能为中心的组织;例如,在盈利能力和效率方面高出 55%。”

推动由人工智能驱动的变革不仅可以让员工受益,而且还会提高企业盈利能力。例如,IT 自动化项目有助于打破组织孤岛。这反过来又为创新、协作和找出可以简化或优化的运营流程提供了新的机遇,特别是在大型企业级组织中,不同的团队往往使用不同的实践、工具和应用程序。

提升 AI 驱动的自动化领域的工作效率
第 05 章 →
AI 和自动化技术的道德规范
阅读第 5 章 查看所有章节
引文

1 体验就是一切,IBM 商业价值研究院,2023 年
2 提升 AI 驱动的自动化领域的工作效率,IBM 商业价值研究院,2023 年。

04: Blockers to IT automation
Technology isn’t the problem; change is the problem
Isometric illustration of a person working on a laptop with multiple projected screens floating behind the laptop
Potential blockers

One of the biggest potential blockers to incorporating AI and automation can be summed up in one word: fear. The C-suite, IT leaders and employees all fear—or are at least concerned about—several aspects of using AI, including:

View all chapters
Job change/loss Cost to implement Regulation and governance Where to start Fear of change
Straightforward solutions

These are big topics, and rightly so. Some may seem like giant hurdles to overcome. But there are ways to address these concerns, minimize anxiety and even use them to build a culture more open to change and innovation:

Job change/loss

Our IBM leaders were again unanimous when asked how AI will affect employees: AI and automation are not designed to replace jobs, but rather to augment workers and provide them with more time to upskill and work on the types of innovation that only human beings can provide. IBM research backs them up: on average, 87% of executives surveyed expect job roles to be augmented rather than replaced by gen AI. This is a good thing, given that organizations that deliver top employee experiences outperform on revenue growth 31% more than others.1 Job changes, however, are coming. Surveyed executives estimate that 40% of their workforce will need to reskill as a result of implementing AI and automation over the next three years.2

“I hear, ‘If I enable too much automation, I'll work myself out of a job.’ But that’s simply not true. The fact is that technology is moving so quickly, as it always has, that there's always that next thing. There are always more mature things to focus on. There are always higher-value opportunities for humans by allowing automation in.”2 —Keri Olson

“Senior executives are trying to save money through optimization. They don't want to cut headcount; they want more productivity from what they already have. That's what digital transformation is like. If I want to be more efficient, I just work harder. But if I have technology and tools to change how that work is done, and I let computers offload some of it and machine learning make recommendations ... that's being more productive.” —William Lobig

Cost to implement

Adding any new technology does come with a cost. There are the initial outlays, such as new licenses or SaaS services. However, as these new tools support greater productivity and efficiency, you can begin to recoup your investment, especially if you prioritize projects that make you more competitive. Another key to cost control: view spending through a wide-angle lens, assessing the entirety of the IT costs required to implement AI. This holistic view—across IT, cloud, and people—can help you deliver enhanced business value while still keeping costs under control.

Advice for CIOs: Extend FinOps capabilities across the enterprise to gain visibility into costs and spending across all AI, hybrid cloud and application modernization investments. Understand what your people are working on and how much they cost, and map that back to specific projects, applications, and initiatives to optimize spend.—The CEO’s guide to generative AI


“Organizations really need to look at their application disruption costs. If they're seeing disruption, downtime, or lagging performance, they need to understand how much that’s costing them in terms of lost customers, lost revenue, or lost time. You have to measure both sides of the equation.” —Keri Olson

Regulation and governance

When it comes to industry and government regulations, adherence is paramount. Equally critical is protecting the privacy of your organization’s two most vital assets: employees and intellectual property. The right implementation partner can help you negotiate these concerns. IBM, for example, believes smart regulation should be based on three core tenets:

  1. Regulate AI risk, not AI algorithms
  2. Make AI creators and deployers accountable, not immune to liability
  3. Support open AI innovation, not an AI licensing regime.
Choosing where to start

As discussed in the previous chapter, if you start small and then scale from there, you can quickly use automation to rack up small successes that add up to big wins. Low-risk, high-visibility opportunities can lead to quick wins, while tracking and measuring tangible and intangible KPIs can demonstrate the value proposition of AI. In addition, you can help smooth the process by seeding new teams with experienced talent to serve as cross-functional guides and advocates.

 

There are always higher value opportunities for humans by allowing automation in. Keri Olson

“High, manual effort is so embedded in the day-to-day of DevOps teams, app engineers and central ITOps teams that it’s almost incomprehensible for them to understand how they would do their day-to-day process without toil. But if you can pinpoint which subsections of your IT that you know are underwater because of that toil, you can look for ways to automate or implement some type of AI-powered automation and immediately see hours back to your team.” —Tim Cronin

 

 

Change in general

When it comes to the larger fear of change, though, the solution is more nuanced. Often, technology isn’t the problem; change itself is the problem. To embrace the possibilities of AI and IT automation, an organization will need a culture shift to get everyone—not just IT teams—thinking differently and even rethinking entire parts of the organization. Because culture starts at the top, these changes must be a C-suite effort, not something left solely to a CIO.

AI won’t replace people—but people who use AI will replace people who don’t.—Augmented work for an automated, AI-driven world

Business success is often driven by a shift in perspective. As IBM Institute for Business Value research found, “organizations that prioritize their operating model as an enabler of transformation outperform their skills-centric peers in multiple dimensions; for example, 55% higher performance in profitability and efficiency.”

Driving AI-powered change can benefit both employees and the bottom line. For example, IT automation projects can help break down organizational silos. That in turn brings new opportunities to innovate, collaborate, and identify operations ripe for simplifying or streamlining, especially in large enterprise-level organizations where different teams often use different practices, tools, and applications.

Augmented work 
for an automated, 
AI-driven world
Chapter 05 →
The ethics of AI and automation
Read chapter 05 View all chapters
Citations

1 Experience is everything, IBM Institute for Business Value, 2023
2 Augmented work for an automated, AI-driven world, IBM Institute for Business Value, 2023.