IBM continuous engineering

Primary tab navigation

IBM continuous engineering practices

Continuous engineering includes three key practice areas:

  • Unlocking engineering knowledge (Turn insight into outcomes):
    The practice of using open standards and analytics to access, unlock and understand all engineering information, regardless of source—to enable the right decisions at the right times.

  • Continuous verification (Measure twice, cut once):
    The practice of modeling physical and systems behavior early in the product development lifecycle, and then continuing to apply simulation and test technologies in successive stages until the design is mature—to prevent rework and achieve faster time to quality.

  • Strategic reuse (Don’t reinvent the wheel):
    The practice of design planning and execution such that intellectual capital is leveraged as much as possible throughout the product development lifecycle—to increase design efficiencies, engineer product lines, and tame complexity.