Managing the lifecycle of data products with the My work dashboard

Data producers manage the lifecycle of their data products on the My work dashboard. From My work, you can publish, edit, or delete drafts. You can view your published data products and retire them as needed.

You can manage the stages of a data product's lifecycle. The stages include authoring drafts, publishing for the data community, and retiring them when no longer needed. You can also view the version history of a data product and see different versions of the data product including the summary of changes that were made in each version.

Cloud platforms
Required roles to complete this task
Collaborator role: Editor or Admin

Working with draft data products

Draft data products are not available to the community on Data Product Hub. All elements of a draft data product can be edited until it is published. When you are finished editing a draft, you publish it to make it available on Data Product Hub.

From the Drafts page, you can view your in-progress data products and select one to edit.

To create a new draft, click Create data product.

Editing a draft data product

Select Edit from the Actions menu Actions menu icon on the tile to view and edit the details for a draft. On the draft details page, you can edit the following elements:

  • Title
  • Primary business domain
  • Version number
  • Access level
  • Data product contents
  • Recommended usage
  • Data contract
  • Toggle switch to enable or disable data visualization for consumers

Publishing a draft

From the tile for a draft, select Publish from the Actions menu Actions menu icon to publish the draft and make it available on Data Product Hub.

When a data producer publishes their data product, they describe typical use cases for the data product. See Introduction to publishing data products.

Deleting a draft

From the tile for a draft, choose Delete from the Actions menu Actions menu icon to remove the draft entirely from Data Product Hub.

Working with published data products

A published data product remains available on Data Product Hub until you create a new version or retire it. You cannot add or remove items in a published data product, or remove or update the data contract. You can edit the following fields for a published data product:

  • Title
  • Description
  • Primary business domain
  • Recommended usage
  • Key features
  • Origin
  • Names of the items in a data product
  • Toggle switch to enable or disable data visualization for consumers

Creating new versions of data products

To make extensive updates to your data product, you can create a new version. You can add or delete data assets, change the available delivery methods, manage the access level, and update the contract information. By regularly creating new versions to update your data products, you ensure that subscribers receive accurate and current data. You can also incorporate consumer feedback to enhance the data product’s usability.

When you publish a new version, the current version is automatically retired. Consumers subscribe to the most recent version. Version numbers identify the iterations of a data product to help both data consumers and producers track a data product over time.

To create a new version:

  1. From your Published tab, click the Actions menu Actions menu icon for a published data product and select Create a new version.
  2. Follow the provided format and give your new version a unique version number. Then, create a new version of the data product.
  3. Update fields for the data product such as primary business domain, access level, and data contract as needed. You can also add or delete data assets and delivery methods.
  4. If the data visualization feature is disabled for the current version of the data product, it will not be generated for the new version of the data product. If you want to see the data visualization in the new version, you need to enable the feature.
  5. Optional: Select the Revoke access to older version checkbox to remove subscriber access to the data product. Subscribers will no longer have access in the new version of the data product
  6. After you complete your edits, publish the new version of your data product.
  7. Verify your new data product version in the Published tab.

Working with retired data products

You can retire any available data product. Retired data products are not available for new subscriptions by consumers. They cannot be edited and are not listed on Data Product Hub.

To retire a data product:

  1. View your published data products on the My work dashboard > Published tab.
  2. Select Retire from the Actions menu Actions menu icon.
  3. Optional:
    1. Enter a comment on why the data product is retired.
    2. Select the checkbox to revoke all of the subscriber’s access to the data product.
  4. Select Retire.
  5. Delete the connection from Configurations and settings > Connections.

To revoke a subscriber’s access from a retired data product:

  1. Go to the My work dashboard and select the Retired tab.
  2. Click the Actions menu Actions menu iconand select Revoke access.

To remove all of the data from Data Product Hub: Delete your Data Product Hub instance from your IBM Cloud account. Your metadata will be maintained for 30 days, after which it will be permanently deleted.

Retired data products cannot be published again. However, you can publish a data product by creating a draft version of a retired data product as long as there is no existing version of the data product available. Producers can enable or disable the data visualization feature in the draft version.

To create a draft version from a retired data product:

  1. View your retired data products on the My work dashboard > Retired tab.
  2. Select Create new version from the Actions menu Actions menu icon.

When you retire a data product, it is removed from the Homepage and no new subscriptions are allowed. However, the impact on existing subscribers depends on the delivery method, as follows:

  • Existing subscribers using the Flight delivery method continue to have Flight access to the data product and receive refreshed data.
  • Existing subscribers using the data extract, direct download or deliver to watsonx.data delivery method must subscribe to a new version of the data product to receive refreshed data. They continue to have access to the data they initially subscribed to by using the download link.
  • Existing subscribers using the access in watsonx.data delivery method continue to have access to the data product and receive refreshed data.
  • Existing subscribers using the Access in Azure Databricks delivery method continue to have access to the data product and receive refreshed data.

Next steps