After a user is defined, they have very limited access to the release. They can only view information on the dashboard. Depending on the tasks that a user has responsibility to perform and their "need to know," they are assigned to roles. Roles in IBM® UrbanCode™ Release are based on a set of defined permissions. It is the assigning of a role to a user that gives the user permission to complete their tasks related to the release lifecycle.
Roles are not directly assigned to users and groups of users. Users or groups are assigned to a team with a specific role. You will learn more about teams and the relationship to roles in the next lesson.
There are several predefined roles that are included with the product. They cover the types of roles that are typically part of every release team.
The predefined roles might not completely reflect your team, so you can add roles. Because a role is defined by the permissions assigned to it, you need to first understand permissions.
To remove a permission from a role, remove the check mark for the permission. For example, removing the Manage System Settings permission removes the ability of users given this role to access the System Settings user interface. The screen capture below shows the Settings page before the change.
After removing the Manage System Settings permission, the Settings page is shown in the screen capture below. Notice that System Setting is not available when a user that is given the administrator role logs in.
The Administrator role can be assigned to any user. The permissions for the administrator role can also be modified. As seen in the previous activity, it is possible to have two types of administrators, each with a set of different permissions. For example, one administrator has responsibility for tasks related to security and another to tasks related to release process. You can control the scope of the administrator by defining multiple administrator roles and assigning users accordingly.
The admin user is a predefined user . This is superuser with all permissions. The admin user can perform all product tasks. This user cannot be deleted. Also, permissions cannot be removed from this user. It is important that this user ID be protected. When the product is installed the password for this user ID is admin. It should be changed and maintained by the user responsible for securing this user ID.