Manually merging discovered configuration items

Manual merging is the process where you combine two or more configuration item objects (CI) into one CI. You can use this process to remove duplicate CIs.

When merging CIs, a single CI is selected from the list of CIs to be merged. This CI is called the durable CI and is retained at the end of the merge operation. The other CIs are called transient CIs and are deleted at the end of the merge operation.

The following rules apply to manually merging CIs:

  • Only CIs of the same type can be merged.
  • When CIs are merged, only the attributes of primitive types (for example, string and integer) are transferred from the transient CI to the durable CI. This transfer occurs only if the durable CI does not already have a value for that attribute. Arrays and objects associated with the transient CI are not transferred.
  • When a transient CI is deleted, all of its related CIs are also deleted. For example, if a ComputerSystem CI is deleted then the operating system CI running on the computer system and all the software installations on the operating system are deleted.
  • If a CI that is designated as a transient object and is later rediscovered or reloaded through the bulkload facility, it updates the durable object. This method does not result in a second instance of the CI.
  • Merging is not currently supported for Business Systems or Business Applications.
Warning: Do not display / navigate a transient CI when the merge process is ongoing. This can cause the error.log file to trace a null point exceptions, and the merge to fail without displaying an error message.

To merge CIs, complete the following steps in the Data Management Portal:

  1. Do one of the following:
    • In the Discovered Components pane, select the CIs that you want to merge. Click Actions > Merge.
    • In a topology view, select the CIs that you want to merge, right-click them and select Merge.
    The Merge Component window is displayed.
  2. In the Display Name list, select the CI to retain at the end of the merge (durable CI.) Click Mark as durable.
  3. The remaining CIs are merged in the order that is displayed in the Display Name list. To change the priority, select a CI and click Move Up or Move Down to change the order.
  4. Click OK to save your information.
Information concerning merge operations are recorded in the $COLLATION_HOME/log/services/ReconciliationMerge.log file.

If two CIs are mistakenly merged together attempting to rediscover or reload, the transient object results in updating the durable object and does not re-create the original transient CI. The durable CI must be deleted and the durable and transient CIs rediscovered or reloaded.