Displays information about host groups and compute units.


bmgroup [-r] [-l] [-w] [-cu] [-cname] [group_name... | cluster_name]
bmgroup [-h | -V]


Displays compute units, host groups, host names, and administrators for each group or unit. Host group administrators are expanded to show individual user names even if a user group is the configured administrator. Group administrators who are inherited from member subgroups are also shown.

By default, displays information about all compute units, host partitions, and host groups, including host groups created for EGO-enabled SLA scheduling.

Leased-in hosts are displayed as a list of hosts in the form host_name@cluster_name (for example, hosta@cluster1). If the LSB_BMGROUP_ALLREMOTE_EXPAND=N parameter is configured in the lsf.conf file or as an environment variable, leased-in hosts are represented by a single keyword allremote instead of being displayed as a list.

Host groups for EGO-enabled SLA

When hosts are allocated to an EGO-enabled SLA, they are dynamically added to a host group created by the SLA. The name of the host group is _sla_sla_name, where sla_name is the name of the EGO-enabled SLA defined in the lsb.serviceclasses file or in the ENABLE_DEFAULT_EGO_SLA parameter in the lsb.params file. One of the hosts in the host group has the name _virtual.

When the host is released to EGO, the entry is removed from the host group. The bmgroup command displays the hosts that are allocated by EGO to the host group created by the SLA.


Displays static and dynamic host group members. A plus sign (+) before the host name indicates that the host is dynamic and is a member of the compute unit, host partitions, or host group. A minus sign (-) before the host name indicates that the host is not an EGO host but is a member of the dynamic group, partition, or unit.

Also identifies condensed compute units, host partitions, or host groups as defined by CONDENSE in the HostGroup or ComputeUnit section of the lsb.hosts file.

Expands host groups, host partitions, and compute units recursively. The expanded list contains only host names; it does not contain the names of subgroups. Duplicate names are listed only once.
Wide format. Displays names without truncating fields.
In LSF Advanced Edition, includes the cluster name for execution cluster host groups in output. The output is sorted by cluster and then by host group name.
Note: This command option is deprecated and might be removed in a future version of LSF.
Displays compute unit information. Use with cu_name]to display only the specified compute unit.
Displays only information about the specified host groups (or compute unit with the -cu option). Do not use quotation marks when you specify multiple groups.
Prints command usage to stderr and exits.
Prints LSF release version to stderr and exits.


In the list of hosts, a name followed by a slash (/) indicates a subgroup.


Host groups, compute units, and host partitions are configured in the configuration file lsb.hosts. Compute unit types are defined by the COMPUTE_UNIT_TYPES parameter in the lsb.params file.

See also

lsb.hosts, lsb.params, bugroup, bhosts