Managing privacy purposes

Purposes define what the user's attributes can be used for. The purposes can contain information about what access types are available for each attribute, how long to retain each attribute, and what the default duration of the consent for this purpose is.

Before you begin

  • You must have administrative permission to complete this task.
  • Log in to the IBM® Security Verify administration console.

About this task

Applications can have purposes that are attached to them and users can provide consent to purposes. Purposes that are attached to an application or have consents that are created against them cannot be deleted or canceled.

A purpose is assigned a version and each version can have one of the following states: Draft, Active, Expired, Canceled.

Draft
This version is in draft and is not published.
Active
This version is published and can be used.
Expired
This version was previously active, but was superseded with a newer active version.
Canceled
This version was canceled and cannot be used.
You can perform the following tasks.

Procedure

  1. Select Data privacy & consent > Data purposes.
    The purposes are displayed with their name, description, tags, attributes that are included, and status. You can use the search function to find a specific purpose.
    Note: If you are accessing Data purposes for the first time, the Create data usage purposes page is displayed. Select Create purpose and skip to step 2b.
  2. Create a purpose.
    1. Select Create purpose.
    2. Specify the following information for the purpose.
      • A name
      • A unique ID for the purpose. If you do not specify a purpose ID, one is generated when you save the purpose.
      • Optionally, a description.
      • Optionally, tags to facilitate searching. Ensure to press the Return or Enter key after typing each tag.
    3. Select Next.
    4. Specify the following configuration for the purpose.
      • Optionally, the number of days that the consent for the purpose is valid for by default.
      • At least one access type that can be used for the purpose. Select an access type from the menu or create an access type by typing it in the field. and then selecting Create access type "access name".
    5. Select Next.
    6. Optional: Select Add attributes to add attributes to the purpose.
      Search for the attribute and add it to the list. For each attribute that you are adding, specify the following information:
      • At least one access type that is used for the attribute.
      • The maximum time in days that the attribute information can be stored.
      • Whether the attribute is required for the purpose.
    7. Select Create purpose.
  3. Edit a purpose.
    1. Select a purpose and select Edit as draft.
    2. Make your changes and when you are finished, select Save draft.
      Note: You cannot change the Purpose ID.
  4. Publish a purpose.
    1. Specify whether users must re-consent to the purpose.
      If users previously consented to this purpose, specify whether the consent still applies to this new version of the purpose.
      Do not require users to re-consent
      The previous consent still applies to the new version of the purpose.
      Require users to re-consent
      The previous consent no longer applies and the users must consent to the new version of the purpose.
    2. Select Publish draft to make the draft active.
  5. Revert to a previous version of the purpose.
    1. Select a purpose and select Version history.
    2. Select the version of the purpose that you want to preview.
    3. Select the Restore icon next to the version that you want to restore as a draft.
    4. Follow the steps in Publish a purpose to publish the restored version.
  6. Cancel a purpose.
    1. Select a purpose and select Cancel purpose.
      Note: A purpose cannot be canceled if applications are using it.
      The purpose is no longer available for use.
  7. Delete a version of a purpose.
    1. Select a purpose and select Version history.
    2. Select the version of the purpose that you want to preview.
    3. Select the Delete icon next to the version that you want to delete.
  8. Delete a purpose.
    • Select the Delete icon from the main table.
    • View the purpose and select Delete purpose.