Deleting fields (from field groups)
You can delete fields from fields groups if they were created by mistake. The field definition and all data including audit trail across all past reporting periods are removed permanently from the system. The action is irreversible.
Deleting a field requires the System Admin Mode (SAM) to be enabled. Before deleting, run the
impact analysis to ensure there are no dependencies. You can only delete a field when there are no
references to it in the Schema and Views.
Note: Currency and multi-actor fields cannot be
deleted.
CAUTION:
Do not delete default fields.
If you delete a field that has dependencies, OpenPages will fail. Run the impact analysis to find
out if there are any dependencies in the Object Schema and Views such as:
- Task views
- Profiles
- Dashboards
- Filters
- Field dependencies
Important: Make sure to check for other dependencies such as workflows, calculations,
security and regulatory rules, triggers, helpers, public and private filters, machine learning model
integration, data forwarding service, etc. because impact analysis does not cover those.