IBM® Informix® 12.10

The SNMP architecture

The Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP) architecture includes four layers.

As the following figure illustrates, the SNMP architecture includes the following layers:
Figure 1. SNMP architecture
begin figure description - This figure is described in the surrounding text. - end figure description

A network can have multiple SNMP Network Managers. Each workstation can have one master agent. The SNMP Network Managers and master agents use SNMP protocols to communicate with each other. Each managed component has a corresponding subagent and MIBs. SNMP does not specify the protocol for communications between master agents and subagents.

Send feedback | Examples exchange | Troubleshooting

To find the PDF, see Publications for the IBM Informix 12.10 family of products.
For the release notes, documentation notes, and/or machine notes, see the Release Notes page.
timestamp Release date: March 2013