Ethernet networks

Ethernet is one type of local area network (LAN) topology that the i5/OS operating system supports. i5/OS Ethernet provides support for the Digital Equipment Corporation, Intel Corporation, and Xerox standard (Ethernet Version 2) and the IEEE 802.3 standard.

Half-duplex Ethernet
Generally, multiple stations in an Ethernet network show a single data path. Therefore, only one station may transmit data at a time. This is called half-duplex Ethernet. The station may transmit only or receive only, but not both simultaneously.
Full-duplex Ethernet
Full-duplex Ethernet enables stations to simultaneously send and receive data on the network, eliminating collisions. This is accomplished through the use of a full-duplex LAN switch. Ethernet switching splits a large Ethernet into smaller segments. Full-duplex Ethernet requires the following:
  • Twisted-pair cable transmission medium
  • Ethernet network interface cards
  • A full-duplex LAN switch
Full-duplex 10 Mbps Ethernet has simultaneous 10 Mbps receiving and 10 Mbps sending paths.
Fast Ethernet
Fast Ethernet standard (IEEE 802.3U) increases Ethernet by operating speeds from 10 Mbps to 100, half or full duplex. The iSeries Ethernet adapters support 100BASE-TX network devices that use category 5 shielded and unshielded twisted-pair (STP, UTP) cable.