Setting permissions on resources

When you create a resource (templates, style sheets, scripts, or reports) in Publishing Document Builder, you are the owner by default. You can add other users as owners if you want them to be able to edit your resources. You can also make resources public, which means that other users can view them but they cannot edit them. If a user leaves the organization, administrators can easily assign ownership to another user so that the new user can continue working with the resource.

About this task

Public resources can be modified only by the owner or co-owner. Connections are treated as common resources and are public. Although connections are public, credentials are not. Every user that is generating a document-style report must enter their own credentials for a connection during document-style report generation.

Procedure

  1. In the Edit column for the resource, click the Owners and permissions icon Privacy icon.
  2. By default, your resources are private. If you want the resource to be visible to everyone, select the Public radio button.
    Tip: Administrators can change the default privacy settings for all resources on the Runtime variables tab in the Permissions and sharing section.
  3. Complete the following steps to add or remove owners:
    1. On container authentication:
      1. Click Add or Remove.
      2. Select a user from the All users list, or enter a name to search for a particular user.
      3. Click Add, and Save.
    2. On Jazz® Team Server authentication:
      1. Click the Add or Remove button.
      2. Select a user from the Users list, or enter a name to search for a particular user.
      3. Click the Add icon (Add icon), and then click OK.
    Resources are displayed with the creator name that is listed under the Created by column.
  4. To change the privacy settings for multiple resources, select the check boxes for each resource, and then click the Change privacy settings icon Change privacy setting. Select either the Private or Public option and save it as a new privacy setting for the selected resources.