Breaking a vault mirror

Follow these steps to break a mirrored vault configuration.

Before you begin

Breaking a mirror removes the relationship between vaults. The relationship cannot be reestablished. The vaults and object data are not deleted. Breaking a mirror does not delete the two vaults. Both vaults retain existing objects and their respective current configuration. However, the system no longer synchronizes the content automatically.
CAUTION:
If the mirror is using Concentrated Dispersal, proceed with caution when breaking the mirror. The vault IDAs in the mirror will provide a lower level of data reliability and availability when used in a non-mirrored setup.
CAUTION:
When breaking a mirror and keeping both vaults intact, the mirror sync agent may continue to copy data between the vaults after the mirror relationship has been removed. Contact IBM Support if you intend to break a mirror and preserve both sides for an extended period of time.
CAUTION:
Breaking a mirror creates the risk of data loss if you do not take the correct precautions. Contact IBM Support for assistance if you intend to break a mirror.

Procedure

  1. Click Delete Mirror at the top of the Configure>Mirror page.
  2. Click Break Mirror in the Delete Mirror Configuration page.
  3. Enter your Password, if required.
  4. Optional: From the Select a vault menu, choose one of the mirror's vaults to be renamed and redeployed to match the mirror.
    Note: This is a mandatory action for Protected Mirrors and is only optional for Standard Mirrors.
  5. Click Break.

Results

If you chose a vault to rename and redeploy, the selected vault is renamed to have the same name as the mirror, and is then deployed to the same access pools as the mirror. The vault you did not select still exists, but is not deployed to any access pools.

If you did not choose a vault to rename and redeploy, then both vaults still exist but are not deployed to any access pools.