Teamspaces
Teams create teamspaces to organize and share content. Teamspaces provide a focused view of the relevant documents, folders, and searches that the team needs to complete their tasks.
Teamspaces are created from a teamspace template. They are used for projects that recur regularly, such as month-end closing activities in an accounting department. Specific items such as documents, folders, and searches that are needed for the project are included in the teamspace. How you configure a teamspace depends on how the teamspace template was defined.
For example, users who are working in the June month-end teamspace can find the documents that they need. They can also include the appropriate people to complete the different tasks for the project. Everything the team members need is in one place. They do not need to look in more than one place whenever they do month-end closing.
Teamspace roles and permissions
You can modify the permissions that are associated with each role in the teamspace and assign team members to the defined roles. However, you cannot add or remove roles from the teamspace. The roles determine the permissions that each user has in the teamspace.
Documents and folders in teamspaces
You use classes or entry templates to add documents or folders to the teamspace. If a teamspace template requires that you use classes to add documents to the teamspace, then first add the classes to the teamspace. If you have the appropriate permissions, you can modify the list of classes or entry templates in the teamspace.
You can also specify the
default entry template that is selected when users add documents to the teamspace.
In addition, you can specify which properties to show on the teamspace lists.
Teamspace management
To prevent users from changing a teamspace, you can make the teamspace unavailable (offline). For example, if you created a teamspace for a specific project, you can take the teamspace offline after the project is complete. When the teamspace is offline it cannot be modified or accessed.
If a synced teamspace is made unavailable, the teamspace will be unavailable for sync and will be removed from IBM Navigator Sync for every user who is syncing that teamspace. If users want to sync the teamspace after the teamspace is made available again, they must reenable the teamspace for sync.
- None of the documents or folders are deleted. You can still locate the documents by running a search.
- The folders are deleted, and the documents that are only in the teamspace are deleted. Only the documents that are filed in other folders in the repository remain on the repository.
- Delete the items in the teamspace.
- Move the items in the teamspace to another location on the repository, such as a folder or a different teamspace.