Unlocking a locked work item

A work item can get locked if a user does not complete the work item and does not go back to complete the item, or if a user closes the browser before completing the work item.

Symptoms

A work item is locked by another user and you cannot modify it or reassign it. A lock icon is displayed next to a locked work item and the reassign option is disabled for the work item.

Causes

A work item owned by user A can be locked if:
  • User A does not complete a work item because user A might be on vacation or left the company.
  • User A closes the browser before he or she completes the work item.

Diagnosing the problem

A lock icon displays next to a locked work item and the reassign option is disabled for the work item.

Resolving the problem

To unlock a locked work item:
  1. In Content Cortex Process Administrator, search for the work item, and then select the work item to unlock it.

After you unlock the work item, you can reassign the work item to another user by using Case Client.