Creating Free Form dashboards and saving dashboard views

Dashboards that are displayed on Engine are free form dashboards, wherein you can customize the dashboard layout, rearrange exiting widgets within the dashboard, and add published widgets to the dashboard. You can save such customized dashboards as dashboard views and also reset such dashboard views to their original state. You can also modify the dashboard view. The dashboard view is user-specific. You cannot view or modify any dashboard view that is created by other users, even if you belong to same Engine user groups.

Before you begin

You can create, modify, and save or reset a dashboard view only for those dashboards that you can access. The access to dashboards is based on Engine user groups that are assigned to you.

Also, the dashboard view that you create is accessible to you only and cannot be accessed by any other Engine user, irrespective of their User Groups.

For more information, see User administration.

About this task

After dashboards and widgets are published, you can view individual dashboards, and complete any of the following tasks on each dashboard to customize its view. You can save the view as a dashboard view.
  • Drag one or more published widgets from the Widget pop-up window to a dashboard.
    Note:
    • A multi-chart widget cannot be published independently and hence, it is not displayed in the Widget pop-up window.
    • You cannot create and save a dashboard view if a dashboard contains a multi-chart widget.
  • Delete one or more published widgets that are added to a dashboard.
    Note: You can delete the published widgets only. The built-in dashboard widgets cannot be deleted.
  • Resize or rearrange the published widgets and the built-in dashboard widgets.
    Note: You cannot resize the widget to a width or height that is smaller than 130 pixels.
  • Change chart types in any of the published widgets and the built-in dashboard widgets.
However, you can save only one such view of every dashboard. You cannot create and save multiple dashboard views for a single dashboard.

When you reset dashboard view, all the published widgets that you added to the dashboard are deleted, and the chart type, widget resize, and widget rearrange changes are reverted. If you resize widgets that are smaller than 130 pixels, then to revert such widgets to their original sizes, you must either reset them or reload the dashboard.

Note: Dashboard-level filters and widget-level filters are not supported in saved dashboard view.

For example, after you filter the dashboard data by applying dashboard-level filters or widget-level filters, if you save that dashboard view. Then, whenever you open such a dashboard, it displays data values according to the default dashboard-level filters.

Procedure

To view dashboards, resize or rearrange widgets, add one or more published widgets to a dashboard, and save or restore a dashboard view, complete the following steps:

  1. Log in to the Engine.

    If a menu with multiple category nodes and multiple dashboard nodes is published, then each category node is displayed separately on the menu bar.

  2. To view a dashboard that belongs to a category node, click the category node, and then click the dashboard node that you want to view.

    The dashboard with all its widgets is displayed.

  3. To add one or more published widgets to the dashboard, complete the following steps:
    1. Click the Add Widgets Add Widgets icon.

      A Widgets pop-up window opens. It displays a categorical list of all the published widgets.

      • To view widgets that belong to a category, from the All Categories list, select a category.
      • To find a widget, enter the name of the widget in the Search field.
    2. Expand a widget category and drag a widget to the dashboard.

      Repeat this step to add multiple widgets to the dashboard.

    3. Close the pop-up window.
    4. To delete a published widget that you manually added, on the widget that you want to delete, click the Remove Widget Remove Widget icon.
      The widget is deleted.
      Note: You can delete a manually added widget only.
  4. To resize or rearrange widgets and to change chart types, complete the following steps:
    • To rearrange widgets within a dashboard, hover the cursor over the blank area between the widget title and widget icons. A drag cursor appears, select the widget and drag it to the required area within the dashboard.

      The widget is placed at the required area and all the other widgets are rearranged according to the available empty area.

    • To resize widgets within a dashboard, drag the widget boundary inwards or outwards.

      You cannot drag the upper-boundary of the widget to resize it.

    • To change chart type, in the widget, click the Change Chart Type Change Chart Type icon and select an appropriate option from the list to change the existing chart type.
      Note:
      • For Pie, Donut, Area, Line, Bars, Columns, and Clustered or Stacked Bars and Columns charts, you can change a selected chart type with any of the other chart types within the same category or to a Grid chart.

        For example, if you add a Line chart, then you can change the Line chart to an Area chart.

        You cannot change the chart type for Stacked Columns chart with X-axis data as time series data.

      • Change chart type is not supported for Grid, Badge, and Complex Gauge charts.
      • All the remaining charts can be changed to Grid chart only.
      • You cannot change a chart type when you preview a widget that contains multiple plots.
  5. After you add published widgets, resize or rearrange widgets, or change chart types, you can save the view as a dashboard view. Complete the following steps to save or reset a dashboard view:
    • Click the Save this view Save this view icon.

      The dashboard view is saved. Whenever you open the dashboard, it is displayed in the saved view only. You can also modify a dashboard view by rearranging or resizing its widgets, changing chart types, or by adding or deleting one or more published widgets.

    • To revert the dashboard to its original view, click the Reset view Reset view icon.

      On reset, all the published widgets that you added to the dashboard are deleted, and the chart type, widget resize, and widget rearrange changes are reverted. If you resize widgets that are smaller than 130 pixels, then to revert such widgets to their original sizes, you must either reset them or reload the dashboard.