Migrating snapshots by using Workflow Center

Draft comment:
This topic only applies to BAW, and is located in the BAW repository. Last updated on 2025-03-13 12:15
Draft comment:
This topic was viewed 1 times since its publication

If you are creating a custom deployment package or deploying a snapshot by using IBM® Workflow Center, you can specify various migration options to trigger automatic migration or deletion of instances with deployment. These migration options don't apply to other methods of deployment or instance migration. This method doesn't support the orphan token migration policy file.

Note: Perform instance migration separately from deployment by using the command line or Process Admin Console options. For more information, see Migrating process instances and snapshot data.

About this task

Consult the following table to understand the migration options.

Table 1. Migration options
Migration option Description
Leave The instances that are currently running continue to completion using the previously installed snapshot.
Migrate You can select multiple source snapshots to migrate instances. The running instances will be migrated to the deployed snapshot. Note: You can select only source snapshots that meet certain conditions. You cannot use a migration policy file.
Delete The instances that are currently running are immediately stopped and do not continue to completion. All records of the running instances are removed from the workflow server. The delete option does not delete BPEL process instances, human task instances, or business state machine instances.
Note: This option is not available for workflow servers with a Production environment type.
If you successfully migrate or delete all instances from a snapshot, the snapshot is deactivated. If the snapshot was the default snapshot, the target snapshot becomes the new default snapshot.
Draft comment: lesnider
In 225303, Todd suggests that this sentence be the second sentence of this paragraph: "In addition, if it was a default snapshot then the setting is transferred.". I don't think this is clearer. I wonder what "transferred" means specifically. Can we leave the original?
If you select Leave, no operation is performed for the associated snapshot.

Procedure

  1. In Workflow Center, go to the snapshot and click Install to install it to a selected online server or create a deployment package for a selected offline server.
  2. If any snapshots of the process app for the server meet certain conditions, the manage instances screen opens.
    • For an online server, Workflow Center must show running process instances for a snapshot.
    • For an offline server, Workflow Center must contain a deployment package for a snapshot.
    Draft comment: lesnider
    In 225303, Todd, what is the action in step 2? It seems like just info for users, related to step 1.
  3. For each listed snapshot, select to leave, migrate, or delete instances as mentioned in the previous table. When the snapshot has installed successfully, the selected action is performed.