Versioning in decision services

Decision Center creates archived versions of decision artifacts each time you modify them, including moving or renaming them.

You can consult the history of modifications and restore a previous version. However, you can edit or delete only the current version of an artifact.

The version number of an artifact is in the form x.y, where x is the major number that corresponds to a release or activity in a decision service and y is the minor number that is increased with each change:

Major number

Decision Center gives every branch of a decision service a major version number. The version number 1.0 is given to the main branch created during the initial publication from Rule Designer. Branch 2 is always the Initial Release, which is also created automatically during the initial publication. Branch 3 is the first release that you create. Then, branch 4 is the first change activity and so on.

Minor number

The initial version of an artifact has the minor version number 0. This minor version number is increased by 1 each time you edit the artifact. In a release or change activity, each artifact initially has the major and minor version number of its parent branch. When you edit the artifact in an activity for the first time, this artifact takes on the version numbers of the activity. For example, an artifact with the version number 3.0 keeps this number in the activity until you edit the artifact for the first time, when it becomes, for example 4.0. Subsequent changes that you make to this rule in the change activity gives it version number 4.1, 4.2, and so on.

When you complete the change activity, it is merged with the release. The major version number of any rule modification done in a change activity adopts the major version of the release. The new version is an exact copy of the version in the activity, and takes the next minor version number in the parent release.

When you restore a snapshot, Decision Center creates a version of all the artifacts that are found in the snapshot, and copies them to the current state of the release or activity.

When you restore a version, either from a snapshot or from the timeline of a change activity, the new version is a copy of the restored version, and takes the next version available number.

Note:

You cannot clear the history of an artifact.