Managing groups of users

From the Administration tab of the Business console, you can create, delete, and edit groups, and assign users to these groups.

In the Users tab, you see a list of users who have access to the Business console. Users are created and managed by the administrator in the cloud portal. From the Users tab of the Business console, you can assign users to one or more groups, which you define in the Groups tab.

Decision Center uses groups for security access to the different branches, and permissions on the artifacts (see Security). To make use of this security and permissions feature, you must create groups in the Business console, and assign all users to one or more of these groups. You create in Decision Center as many groups as you need to organize your users functionally.
Note: Permissions are computed at login time, and are kept during the entire session. If permissions for a group change, or if a Decision Center administrator adds a member in a group, users need to log out and log in again to view the artifacts with the appropriate permissions.

Permission profiles

In Decision Center, security defines which groups have access to the different branches of a decision service. By default, no group is allowed to create, update, view, or delete anything until these permissions are explicitly granted, unless the group has administrator privileges.

In the Business console, you can assign one of the following permission profiles to each group:
None
Groups assigned this permission profile have access to the branch, but cannot see its content.
Read Only
Groups assigned this permission profile can view the contents of the branch, but cannot create, update, or delete content.
Full Authoring
Groups assigned this permission profile can view, create, update, or delete all content in the branch.
Note: Permissions that you define for a group apply to all Decision Center branches that enforce security.