Setting up project areas

Project areas are used to limit the effects of resetting the test environment. This helps other users who work on other projects in the same development environment.

About this task

You can define project areas to limit the effects of resetting the test environment because you might have multiple users in the development environment on multiple projects. The design object store can have multiple project areas, and each project area corresponds to one test environment. When you have project areas set up and you reset the test environment from Case administration client, only a single project area is reset. The entire design object store is not affected, and other users who are working on solutions in the same design object store can continue working without interruption.

For example, you might be a solution provider and have a credit card processing solution that is ready to test. You also have an insurance solution in your development environment that is still under development. You can assign the credit card processing solution to a project area so that you can reset the test environment. When you are done testing, work on the insurance solution that is in development is not interrupted.

You can assign specific solutions and users to each project area. Users can define and modify solutions only in the project area that they are assigned to. Users who are not assigned to a project area cannot log in to Case Builder. Users with access to the development environment are automatically assigned to the default project area.

Each development environment requires a default project area that is named dev_env_connection_definition. You can define more project areas as needed. As you work with project areas, note the following differences between the required default project area and regular project areas:
  • You can enter your own connection definition name when you define a regular project area. The default project area has a predefined connection definition name that you cannot change.
  • You can assign user groups to the default project area, but you can assign only individual users to a regular project area.
  • Starting from Business Automation Workflow 24.0.1.0, individual users can be members of more than one project area.
  • There is no change in the behavior of the legacy Case Builder application. For the legacy Case Builder only two project areas are supported. One is the default project area and the other is the regular or secondary project area. When a user logs on to Case Builder, the user is directed to the regular project area that they are assigned to. If you want the user to go directly to the default project area when they log on to Case Builder, you must remove the user from the regular project area.

While creating the case solution by using or Business Automation Studio, you can select the project area to which the Case Solution belongs. You can use the project area selection option in the home page to select the project areas from which the project case solutions are to be displayed in or Business Automation Studio.

If you used FileNet® Deployment Manager to import a legacy solution, the solution is assigned to a default project area, and you cannot see the legacy solution in Case Builder. You can use the Case administration client, or Manage Project Areas in the Case configuration tool, to assign the solution to your preferred project area.