Master the Mainframe 2012

Master the Mainframe 2012

An Enterprise Systems Contest, US & Canada (excluding Quebec)

Tab navigation

2008 IBM Master the Mainframe Contest winners

The IBM Academic Initiative System z and the IBM Master the Mainframe Contest Team would like to recognize all of the students who have distinguished themselves in the 2008 IBM Master the Mainframe Contest.

With 1,876 students registering to compete from 325 schools across the U.S. and Canada, the turnout for this year's contest was the largest ever, making the winners' accomplishments even more exceptional.

In order to be a Part 3 winner, the students had to navigate a series of increasingly difficult challenges, culminating in a grand finale that required contestants to solve a sliding tile puzzle programmatically. Students wrote programs using JAVA, C++, REXX and assembler.

1st place: Bryan Weaver, Northern Illinois University
2nd place: Yeming Hu, Dalhousie University
3rd place: David Jones, West Texas A&M University
4th place: Bin Sun, Syracuse University
5th place: Jinhu Huang, Seneca College

Part 2 winners

The first sixty students to blaze through Part 2 100% correctly won $100 pre-paid debit cards.

  • - Congratulations to all of our Part 2 Mainframe Masters
    • Paul Abraham, John Foster Dulles High School
    • Jeffrey Angell, North Gwinnett High School
    • Amin Ansari, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
    • Christopher Ayala, Stony Brook University
    • Kenneth Breeman, Worcester Polytechnic Institute
    • Robert Bregant II, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    • Andrew Carioti, Le Moyne College
    • Jason Chodyniecki, duPont Manual High School
    • Adam Dailey, SUNY Oswego
    • Feliciano Delgado, Northeastern Illinois University
    • Scott Densten, Pace University
    • Austen Dicken, SUNY College at Brockport
    • Jake Dluhy, Riverside Brookfield High School
    • Anatoly Efremov, Ryerson University
    • Jason Fruscella, West Texas A&M University
    • Matthew Gall, Cicero-North Syracuse High School
    • Jay Goel, North Carolina State University
    • Sean Goldsmith, Marist College
    • William Gomez, Le Moyne College
    • Bhalchandra Gondhalekar, Illinois State University
    • Dillon Harguess, West Texas A&M University
    • Brandon Haugen, Northern Illinois University
    • Yeming Hu, Dalhousie University
    • Jinhu Huang, Seneca College
    • David Johnson, University of Denver
    • Michael Kaegi, Marist College
    • Thomas Law, Marist College
    • Ian Lenz, Carnegie Mellon University
    • Tianen Li, Highland Park High School
    • Brian Lloyd, Salt Lake Community College
    • Gustavo Maldonado, The University of Texas at Austin
    • Sameeri Pavan Kumar Marryboyina, University Of Oklahoma
    • Jeff Maslo, University of Denver
    • Christian McArthur, Texas A&M University
    • Becky Medley, West Texas A&M University
    • Johnny Meek, West Texas A & M University
    • Timothy Mellor, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts
    • Brian Middleton, Louisiana State University
    • Linda Mooney, Marist College
    • Avneesh Nath, University of Texas at Dallas
    • Son Nguyen, St. John's University
    • Kyle Olivo, Bucknell University
    • Sushen Patel, Highland Park High School
    • Brian Peace, Macon State College
    • Ed Pluta, University of Nebraska at Omaha
    • Victor Poriazov, St. John's University
    • Ravi Ramaseshan, North Carolina State University
    • Glenn Reschke, Northern Illinois University
    • Davey Roberts, Ryerson University
    • James Rowe, Columbus State University
    • Johnathon Schultz, Cornell University
    • Andrew Seel, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts
    • Bin Sun, Syracuse University
    • Cynthia Sung, Rice University
    • Jesse Thomason, Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts
    • Jonathan Thomson, SUNY Oswego
    • Steven Valdez, John Jay High School
    • Bryan Weaver, Northern Illinois University
    • Aaron Wilson, University of Chicago
    • Hailin Zang, Ryerson University

Part 1 winners

Nearly 900 students successfully completed the Part 1 challenges to win Master the Mainframe T-shirts. Congratulations to all of the Part 1 winners! We hope you are the envy of all of your friends.