With Sametime 8.5.2, we've introduced a great new security feature, "managed access," that lets people join your meeting rooms only when you or a room manager is there.
You can select this option either when creating a new meeting room or by changing the room settings of an existing meeting room.
This picture shows where this setting appears when you create a new meeting room:
This same feature is available for meetings accessed from a web browser:
People who try to join your meeting when you're not there are put in a "waiting room", and they must wait until you're there before they can see any content in the room.
Use this feature whenever you don't want people in your meeting room when you're not there!
IBM Sametime design
Matching: rooms X
LaurenHasselriis-Ghom 2700046TBQ Tags:  rooms managed access 8.5.2 sametime meeting 2,373 Views
LaurenHasselriis-Ghom 2700046TBQ Tags:  rooms end meetings eject meeting 8.5.2 sametime 2,284 Views
With Sametime 8.5.2, there are some new features that will help meeting room owners and managers manage their meetings.
First, we've added a new End Meeting button in the global toolbar so that meeting room owners or managers can simply click the button to close the meeting room. This action ends the meeting for all participants, so they no longer are in the room, and no longer see any room content. The room owner (or manager, depending on who presses the button) stays in the room, so they can be ready for their next meeting.
Here's what this new button looks like in the toolbar:
We've also added a feature that allows meeting room owners and managers to remove a participant from a meeting. From within a meeting room, a room owner or manager simply right-clicks a participant's name to remove that person from the meeting:
Users who are removed will see a notification that they've been removed, and they will no longer see the content of the meeting room.
When someone is removed from a room, there may be a "lockout" time, during which that person will not be able to re-enter the room. System administrators set this timeout period on a per-server level, using this configuration setting:
rtc4web.ejectionTimeout (default: 300 seconds)