Do you use online polling in meetings? If so, I have a few questions for you:
1) How often do you use online polling? In what types of meetings?
2) Do you ever use the same question over and over again? If so, in what context?
3) Right now, our polling tools support anonymous responses only. How critical is it to you to see who entered which response?
4) Do you have need from an online meeting tool to tie multiple polling questions together, into more of a survey format?
5) Anything else you'd like to us to know about your use of polls in meetings?
Thanks in advance for your thoughts!
IBM Sametime design
Matching: meetings X
LaurenHasselriis-Ghom 2700046TBQ Tags:  rooms meetings end eject meeting sametime 8.5.2 1,879 Views
With Sametime 8.5.2, there are some new features that will help meeting room owners and managers manage their meetings.
First, we've added a new End Meeting button in the global toolbar so that meeting room owners or managers can simply click the button to close the meeting room. This action ends the meeting for all participants, so they no longer are in the room, and no longer see any room content. The room owner (or manager, depending on who presses the button) stays in the room, so they can be ready for their next meeting.
Here's what this new button looks like in the toolbar:
We've also added a feature that allows meeting room owners and managers to remove a participant from a meeting. From within a meeting room, a room owner or manager simply right-clicks a participant's name to remove that person from the meeting:
Users who are removed will see a notification that they've been removed, and they will no longer see the content of the meeting room.
When someone is removed from a room, there may be a "lockout" time, during which that person will not be able to re-enter the room. System administrators set this timeout period on a per-server level, using this configuration setting:
rtc4web.ejectionTimeout (default: 300 seconds)
Starting in release 8.5.2, administrators have an easy way to delete meeting rooms that are not being used anymore.
From the web-based administrative UI in the meeting center, you'll see a Delete icon next to individual meeting rooms:
In addition, when viewing the rooms for an individual user, you can delete all that user's rooms, if you need to quickly remove a collection of rooms (e.g., if an employee leaves the company):
There's more exciting mobile news with Sametime 8.5.2 and our new Sametime meetings client for the RIM Blackberry device!
Now from your Blackbery you can:
Based on customer feedback, we've added a setting for the web meeting client, to indicate whether meetings open in the current window or in a new window or tab. This capability makes it easier for people to get back to the meeting center if they need to jump from one meeting room to another.
This behavior is controlled at the server level, with this setting:
meetingroomcenter.openRoomInNewWindow (default: true)
Have you ever been in a web meeting and wanted all the browser "chrome" (i.e., the window title bar, menu bar, status bar) to disappear? Here are some shortcut keys you can use to do just that! Use the same shortcut to go back to the standard view.
On a PC (XP and Windows 7), you can use the F11 key in IE, Firefox, and Chrome.
On a Mac, use these keys:
Safari -- no keyboard shortcuts, but there are plugins you can install that will allow this behavior
I love using the Sametime Meetings feature that lets me take minutes during a meeting, because everyone can see what I'm typing, and it's all saved for me when I leave the room. When I flag items as meeting minutes, they are separated out in the meeting report, so I can easily see what was meeting minutes, versus just conversation in the room.
However I notice a lot of my colleagues don't use the feature -- they just type into the chat, without flagging their entries as meeting minutes, so that everything ends up being flagged as a chat entry:
How about you? Do you use this feature? If not, why not?
In Sametime 8.5 and later releases, you can designate one or more managers of your meeting room. Managers have the same capabilities as room owners -- setting permissions, changing room settings, ending meetings, and so on:
I'm curious to know how many of you out there are using this feature? If so, under what circumstances? Are you finding that you want to share "ownership" of some rooms with other people -- for example, a meeting with a co-chair? Or do you have one person who creates rooms for other people, using the room management feature as a way of passing the room to the person who will actually chair it?
Thanks in advance for your input!
When you are in a Sametime meeting, how important is it to see Sametime presence icons for the people in the meeting? For example, we currently don't show those icons in the photo view -- do you wish they were there? If you use third-party extensions that display additional icons, do you want to see those icons in the meeting room participant list? Or would that just clutter the list?
Please post comments -- I'd like to hear from you!
Hey, Sametime Meetings users. :-)
Sametime 8.5.2 introduced an End Meeting button for the room owner:
Right now, when you click that button, it kicks out everyone *but you*. Is this the behavior you expect? It allows you to run back-to-back meetings in the same room... but it does mean you have to take an extra step to leave the room yourself (i.e., close the window).
What do you think?
Are you someone who clicks the "Show details" link in the library, when selecting a file, to find out the information about that file? If you haven't done it, here's how you get this information:
1. In the browser meetings client, select the file, click the drop-down, and click View Details:
2. In the installed meetings client, select the file, click the drop-down, and click View Details.
Or right-click the selected file and choose View Details:
This dialog shows you:
1. The actual name of the file (as opposed to the name shown in the library, as you can rename library files)
2. Who added it
3. When they added it
4. How large the file is
5. Where the slides were converted (locally or on the server) ***
6. Number of pages
Is this the information you want? Is there other information you'd like to see?
*** Ever wonder what the "slide conversion" part means? Converted locally means that the native application on your computer was used to render the slides for the meeting -- this will give you the highest fidelity slides. Converted on the server means that an application running on the Sametime server rendered the slides for the meeting. This will almost always give you lower fidelity than converting locally. So how do you control this? In the Sametime installed client, if you have the native application for the file, the file will be converted locally. If you use the Sametime browser client, the file will always be converted on the server.
Meetings users -- did you know that you can easily remove content from your room? Here are some tips:
1. For a quick way to remove all content (discussion and library content) from a room, choose the Remove Room Content command from the Room Tools menu.
2. To remove just the discussion content, click the "x" in the bottom of the discussion widget (only room owners and managers have access to this). If you're on the installed client, you can still get back to the chat content later by creating a meeting report:
3. To remove all content just from the library, in the installed client, right-click anywhere in the library and choose Remove All. You'll be prompted before the content is removed.
For future releases, we're looking at giving you a choice when you end a meeting to also clear out the content. Would you like such a choice? Let me know!
When you are in a meeting, would it ever be helpful to know what type of client (web, installed, or mobile) a user has joined the meeting with? I'd love to hear some examples of when this might be useful.
Thanks in advance for any comments!
A colleague of mine in the documentation group told me that many people are not aware that when using the Sametime Meeting room that launches from the installed Sametime client, you can move the components around on the screen.
Did you know about this already? If not, check this out!
1. First click the title bar of the component you want to move, and drag:
2. Next, release your mouse where you want the component to go -- including outside of the Sametime meeting window if you want to open it in a separate window:
3. To put it back, either drag and drop the title bar of the component again, or click Room Tools - Restore Room Layout.