Do you use online polling in meetings? If so, I have a few questions for you:
1) How often do you use online polling? In what types of meetings?
2) Do you ever use the same question over and over again? If so, in what context?
3) Right now, our polling tools support anonymous responses only. How critical is it to you to see who entered which response?
4) Do you have need from an online meeting tool to tie multiple polling questions together, into more of a survey format?
5) Anything else you'd like to us to know about your use of polls in meetings?
Thanks in advance for your thoughts!
IBM Sametime design
Matching: meetings X
LaurenHasselriis-Ghom 2700046TBQ Tags:  rooms end meetings eject meeting 8.5.2 sametime 2,791 Views
With Sametime 8.5.2, there are some new features that will help meeting room owners and managers manage their meetings.
First, we've added a new End Meeting button in the global toolbar so that meeting room owners or managers can simply click the button to close the meeting room. This action ends the meeting for all participants, so they no longer are in the room, and no longer see any room content. The room owner (or manager, depending on who presses the button) stays in the room, so they can be ready for their next meeting.
Here's what this new button looks like in the toolbar:
We've also added a feature that allows meeting room owners and managers to remove a participant from a meeting. From within a meeting room, a room owner or manager simply right-clicks a participant's name to remove that person from the meeting:
Users who are removed will see a notification that they've been removed, and they will no longer see the content of the meeting room.
When someone is removed from a room, there may be a "lockout" time, during which that person will not be able to re-enter the room. System administrators set this timeout period on a per-server level, using this configuration setting:
rtc4web.ejectionTimeout (default: 300 seconds)
Starting in release 8.5.2, administrators have an easy way to delete meeting rooms that are not being used anymore.
From the web-based administrative UI in the meeting center, you'll see a Delete icon next to individual meeting rooms:
In addition, when viewing the rooms for an individual user, you can delete all that user's rooms, if you need to quickly remove a collection of rooms (e.g., if an employee leaves the company):
There's more exciting mobile news with Sametime 8.5.2 and our new Sametime meetings client for the RIM Blackberry device!
Now from your Blackbery you can:
Based on customer feedback, we've added a setting for the web meeting client, to indicate whether meetings open in the current window or in a new window or tab. This capability makes it easier for people to get back to the meeting center if they need to jump from one meeting room to another.
This behavior is controlled at the server level, with this setting:
meetingroomcenter.openRoomInNewWindow (default: true)
Have you ever been in a web meeting and wanted all the browser "chrome" (i.e., the window title bar, menu bar, status bar) to disappear? Here are some shortcut keys you can use to do just that! Use the same shortcut to go back to the standard view.
On a PC (XP and Windows 7), you can use the F11 key in IE, Firefox, and Chrome.
On a Mac, use these keys:
Safari -- no keyboard shortcuts, but there are plugins you can install that will allow this behavior
I love using the Sametime Meetings feature that lets me take minutes during a meeting, because everyone can see what I'm typing, and it's all saved for me when I leave the room. When I flag items as meeting minutes, they are separated out in the meeting report, so I can easily see what was meeting minutes, versus just conversation in the room.
However I notice a lot of my colleagues don't use the feature -- they just type into the chat, without flagging their entries as meeting minutes, so that everything ends up being flagged as a chat entry:
How about you? Do you use this feature? If not, why not?
In Sametime 8.5 and later releases, you can designate one or more managers of your meeting room. Managers have the same capabilities as room owners -- setting permissions, changing room settings, ending meetings, and so on:
I'm curious to know how many of you out there are using this feature? If so, under what circumstances? Are you finding that you want to share "ownership" of some rooms with other people -- for example, a meeting with a co-chair? Or do you have one person who creates rooms for other people, using the room management feature as a way of passing the room to the person who will actually chair it?
Thanks in advance for your input!
When you are in a Sametime meeting, how important is it to see Sametime presence icons for the people in the meeting? For example, we currently don't show those icons in the photo view -- do you wish they were there? If you use third-party extensions that display additional icons, do you want to see those icons in the meeting room participant list? Or would that just clutter the list?
Please post comments -- I'd like to hear from you!