Web service differentiation with service level agreements

From the developerWorks archives

Asit Dan, Heiko Ludwig, and Giovanni Pacifici

Date archived: May 13, 2019 | First published: May 01, 2003

This paper describes a framework for providing differentiated levels of Web services to different customers on the basis of service level agreements (SLAs). Service providers can offer Web services at different service levels -- for example, at bronze, silver, and gold levels with increasingly better response times. In general, the service levels are differentiated based on many variables such as responsiveness, availability, and performance. The framework described in this paper comprises the Web Service Level Agreement (WSLA) language to specify SLAs in a flexible and individualized way, a system to monitor the compliance of a provided service with a service level agreement, and a workload management system that prioritizes requests according to the associated SLAs. Using this framework, service providers can efficiently and flexibly manage their resources to optimize customer satisfaction and, potentially, yield.

This content is no longer being updated or maintained. The full article is provided "as is" in a PDF file. Given the rapid evolution of technology, some content, steps, or illustrations may have changed.

Zone=SOA and web services
ArticleTitle=Web service differentiation with service level agreements