Frequently asked questions about the Home page

Lists the questions that Home page users ask most often and provides brief answers.

What is the Home page?
The Home page application delivers an aggregated view of the latest updates from all the IBM Connections applications. If your administrator has enabled it, the Home page also delivers updates from third-party applications. You can filter the list of updates using the different views available.
Can I set one of the views as my default view?
No, but the views have different URLs, so you can bookmark your favorite view at any time.
What are widgets?
A widget is a self-contained, HTML-based representation of a software component. The My Page view uses widgets to display a snapshot view of updates from each of the IBM Connections applications. You can also add a selection of widgets to the side column in the activity stream views.
What can I do with IBM Connections widgets?
You can stay current with updates from all of your IBM Connections applications directly from the Home page. Some widgets allow you to toggle between different views to display different types of information.
What widgets can I add to my Home page?
You can add widgets for each of the IBM Connections applications you have installed. Third-party widgets might also be available if your administrator has enabled them. You can view the widgets available for use by clicking Customize from the My Page or activity stream views.
If I rearrange the widgets, what happens the next time I open the page?
Whenever you add or move a widget, the next time you open the page, the widget displays in the same location. The widget also displays the same view as when you last viewed it.
If I close a widget, does that mean that I can't use it again?
Closing a widget returns it to the content palette. You can add the widget to the Home page again whenever you want.
What is the limit of the number of entries displayed in the activity stream views?
There is no limit to the number of entries that you can display. The activity stream displays the full number of entries in all views, except for entries that are 30 days or older. The length of time after which entries are purged is set to 30 days by default.
What happens to updates on the Home page when someone deletes the original content?
When a user deletes content from IBM Connections, any updates related to the deleted content are removed, including comments or recommendations for that content. If you saved an update related to the deleted content, that update is also removed from your Saved view.



Trademarks | IBM Connections wiki