Removing files

Move files to trash to remove them from Files. Then, you can either restore or permanently delete them.

Before you begin

Moving a file to the trash hides it from all folders and prevents it from appearing in file searches. When you move a file to trash, all of the file's versions, recommendations, and comments move to trash along with it. The file becomes hidden from people you have shared it with.

If a file is restored from the trash, it is added back to the folders it was previously in, and all data is restored. When you restore a file from trash, all versions, recommendations, and comments are restored also, and people you have shared the file with can see it again.

Administrators can see and work with files in your trash.

Files in trash count toward your file size quota. When you reach your quota limit you can delete files in trash to create space to upload more files.

About this task

You can move one or more files to Trash and then either restore or delete them.

Procedure

  1. Open a file page.
  2. Click More Actions > Move to Trash, and then click OK.
    Note: To move multiple files to trash, open a view, such as My Files, select the files to move, click Move to Trash and then click OK. You only can move files you own to the trash.
  3. Optional: To restore or delete files in trash, click Trash in the navigation box and then do one of the following actions:
    • To restore a file, click the arrow icon next to the file name and select Restore.
    • To permanently delete the file, click the arrow icon next to the file name and select Delete.
  4. Optional: To permanently delete all files in the trash, click Empty Trash.