Sharing folders

Share your folders with people and communities or make them available to others.

About this task

You can give people and communities Reader, Contributor, or Owner access.

People and communities with whom you share folders can be notified in the Updates tab in their home page, and by email if they specified that in their notification preferences. See Setting email notification preferences.

To see who has access to your folders, open the folder page and click the Sharing tab.

Procedure


Option Description

To share a folder when you create it

  1. Click New Folder.
  2. Type a name.
  3. Type a description.
  4. Do one of the following:
    • Select People or Communities to share with specific people and groups. Select a Person or a Community, and select an access level. Then start typing a name or email address and select that name or address when it displays. You only see the people and groups available in your enterprise directory.
    • Select Public to give everyone Reader access. Select Everyone can contribute to this folder to give everyone Contributor access. When you make a folder public, non-public files are removed from the folder.
  5. Click Save.
Note: You cannot share a private folder with a public community.

To share a folder after you create it

  1. Open the folder.
  2. Click Share.
  3. Do one of the following:
    • Select People or Communities to share with specific people and groups. Select a Person or a Community, and then select an access level (described in this topic). Then start typing a name or email address and select that name or address when it displays. You only see the people and groups available in your enterprise directory.
    • Select Public to give everyone Reader access. Select Everyone can contribute to this folder to give everyone Contributor access. When you make a folder public, non-public files are removed from the folder.
  4. Click Share.
Note: You cannot share a private folder with a public community.

To make a public folder non-public

  1. Open the folder page.
  2. Click the Sharing tab.
  3. Click the X next to Everyone.

This only makes the folder non-public. People, groups, and communities you have specifically shared the folder with can still see and work with it.

To make a shared folder private

  1. Open the folder page.
  2. Click the Sharing tab.
  3. Click the Stop sharing link.
  4. Click OK.

This makes you the only person who can see or work with the folder.

To demote someone's access to a shared folder

  1. Open the folder page.
  2. Click the Sharing tab.
  3. Click the X next to a person, group, or community.
  4. Select a new access level and then click OK.



Trademarks | IBM Connections wiki