Locking files

Lock files to prevent people from editing them.

About this task

When you lock a file, only you can upload new versions, edit properties, and add tags to that file.

File owners and editors can lock and unlock files. For example, if you upload a file, you are automatically considered the file owner and you can lock and unlock that file. If you give a person editor access to the file, that person also can lock and unlock it.

When a file owner locks the file, a file editor cannot unlock it; however when an editor locks the file, an owner can unlock it.

When you lock a file, people can still download and read it, but only you can upload new versions of it.

When a file is locked, it cannot be edited, but it can still be moved to the trash and deleted, and commented on and recommended.


  1. Open the file page.
  2. Click More Actions > Lock File.
  3. To unlock the file, click More Actions > Unlock File