Deleting communities that you own

If a community no longer has a purpose or is inactive, you might want to delete it.

Before you begin

You must be a community owner to delete a community. Ensure that the community is not being used by any of the members before you delete it. When you delete a community, the community and all data that is associated with it is moved to a trash area. Provided it is not purged from trash later, you can restore the community.
Note: A community and all its associated data and widgets are permanently purged from trash after a period.

In addition, check if any applications are associated with the community. community blogs, files, activities, and wikis are automatically deleted when you delete the associated community. When you delete a community, any subcommunities that are part of the community are also deleted.


To delete a community, take the following steps. Be sure that you enter the correct case of any characters that you enter.

  1. From the I’m an Owner view, open the community that you want to delete. If you are not already logged in, you are prompted to do so.
  2. Select Community Actions > Delete Community.
  3. Enter the name of the community in the Confirm community name field.
  4. Enter your name in the Sign with your name field. and click OK.
  5. Optional: If you change your mind about deleting a community before it is purged, take the following steps:
    1. Click Trash in the side menu bar. Any communities that are scheduled to be purged are shown.
    2. Click Restore next to the community you want to restore. The community reappears in the I'm an Owner view.
      Note: Only community owners can see communities in trash and restore communities from trash.

TrademarksOpens in a new window | IBM Connections wikiOpens in a new window